We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Great Ammenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Ranked #92 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Convenient and Great Ammenities”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

While the price might put many people off, you will save lots of time travelling to the Magic Kingdom and Epcot via the monorail instead of using busses from other hotels. The pools and beach were great. We enjoyed the character breakfast and dinner at the sit-down restaurant Ohana. There was also a coffee shop and a quick service option that were fine for breakfast. The rooms were good sized in the building we were in. Like all of Disney, the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Our only frustrations were that they closed the kids club on site (one of the reasons we choose the hotel) for renovation and did not offer any alternative at the resort. Unfortunately, the monorail was also having maintenance during some of our stay. The two together, without any accommodation, seemed a bit much given the price of the rooms.

Room Tip: Tokelau has balconies and is next to the small pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,603
    907
    408
    204
    93
See reviews for
2,228
406
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (765)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Moriches, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was our first time staying at Disney's Polynesian Resort and it was Absolutely perfect. We stayed in Raratonga which was excellent since it was right next to the Grand Ceremonial House. This hotel makes you feel in Paradise. Also The Housekeeper Rossy was excellent. Would defiantly stay again and recommend to anyone wanting to have an excellent vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a great stay at the Polynesian. The kids just loved the theme. It's the best pool out of the 4 surrounding resorts. I like the fact that it's one of the original hotels from when I was a kid. The room we stayed in was nicely updated. Don't listen to the complainers on tripadvisor- it's not the Four Seasons! You are paying for location, location, location! I can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Samoa building, ground floor, poolside. So convenient and I didn't hear a peep from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C3052FTkarenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Don't misunderstand me, I think the Polynesian resort is still the best place to stay within the park if you're looking for top notch accommodations. I have stayed there a few times since the 80's and always looked forward to going back. The biggest change I noticed this visit from years past is the personnel. Although most there were helpful and friendly, we noticed that as in the past, very few of the staff greeted us with "Aloha". This may not be an issue for most visitors but we always felt that the greeting was part of the charming and warm atmosphere keeping in with the theme of the resort. I questioned one of the few staff members who always greeted us with Aloha about this and his response was " most of the younger people working here now just don't say it." That really surprised me as I always thought that the Disney management expected so much more of their cast members. Our rooms were very nice but indeed over priced, but then again we were there over a holiday (which I probably would not do again). Although the room staff did a nice job with the upkeep of our sleeping area, there was an issue with our bathrooms. My daughter had to notify house keeping after a few days about hair being left on the bathroom floor for days. They did pay more attention after that to her bathroom. As for mine, although the sink, tub and toilet was cleaned daily, there were a few stands of hair on the top of the toilet tank which stayed there for my whole 9 day visit. I noticed it the first day and don't know how they didn't see it. I didn't complain, I just wanted to see how long it would take for someone to wipe off the top of the tank. It was still there when I checked out. The food is typical Disney dining, don't go there without a dining plan for sure. Quality does not match the prices. So having said all this, I'll go back to Disney again next year because it is the most magical place on earth. I think I will try another hotel within the park that is more reasonable in pricing. Convenience to the monorail is nice but the cost of that convenience has just gotten too high.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank casee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, PR
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

When we arrived at the resort at 3:00 we were told our room was not ready and the front desk could not confirm how long the wait for the room would be. We checked our luggage and headed for the Magic Kingdom. When I we returned late that evening after a tiring hot day in the sun, all I wanted was a nice shower and to go to sleep. Only a trickle of cold water came out of the shower. I called the front desk several times and waited for someone to come and fix it. After about 40 mins. and a fifth call, I insisted on talking to the manager. He came to the room to explain that the boiler was broken and they were working on the problem. Nobody at the from desk had the courtesy , the education or the manners to find out what the problem was and to give me the correct information..They showed a total lack of concern .Front desk needs more training on good customer service. The room rate was $600.00 and no working shower!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank margiesjpr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

There are some great perks to staying at the Polynesian. You can take the monorail directly from the hotel to the Magic Kingdom and to the transportation center and take another monorail to Epcot. They also have a water taxi option. This is the only place to get Tonga Toast; a popular Disney food item. It is banana stuffed french toast and can be ordered at the quick service restaurant as well as the sit down restaurant. It is also one of the few places you can get Dole Whip which is arguably the most popular of all Disney snacks. Surprisingly, you can get dole whip as your dessert for a counter service meal on the dining plan! We did not do the following things listed but they are also perks: Wishes fireworks can be viewed from the beach, water crafts are available to rent, and the popular Ohana restaurant.
drawbacks:
1. (This is true for most of Disney's resorts) It is confusing to find your hotel room when first arriving. You are told your room is in X building, but the buildings are not clearly marked and they all look the same. They tell you when checking in (among a million other details) "Ok to get to your room go out that door take a right, a left, a sharp right, veer around one of the pools, walk along side this building the long way and turn right and your building is there!" This does not help and the maps aren't very good. Disney really needs to put signs at the resorts. There are so many curving paths that veer off in all different directions. We spent 15 minutes aimlessly walking around trying to find our room at 1:00am before we had an employee show us where our building was. (This happened to us last year too when staying at Caribbean Beach).
2. In our hotel room, we had to turn the shower on as hot as it goes, and it would take 10-15 minutes for it to warm up (sometimes longer). This is not ideal when 3 people need to shower and you want to get out of there quick to get to the parks. We were there during a cold front, so it may be possible that the hotels just weren't equipped for the influx in hot showers due to the chilly weather.

I feel that all hotels have their drawbacks, and therefore these 2 complaints didn't overshadow the big picture rendering my 5 star rating. I enjoyed the Polynesian and would stay there again. The perks listed are really worth the extra money if it's in your budget!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela_Houser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Hawaii building which is the concierge building and were pleasantly surprised at the assistance and the room size. Our trip was delayed by the snow in New Jersey and after 12 hours of phone calls we rebooked all of our original bookings. Surprise upon arrival that all had to be rebooked but Amie, Christen and Marilyn rebooked it all again on our behalf. Well done them. We finally received our magic bands and off to Epcot with our six year old grandson to enjoy the Magic. Since this hotel is on the monorail, it makes traveling with a young one for the Magic Kingdom and Epcot quite easy. Also the boat service from the hotel is superb and a great time saver.
The President of the Walt Disney Resort, Mr. Kalogridis wrote in his guest note that they are "testing,adjusting, and evolving the MyMagic+" and this is certainly true as the magic bands are great when they work but a problem for staff when they need "adjusting". Place them center of the readers and you are ok but slightly off and no go. Remember to use the same finger for recognition and indeed placed exactly in the same manner on the scanner or again no go!
The smartphone app is terrific but whoever designed it should have been through the experience themselves.
Amazingly at the concierge in the Hawaii building could not access the wifi on our phones as the signal strength is weak. So no way to access the app to adjust items. This has to be corrected as Lawrence and Leslie had to do so on their computers so we could not learn on the phones. Improve the wifi connectivity here and in the parks.
When booking fast passes or indeed changing them, the rides are bundled within the park. This is crazy as the bundles do not reflect individual tastes. Also canceling one fast pass and rebooking another in another park is a no no. You must cancel all three even if you want to cancel only one. And in that mode you cannot switch parks and must come out of that mode and switch parks to start all over again. Not user friendly and must be as the man said "evolved".
Esther,Mark, and Randall in the Animal Kingdom gamed the system and helped us re-arrange our itinerary.
Additionally when the staff go into the system and book say dining they can then see attractions details that are before and after the dining time, a must for booking with the app on the phone by we mere guests.
One final comment is that all the cast members at Disney World are terrific but let down by the non integrated systems and we spent over 12 hours on the telephone rebooking post our snow cancelled flights. More than half of that time if listening to music on hold or being transferred from one representative to another as they only do their dining alone or attractions alone or flights alone. While I understand the specialization it is a killer in wasted time. Nevertheless a shout out for Alexis, Angi, Casandra, Digna, Kelly, Ivette, Malia, Mario, Mary Elisabeth, Nani, and Theresa who all worked on our bookings. Yet as per the first comments above it had to be redone again upon arrival.
Disney is magic for Children but a Challenge for us adults to get it right. Read all the books you can (Fodors 2014 easy Disney was great) investigate everything on the internet and maybe get a Disney specialist agent to assist.
Have a magical time

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank giocant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Polynesian Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Village Resort

Property: Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8423
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#105 Family Hotel in Orlando
#121 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 847
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the spirit of the South Pacific at this oasis of tropical palms, lush vegetation, koi ponds and white-sand beaches. Conveniently located on complementary Resort Monorail, enjoy moonlit nights on our torch-lined waterfront to the exotic tastes of our world-class restaurants, discover the signature tropical ambience that's made Disney's Polynesian Village Resort a favorite Disney destination since 1971. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing