We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay except for the added tax for resort fee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs
Ranked #204 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 8 July 2014

hotel was nice. room was in good shape. We had a room with a balcony and it was nice to see the fireworks at night. the down side is the extra resort fee tax that we did not know about until we were checking in. In excess of the 21.95 that we expected we were charged a resort fee tax and a resort fee Occ tax which we did not know about, so the total was about 22.00 more than was told. The hotel need to let people know about these extra taxes you have to pay before you stay and not after.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cynthiab0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear cynthiab0,
We want to apologize if the resort fee was not clearly communicated to you. It is mentioned under the terms and conditions and is stated on the confirmation that is sent. We are so sorry it was missed. It was never our intent to mislead you.

We are glad to read you liked the hotel and we hope you come back to see us again.

Kind Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,249 - 2,255 of 5,144 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

A last minute Thursday night trip brought us to this wonderful hotel. We wanted a place walking distance from Downtown Disney, that could sleep a family of five, and had activities for kids under the age of 10.
Positives: across the street from Downtown Disney, very clean, view of Disney Fireworks, nice landscaping, plenty of wildlife on grounds, pool/ping pong/basketball court functional, nice albeit pricey sit-down breakfast (other dining options available), adequate fitness center, comfortable sports bar, valets were top notch
Issues Addressed: only one, the sliding door that lead to balcony would not physically lock. We called front desk to alert concern as we have three young kids and being on the 22nd floor we were concerned. Front desk said help was on the way. Maintenance was up in less than 10 minutes and fixed the problem with replacement within 5 additional minutes. Management called later to check on the issue and offered us a room change if necessary (which was not required).
Negatives: 1) the ledge to the balcony is low coupled with the small amount space of the balcony. I just had this gnawing worry that the kids could easily fall over if they were to stand on the chairs that are tightly fitted onto the terrace. 2) there was a fun educational game to learn about animals on/around campus in which you could then acquire colored elastic wrist bands; at a few of the stations the bins were empty. We were encouraged to check back at other times during the day. Although the kids enjoyed the nature scavenger hunt, it was tedious explaining to the two youngest that they were out of bands. In the end it was still fun and the kids do not need extrinsic rewards for every little activity.

We most certainly will visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nuonli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear nuonli,
We are very pleased you came to visit with your family. We want to apologize for the lock on the sliding glass door. We wished we did not miss it before your arrival, but happy our Engineer was able to fix it in a quick manner.

The ScoutAbout scavenger hunt is a hit for all ages and we are happy you got to see you learned a little about the property and got to see some cool wildlife. We do apologize the bands were not filled at the time of your visit. We do have staff that monitor them to ensure they are always filled and we are sorry this was the case in your situation.

Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to you visiting again.

Kind Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 5 days and most of time we were at the Parks/Resorts but the time we had at the hotel was a great experience. We upgraded to a resort view room and was able to watch the Disney fireworks show. Rooms were nice and bed comfortable. They have a guest laundry area and a few pools. Didn't eat at the hotel because spent all days at the parks, etc. and there are many restaurants to choose from in the area that are less pricey than the hotel restaurants. Downtown Disney is across the street so the location of the hotel is great. One bad side is I did ask the hotel desk attendant about the restaurants for breakfast the next morning after our arrival and she told me there wasn't any???? Really??? Go to State Road 535 which is 2 minutes from the hotel and you will see Waffle House, Denny's, Perkins, etc. everything else was great! I would stay there again on my next visits to Orlando.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Triz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Triz10,
Thank you for the AWESOME review. We truly appreciate your feedback. These comments will be used to help us improve the service we provide to our guests.

Thank you for sharing your visit with us. We hope you come back to see us again.

Kind Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We decided about a week prior that we wanted to take a mini-vacation. This hotel offered a fairly decent price with an excellent location in Orlando. It was mostly good, but there were some unfortunate things.

Good: We could literally walk to Downtown Disney (the side with Rainforest Cafe), and we did. The hotel is positioned right on Lake Buena Vista, so the view is amazing in the morning. It was even a great location to see the fireworks that Disney puts on every night.The front desk staff was okay, very to the point, nothing out of their way to make us feel welcome. They did guarantee our late arrival, so that worked out well. The night we toured the hotel, we were very impressed. With 27 floors to explore, we certainly were entertained. We ate at the restaurant one night, and it actually was very good. There were many pools, jacuzzi, basketball court, ping-pong, tennis, etc. The room was very decent sized for the 2 of us! I loved the cafe they had, great when you need a late night snack. They also have an arcade and a mini Disney store. They have little gazebos on the lake, which made for a great night walk.

Not so good: We were situated in a room on the corner, so there were 3 other doors RIGHT next to ours. I didn't think it would be a problem until the next morning. Either we had some extremely rude neighbors, or the sound reduction was nonexistent. The doors SLAMMED shut, over and over, starting at 8 am. I understand people are moving around trying to get to places, but I could also hear the person next door in the shower/electric shaving/ and even talking. You could hear housekeeping banging on the doors and shouting housekeeping.

Overall it was great, plan on going again :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Ciara B,
We are delighted you enjoyed your visit, but wanted to apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay. This is not typical but it does happen and for that we are truly sorry. We look forward to you coming back to visit us again!

Kind Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The view at night is very nice. We also enjoyed the balcony. Clean with the exception of a few hairs. The location is also very convenient. The bad part was that when we went back for our luggage after a day at Disney, we waited 30 minutes until someone from bell services arrived. Apparently at night there is only one bell man working. The woman at the desk could not get ahold of him because he would not answer his walkie.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Chelbell485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Chelbell485,
Thank you for taking the time to write review. We appreciate the feedback and we will be reviewing these comments with our Bell Staff. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not being able to get you your bags in a more timely manner. Thank you for bring this to our attention. We are glad you were able to enjoy the rest of your visit.

Please come back to see us again.

Warm Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
32
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Clean, friendly hotel in a generally good location (walking distance of Downtown Disney and short distance from all the major theme parks). Our only reservation about the hotel was that the pool area was not cleaned during our ten day stay, although dirty towels and garbage were removed we saw no evidence that the surrounding area was swept or hosed.
We hired a car which wasn't really necessary as we spent most of the time in Orlando. There are regular shuttles to Disney from the hotel and taxis can be easily obtained for other parks and attractions.
If you don't want to dine in the hotel or at Downtown Disney there are other local restaurants within thirty minutes walking distance / short drive (Red Lobster, Uno, McDonalds etc). We dined at the hotel on one occasion and it was fine albeit with the usual US staples of burgers, sandwiches etc.
Overall we were happy with the hotel and its facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Taylor Family Trip,
We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and our facility. Even more pleased you chose to stay with us for your family trip. Just to ease your mind and to make you feel better, we do have staff scheduled daily at the pool very early in the morning that clean the deck and arranges the pool furniture.

Thank you for being our guest and we hope you are able to come back to see us again.

Kind Regard,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I was very wary after having read some of the reviews however I was more than pleasantly suprised. Very clean, easy check in, great amenities, lots to do, staff was outstanding, room was clean and nice. Got to watch Disneys fireworks and within walking distance of downtown disney. Only drawback is you have to park a long way from hotel. But not that big a deal. Pool area was nice and having a bar and food by the pool was good. My wife, kids and myself had an outstanding time. I will definitely be back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank djbarden41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlandoInterested, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear djbarden41,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and all we have to offer. We hope you will come to stay with us again.

Thank you for being our guest.

Kind Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Orlando – Disney Springs Area
1.8 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#84 of 341 in Orlando
3,267 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#54 of 341 in Orlando
5,331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista - Disney Springs™ Area
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs

Address: 1900 E. Buena Vista Drive, Orlando, FL 32830-8432
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#54 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £117 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 1011
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is walking distance to the newly re-imagined Disney Springs®. Enjoy complimentary shuttle to Disney Theme Parks (all within 5 miles of the hotel), Disney Character Breakfast every Sunday, our new Float Lagoon pool, newly renovated guest rooms, exciting new restaurants and much more! Plus, we're just 25 minutes from downtown Orlando and the Orlando International Airport (MCO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Palace Hotel And Spa
Buena Vista Palace Orlando
Lake Buena Vista Palace
Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa
Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace Disney Springs Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing