We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway yet so close to WDW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs
Ranked #200 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights. The value was better than staying at Disney, but doesn't have the non stop buses. We were able to walk to Downtown Disney, which was nice. My kids (aged 9 and 12) both loved that the hotel has a scouting activity to collect these rubberband bracelets. That also forced us to see different parts of the hotel.

Our room was clean, we had a refrigerator, and the staff was so friendly. If we come back and don't stay on Disney property we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JefCin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear JefCin,
We are glad you enjoyed your 3 night stay. We do offer a lot for kids of all ages. We are happy that your children enjoyed the ScoutAbout program. It's educational, informative and like you said, it gets you out there exploring the facility and all we have to offer. We hope you got to see some wildlife while visiting the pool area.

Thank you for being our guest and we hope you will come back to see us again real soon.

Warm Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,401 - 2,407 of 5,290 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Every couple of months we go to Orlando for a weekend at the Disney parks with our children. Finding adjoining rooms has become a problem when booking and we've been disappointed more than once when we reached our hotel and the rooms were wrong. Recently we had what started out to be a bad experience turn into one that will keep us loyal to this hotel forever. We usually book a suite and a double adjoining. We booked a week in advance with "reservations" where we were told that the first night they couldn't accommodate but could put us in a suite and the second night we could have the adjoing double. After a long drive and a very late business meeting we arrived with children in tow only to find out that the first night we were booked in a double room (6 of us) and the second night our rooms were spread apart. We were told that "reservations" shouldn't have guarenteed us what they did. After speaking with a couple of people we reached the manager, we were moved and our accommodations were met. She was very apologetic and even gave us free drink passes to the lounge and her business card to call her next time we were coming. This Friday at the last minute we decided on an impromptu weekend in Orlando and we called her, amazingly she remembered us and was able to get us the accommodations that we needed quickly....we may run into issues at some point with reservations in the future but we will always remember how special she made us feel.

Room Tip: This is almost the only hotel we can find in Downtown Disney that has balconies. A huge plus is this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Julie C,
What a wonderful review. It was such a joy reading this and knowing that we were able to make what could have been an unpleasant experience so memorable. We will be sure to share this with our management team and give praise to the manager who assisted you. We are very happy you will be returning and can not wait to see you again!

Warm Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I attended a conference and was very pleased with the accommodations. The rooms we're clean and comfortable. It was an easy walk to Down Town Disney. I enjoyed the pool area , the bar tender was very nice and the drinks we're great. There is a great spa where I had a top notch facial. This hotel would be a great affordable choice for families, close to the attractions, shuttle to Disney and a little less out of the wallet!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 80colleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear 80colleen,
We are thrilled you had such an enjoyable visit and you were able to enjoy the Spa. We want to thank you for being our guest and we look forward to you coming back to see us again.

Kind Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

we stayed 4 nights here prior to a cruise and it was disappointing. the brochure described it as 5*, but I would disagree with this.
there is a damp problem in the hotel I think, there was de-humidifiers everywhere and a very strong damp smell all the time.
the pool area needs up-grading big time. it is very worn and tired.
we found a cockroach in our room - on the 9th floor. I was appalled. we got no apology, but were told if we wanted to move rooms we would have to do it within 20 minutes - no offer of help to move our bags.
the spa was very expensive and the "exclusive" pool area was dirty and worn. not very relaxing.
the location for downtown Disney is the saving grace for this hotel. it is very handy for going out to explore day and night.
I wouldn't stay here again and I would advise people to choose somewhere else. there are lots of other hotels in the vicinity if you want this particular location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJF441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear SJF441,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do apologize your stay was less than satisfactory, but want you to know that we truly appreciate the feedback. Rest assure your comments have been shared with our department heads so they can be reviewed and addressed accordingly. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not meeting your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We enjoyed the hotel alot, I had really wanted to stay on WDW property and this was a compromise. WDW property, shuttles etc but not owned by Disney. Staff was lovely, enjoyed the pool area and the proximity to Downtown Disney. Would reccommend! I

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayme H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Jayme H,
Thank you for the pretty awesome review and recommending us to your friends and family. We are so happy and thrilled you enjoyed your visit. We can not wait to see us again.

Warm Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Buena Vista Palace for our anniversary weekend. Upon checking in the guest services desk explained to us that they would put a $75 hold on our account that we could use in the hotel. We were fine with this and did use some (not all) of the money on dining in the hotel. However, they did not inform us that they would be taking more money out of our account. We found ourselves out to dinner in Downtown Disney with no way of paying our bill because the hotel took more money out of our account without our permission or any warning whatsoever! The restaurant manager took my drivers licence as collateral and we agreed to come in the next day to pay our bill (so embarrassing)! The next morning we tried to resolve the issue with the Guest Services Manager at checkout, and they did nothing to help us. He explained that this is normal and that all hotels take more money out of your account incase you decide to spend it in the hotel (even though I've never stayed at any other hotels that do this). You can't assume that your customers know how "normal" hotels do bank holdings. He seemed to think that this was our problem and the hotel had every right to take more money out of our account without our permission or any warning. All they did was try to contact our bank and ask them to release the hold. The Guest Services Manager even made us believe that he had personally contacted someone at the bank and our money should be back in our account soon. After waiting over an hour at the front desk (while I am angry, crying, and 9 months pregnant), we asked to see another manager. This time, they sent us the security manager. And I thought this was a joke, what is the security manager going to do for us? We told him what happened and he became the messenger boy between us and the Guest services manager, who I assumed was hiding to avoid us. The security manager told us that they could not contact anyone at the bank because it was the weekend. (So, the guest services manager lied to us???) Eventually the issue was resolved because the hotel made a phone call to our restaurant and the restaurant agreed to take care of the bill. I was irate!!! Even though it was the hotel's fault, the restaurant was taking care of the problem. Once again, we had no problem with the hotel putting the initial hold on our account. Our problem was that we were never informed that another hold would come out. If we had known, we would have planned accordingly. Our anniversary weekend was a nightmare! The customer's service at the Buena Vista Palace is terrible. The Guest Services Manager never once apologized to us for the inconvenience. Even though I was very upset, super pregnant, and crying in the lobby, they did nothing to make us happy or try to resolve the issue. You would think they would offer you a free night stay or hotel credit to make their customer's happy, but I guess the Buena Vista Palace does not care about their customer's satisfaction. When we went to the restaurant in Downtown Disney to get my driver's licence, the restaurant manager told us to always book with a Disney Resort because they take care of their customers--lesson learned! We will not be returning to the Buena Vista Palace. Please, don't waste your time, money, or vacation there!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin W, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Dear Laurie P,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are truly sorry your stay was not enjoyable. There are policies and practices in place regarding the use of a debit card and the verbiage is written on the registration card you signed. We are sorry it was communicated clearly to you. It was never our intent to mislead you or to create such a horrible experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not meeting your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I booked this Hotel mid May and became concerned when we looked at the contrasting reviews - some were very positive but most were poor.
We decided to see for ourselves and if we encountered any issues to resolve at the time. Some people don't seem to know how to raise an effective complaint.
Arrived at the hotel from the UK on the 14th June with some trepidation.
We parked our car in the large car park. For a Hotel of this size it is surely reasonable to expect to walk to the hotel from the car park, if you don't fancy a walk then pay for valet parking!
On arrival at check-in we were courteously greeted and advised that a complimentary upgrade was available, did we want 2 Queen beds or a King bed with a view of the Disney Fireworks? We chose a King bed room which was on the 14th floor.

Based on the majority of the reviews we anticipated a dusty squalid room, old smelly stained carpet, a damp musty smell followed by a trip back to reception to complain, .
No need. Our room was clean to a high standard, there was no smell, dirt, dust, dampness, problems with the room locks, or pubic hair to be found!
The bed was very comfortable with high quality bed linen. The air conditioning was about as noisy as the fan in the room - and that is pretty quiet. We didn't hear our neighbours on either side so have no issues with the noise that others seem to have experienced.
I require Internet access to keep up with work and this was also free, fast and reliable (both wired and wireless). There was a coffee maker and a small fridge in the room which was really all we needed. We soon stocked the fridge after a visit to Goodings which is at Crossroads a short car trip from the hotel. There is a shop on-site but the stock is limited.

We expected problems with the Hotel and there were none. The other guests we met had no complaints either.

The Hotel is in a prime location within walking distance of Downtown Disney, (if you don't want a 10 minute walk then there is a complimentary bus service). The Hotel was built some years ago so make some allowances for its age.

We initially thought the pools were small and would be crowded. No issues as the majority of guests are away at the parks. Plenty of loungers (these look new). There are two pools, one is best described as a family pool and another which is an adult pool. Towels are supplied free of charge. Some guests seem able to collect their towels but too lazy to place them in the used containers when they are finished with them - probably the same people that complain about everything!
There is a pool bar with food available. No complaints here either, we ate here twice (chicken and the hot dogs) while my wife quickly became a fan of their "cocktail of the day".

A nice touch is the self-service iced water (free) available straight from the bar counter.

In summary the Hotel exceeded our expectations and while it is not the best hotel we have ever stayed in this is more than compensated for by location, location, location.

Only little things I would change, and they are little:
1) not allow kids and their inflatables in the "adult pool"
2) revamp the Sports bar as it is not in keeping with the standard of the Hotel.

This Hotel won a trip advisor award in 2013, I have my suspicion that there are some bogus reviews to reduce ratings!

Room Tip: A view of the fireworks is nice but puts you on the A/C side of the building. Not a problem when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Allan H,
Wow!!!!! What a fantastic review you gave us. We are so grateful for your detailed and honest review. We are beyond delighted you gave us a chance to find out on your own whether the hotel was right for you or not. We very much appreciate the feedback and are just delighted you enjoyed your stay. We would love to have you as our guest once again and hope you will choose to stay with us if your travel plans bring you back to the Orlando area.

Kind Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Orlando – Disney Springs Area
1.9 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
1.8 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 341 in Orlando
3,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#53 of 341 in Orlando
5,436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista - Disney Springs™ Area
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs

Address: 1900 E. Buena Vista Drive, Orlando, FL 32830-8432
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#53 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £122 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 1011
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across the from over 150 one-of-a-kind restaurants, boutiques and the best of entertainment at Disney Springs™, Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace provides a contemporary oasis in a location second to none. The lake-front hotel has recently completed extensive renovations that include stylish, modern guest room redesign and the addition of two large pools, with private cabanas, a poolside restaurant and a Float Lagoon with beach entry that the whole family will love. Hilton Buena Vista Palace offers 5 dining options and a Disney Character Breakfast. Disney Benifits include complimentary shuttle to the parks, and onsite Disney store. Beginning January 1, guests of the hotel will have access to Walt Disney World theme park Extra Magic Hours benefit! Theme park admission and special voucher received at check-in will be required. Valid for stays through December 31. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Palace Hotel And Spa
Buena Vista Palace Orlando
Lake Buena Vista Palace
Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa
Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing