We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had doubts, pleased we came! Excellent location, very good Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs
Ranked #201 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I booked this Hotel mid May and became concerned when we looked at the contrasting reviews - some were very positive but most were poor.
We decided to see for ourselves and if we encountered any issues to resolve at the time. Some people don't seem to know how to raise an effective complaint.
Arrived at the hotel from the UK on the 14th June with some trepidation.
We parked our car in the large car park. For a Hotel of this size it is surely reasonable to expect to walk to the hotel from the car park, if you don't fancy a walk then pay for valet parking!
On arrival at check-in we were courteously greeted and advised that a complimentary upgrade was available, did we want 2 Queen beds or a King bed with a view of the Disney Fireworks? We chose a King bed room which was on the 14th floor.

Based on the majority of the reviews we anticipated a dusty squalid room, old smelly stained carpet, a damp musty smell followed by a trip back to reception to complain, .
No need. Our room was clean to a high standard, there was no smell, dirt, dust, dampness, problems with the room locks, or pubic hair to be found!
The bed was very comfortable with high quality bed linen. The air conditioning was about as noisy as the fan in the room - and that is pretty quiet. We didn't hear our neighbours on either side so have no issues with the noise that others seem to have experienced.
I require Internet access to keep up with work and this was also free, fast and reliable (both wired and wireless). There was a coffee maker and a small fridge in the room which was really all we needed. We soon stocked the fridge after a visit to Goodings which is at Crossroads a short car trip from the hotel. There is a shop on-site but the stock is limited.

We expected problems with the Hotel and there were none. The other guests we met had no complaints either.

The Hotel is in a prime location within walking distance of Downtown Disney, (if you don't want a 10 minute walk then there is a complimentary bus service). The Hotel was built some years ago so make some allowances for its age.

We initially thought the pools were small and would be crowded. No issues as the majority of guests are away at the parks. Plenty of loungers (these look new). There are two pools, one is best described as a family pool and another which is an adult pool. Towels are supplied free of charge. Some guests seem able to collect their towels but too lazy to place them in the used containers when they are finished with them - probably the same people that complain about everything!
There is a pool bar with food available. No complaints here either, we ate here twice (chicken and the hot dogs) while my wife quickly became a fan of their "cocktail of the day".

A nice touch is the self-service iced water (free) available straight from the bar counter.

In summary the Hotel exceeded our expectations and while it is not the best hotel we have ever stayed in this is more than compensated for by location, location, location.

Only little things I would change, and they are little:
1) not allow kids and their inflatables in the "adult pool"
2) revamp the Sports bar as it is not in keeping with the standard of the Hotel.

This Hotel won a trip advisor award in 2013, I have my suspicion that there are some bogus reviews to reduce ratings!

Room Tip: A view of the fireworks is nice but puts you on the A/C side of the building. Not a problem when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Allan H,
Wow!!!!! What a fantastic review you gave us. We are so grateful for your detailed and honest review. We are beyond delighted you gave us a chance to find out on your own whether the hotel was right for you or not. We very much appreciate the feedback and are just delighted you enjoyed your stay. We would love to have you as our guest once again and hope you will choose to stay with us if your travel plans bring you back to the Orlando area.

Kind Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,451 - 2,457 of 5,335 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was really concerned about taking my 2.5 year old, with asthma, to this hotel after reading some of the reviews about being dirty and musky but having booked in advance and not finding another comparable hotel, we decided to try it.
Upon arrival we entered a lovely lobby where check in was smooth and efficient. Nothing looked amiss. We had a room on the eighth floor and the valet took all of our luggage up. Our room was at the very far corner of the hotel so quite a walk from the elevators. No big deal. We did notice, as we walked to our room, that there was a dead roach in the hallway. It stayed in the same spot for 3 days until someone vacuumed or picked it up.
The room was a one-king bedroom with a pull out couch. It was clean and didn't smell musky (YAY!) but the furnishings were old (there was a stool that was covered in worn/ripped leather-see picture). The sink area of the bathroom was open to the room with a private area with the toilet and shower. NO BATHTUB...so my daughter had to take showers. (she's 2). There was one small bottle of shampoo and conditioner, a small bar of soap, and a hair dryer. No other bathroom amenities were in our room.. Also, the doors throughout the hotel were extremely loud when closing. I woke up to doors closing most mornings because I could hear them in our room- it was so loud that it sounded like someone coming into our room.
The hotel is across from Downtown Disney and is walkable, but because the main walkway/bridge was closed off due to them pressure washing the balconies, we had to trek around the hotel and then down the road to the crosswalk to get to the entrance. We noticed several people jaywalking to get to the bus entrance which happened to be directly across from the hotel and therefore not a quarter mile out of the way. It might behoove the hotels along that block to consider a people overpass to get across the street. Just a thought.
We also had to take the long walk to get to the pool area too because the main bridge was closed often. I understand that they were cleaning, so I won't complain about that too much.
There were two pools. One of which was quite large with an area underneath a rooftop, kind of "indoor". There was also a kiddie pool and a hot tub/jacuzzi. The pools were clean but old. They could use a good pressure washing themselves.
We decided to use valet parking after having read the reviews of far away self-parking, but for $21/day it was not worth it. The valets did make effort to impress, but every time we tried calling down for the car, there was no answer. One of the valets told us they couldn't hear the phone when there were cars idling at the door.
The in-room internet was a pain to connect to. You had to enter a password every day and most days it wouldn't even connect. Supposedly that is one of the perks of the $21.95/day resort fee.
We did the Sunday morning Character Breakfast and paid $25/person (not the 2 year old) to meet Minnie, Pluto and Goofy. It was worth it to see her reactions, but the food was horrible. It was a large buffet and we got there 30 minutes before the characters were to come, but the food was already cold and hard. Nothing tasted good except the fruit which I'm sure wasn't grown by the hotel, so they don't get credit for that. Also, we walked in as one of the first customers of the day, but they sat us at the end by the buffet and the characters come in and start at the opposite end. You would think they would sit the first customers at the end where the characters come first. So, while my daughter waited VERY patiently for them to come to our table, she shouldn't have had to wait behind people that came in after us.
On our fourth day there, the fire alarm went off on one of the floors. We could barely hear it from our room and if it was just one of us and we were in the shower or in the bathroom with the fan on, I don't think it could have been heard at all. Anyway, we called downstairs and they said to evacuate so we left our room and started to try and find the stairwell. There were two maids in the halls laughing like it was no big deal and no one else was leaving there rooms. As we were still looking for the fire escape (not very well marked) another hotel employee came up and started knocking on doors telling everyone to evacuate. She showed us the stairwell and my daughter, husband and I were 3 of about 10 people who walked down 8 flights to the lobby where others were just standing around business as usual. We went outside, but no one else did. About 10 minutes later a hotel rep told us all was clear. It seems no one took the alarm very seriously.
On our last night there, a family checked in to the room next to ours about 1AM. How do we know? Because the doors slammed open and closed about 10 times and the children screamed and yelled through the walls. It was not pleasant. We called down to complain and it stopped.

All in all, the hotel and the employees tried hard to impress, but it wasn't the fancy hotel they tried to make you think it was. It could use a lot of updating and more supervision on the cleanliness and safety aspects. Other than the character breakfast, I think we could have stayed at a cheaper hotel and had the same experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blakesnewface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin W, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Dear B S,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay. We are delighted your room was to your liking. We apologize for the service we provided at breakfast. We are always learning from our guests so we appreciate the feedback you have given. We take it and use it as a training tool for our associates so we can improve the service we provide to our guests.

As it relates to the alarm. When an alarm is signaled, it doesn't always affect the entire building. It goes off in sections and that is likely why you did not hear the alarm. Both the strobes and the audible alarms are activated. The security staff, the hotel manager and the engineering personnel responded to the area to assist with and locating the problem area. The safety of our guests is very important and we ask our guests to evacuate the building until we have approval from the Reedy Creek Fire Department. Once we received word from the fire department our guests are allowed to go back inside the building. The fire safety instructions and evacuation routes are posted on the back of the guestroom doors and in the in-room compendium. Way finding signs are at elevator landings/corridors. We are so sorry you did not feel safe. Rest assure the safety of our guests and our associates are very important to us and your safety was never compromised.

Thank you again for the feedback you have given us. We truly appreciate the time you spent to tell us about your stay and we are very sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in the hotel over the weekend. It is located close to Disney parks and walking distance to downtown Disney. Service was good but hotel itself feels and smells outdated. We had a problem with next door neighbor who was making violent noises until 2 a.m. We heard every noise because of that and because the hotel is probably not well insulated. I reported to front desk in the morning and it was handled in a professional way. We were told that shuttle to Disney parks is every 30 min, however, it was misleading. We waited 60 min each way. Other than that fair hotel for under $100 a night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank accounting123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear accounting123123,
We are so sorry to hear about the noise next door but are glad that our staff handled it professionally with you.

As you could see during your visit, Downtown Disney is under construction and roads are blocked which at times are delaying the transportation to and from the parks. We make every effort to keep to the schedule, but sometimes the traffic and the construction does make the transportation delayed. We hope you understand and know that it wasn't done intentionally.

We hope the rest of your visit was enjoyable and we want to thank you for being our guest.

Warm Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our room was super dirty! Inches of dust on all surfaces! Air conditioning was not working. Very humid and musky. Moldy? Carpet was nasty! Looks nice in pictures, but is stagnant and smelly! Perhaps some rooms are nicer? Perhaps these "reviewers" have been paid off? Our room on the 4th floor was GROSS! Don't ruin your magical vacation with this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Pia R,
We are very sorry your stay was less than satisfactory. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not meeting your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Housekeeping used so much perfume we got a headache. The toilet area smelled like urine. There was dirt on the carpet from previous tenants. The bed was so hard it gave me a backache. I was looking forward to staying here but was very disappointed. Won't stay here again. It did have a nice view of Disneys evening fireworks though and a beautiful sunset view. The location was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank w f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear w f,
We wanted to say thank you for writing a review. We are so sorry your accommodations were not up to your standard. We have shared your comments with our Director of Housekeeping so these comments can be addressed accordingly.

Thank you for being our guest. We know there are many options to choose from and we are glad you decided to stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Having just spent 14 days at this hotel I would say it's one of the best hotels I have stayed at in Orlando,the room was large bright and clean.we were able to watch the fireworks at Epcot and magic kingdom from our balcony each night,it has everything from sports bar to kids games room ,with snack bars pool bar and restaurant tennis court,table tennis and pools,across the road from downtown disney and regular transport to theme parks.with pleasant friendly staff we couldn't ask for more from an hotel,would love to visit again.

Room Tip: We had a resort view room on tenth floor ideal to view the fireworks at Epcot and magic kingdom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulineN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear paulineN8,
What a fabulous review you gave us! We are beyond thrilled and very excited that your stay was such a memorable one. The hotel has so much to offer and it was nice to see that you were able to experience it all. We hope you come back to see us again someday!

Warm Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I came for a conference & brought my family. We received exceptional service throughout the hotel, our room was clean, well appointed & comfortable. We even had a great view of Disney fireworks each night!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDDStidham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear JD Stidham,
Thank you for the Exceptional review! We truly appreciate the feedback and are so happy your accommodations were beyond your expectations. We hope you come back to see us again real soon.

Kind Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Orlando – Disney Springs Area
1.9 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
1.8 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#91 of 340 in Orlando
3,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#56 of 340 in Orlando
5,475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista - Disney Springs™ Area
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs

Address: 1900 E. Buena Vista Drive, Orlando, FL 32830-8432
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#53 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £125 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 1011
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across the from over 150 one-of-a-kind restaurants, boutiques and the best of entertainment at Disney Springs™, Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace provides a contemporary oasis in a location second to none. The lake-front hotel has recently completed extensive renovations that include stylish, modern guest room redesign and the addition of two large pools, with private cabanas, a poolside restaurant and a Float Lagoon with beach entry that the whole family will love. Hilton Buena Vista Palace offers 5 dining options and a Disney Character Breakfast. Disney Benifits include complimentary shuttle to the parks, and onsite Disney store. Beginning January 1, guests of the hotel will have access to Walt Disney World theme park Extra Magic Hours benefit! Theme park admission and special voucher received at check-in will be required. Valid for stays through December 31. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Palace Hotel And Spa
Buena Vista Palace Orlando
Lake Buena Vista Palace
Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa
Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing