We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aging Gracefully”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Ranked #91 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Aging Gracefully”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Polynesian's campy, slightly cheesy vibe is intact even as renovations and upgrades are in progress. We finally got here on our 17th trip to WDW, and while we enjoyed the experience, it's clearly not on par with the other deluxe resorts. It's very well maintained, but definitely showing its age, getting a bit tattered about the edges. Small things like cracked signs in elevators, worn carpets, and faded artwork keep it off the Disney A-list.

We were met at our car and quickly checked in. They honored our prior request for a king, balcony room in Fiji, and answered the questions we had. The concierge desk adjusted some of our Fast Pass times, using their experience to make our park visits a little smoother. Service throughout the resort was absolutely top notch, from housekeeping to the Tambu Lounge.

We read a lot of reviews to find the right room, finally settling on the west side of the Fiji building. Great view of the lagoon & wedding chapel. Noisy in the evening from the nearby evening luau performance, and blazing sun in the afternoon made the balcony unusable at that time of day. Still a very nice room overall. We had a king bed instead of 2 queens, gaining a lot of extra room. Plenty of electrical outlets, an iPod/MP3 capable radio, dual closets with plenty of hangars, small refrigerator and single-serve coffee pot. Bathroom was spacious, well lighted, with lots of extra linens and a magnifying makeup mirror. No laundry facilities in this building.

Location is a plus, on the monorail (although you do switch trains for EPCOT) and across the street from the golf course. Driving is the most efficient plan to the Boardwalk.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the Luau Cove, two performances each night get noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,605
    909
    409
    204
    93
See reviews for
2,232
407
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay. We stayed for our anniversary with our 3 year old son. We upgraded to the concierge suite and it was the best thing we did. They served breakfast a GOOD one not just the usual cereals and eggs, then had snacks throughout the day. Then at night we got the night snack with wine while watching the magic Kingdom fireworks from the snack area. Staff was very polite on helping me out with different food since I have multiple allergies to food.
We loved the nightly movie night outside with our son.
Thank you for making our vacation a magical vacation/ anniversary.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerriecherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a great stay at the Poly for a week in June. The location was perfect for families with small children. It was close to the Magic Kingdom via monorail and just a short walk away from TTC to catch the Epcot monorail. We stayed in a ground floor, pool facing room in the Samoa building. It was close to the pool, the main lobby, and eating locations. We loved the afternoon pool activities for the kids and movies on the beach at night. The staff was friendly and attentive. They have several restaurants on site. We dined at Ohana & Kona Cafe while there and they both were delicious. Captain Cook's was okay, but in a very small location with very small seating capacity. I found it to be very disorganized. There is a lot of construction going on, but we didn't really notice and it had no effect on our stay. They are however closing the pool for major reconstruction in July. I wouldn't recommend staying at the Poly once this work has begun until after it is completed. Overall, we had a great experience and will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at the Polynesian in the Fiji building. Since the property is older, my expectations were low. I was pleasantly surprised! The location of Fiji was perfect and very quiet. We had a water view, but could also see the Ceremonial House. The room had been recently updated. Our room was clean, however, the frosted door to the bathroom had not been clean in sometime. There were water and soap/shampoo streaks down the door. Three days of our stay, our room was not cleaned until after 2pm. This was quite annoying since we had been up and at the parks very early in the day and wanted to rest in the afternoon. The bathroom was enormous and had two sinks which was very handy. The closet space was ample and it was convenient to have the mini fridge. The hotel is undergoing renovations and they are adding villas on the water which look to be very nice. We enjoyed the volcano pool and adjacent beach. The light parade each evening is fun as well. Most everyone we encountered at the Polynesian was very friendly and ready to answer any question we had. The overall vibe of the hotel is very laid back and rarely did we encounter any crowds which added to the relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChicagoTravelBug75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit area, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We are Disney zealots, and love ALL things Disney. Having said that, we were a bit disappointed in the Polynesian. The location is GREAT, the monorail is GREAT, but the pricing and "deluxe" rating are not on par. We have stayed at value and moderate resorts in the past that we enjoyed more. Highlights are the pool and the Luau dinner; disappointments were the rooms, amenities, and overall service. For deluxe we prefer Contemporary or Grand Floridian, for modest we prefer Coronado Springs.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is by far Disney's best family hotel. It has all of the great perks of a deluxe resort, including a great view of the Magic Kingdom fireworks from the pool, with a very laid back environment, including shade, which isn't always easy to find at Disney. This hotel also includes Disney's best restaurant, Kona Cafe.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have stayed here before in the concierge building. This time we did not. It might not have been the best time to stay- they were doing construction so half the parking lot was not available, some of the grounds, and many detours had to be taken to walk around. You would think because of all that they would majority discount the price; if they did- it wasn't enough for me to notice!! That was a major downfall. Other negatives besides the large one of the construction: the food court is one of the smaller ones I've been in- definitely not enough tables, also we came back late-afternoon (like 4) and our room wasn't cleaned yet so we either had to all 5 of us get up and leave when they came, otherwise we wouldn't have gotten it done. I think one day we didn't get it done and just asked for towels. When we stayed concierge we didn't have these problems, so I would stay concierge but not in a standard building.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FunHaHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Polynesian Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Village Resort

Property: Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8423
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#105 Family Hotel in Orlando
#121 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 847
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the spirit of the South Pacific at this oasis of tropical palms, lush vegetation, koi ponds and white-sand beaches. Conveniently located on complementary Resort Monorail, enjoy moonlit nights on our torch-lined waterfront to the exotic tastes of our world-class restaurants, discover the signature tropical ambience that's made Disney's Polynesian Village Resort a favorite Disney destination since 1971. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing