We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort, WAY too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Ranked #93 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice resort, WAY too expensive”
Reviewed 25 April 2005

My husband and I (and our children ages 2,5,& 8) stayed at the Polynesian for a week and had a good time. The rooms were not all that great (our room smelled like mildew-and were not what I expected for the price). The grounds were BEAUTIFUL and the kids loved the pool. It was cool being able to see the fireworks over Cinderella castle and the electric lights water parade from our pool. Our two oldest kids LOVED the Neverland Club (which is the on-site children's childcare center)-I think they liked it more than the theme parks! The food at the Kona Cafe was good. We also liked being right on the monorail like (especiall with an unruly 2 year old!) Pretty nice hotel, I just think that the prices for the rooms are CRAZY!

  • Stayed May 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,582
    900
    406
    203
    93
See reviews for
2,202
401
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northville, MI
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2005

We stayed on the first floor just outside of the pool. The room was a very good size and quiet. The view was soothing. The beach area wasn't huge but a good size for us, we were traveling with a 2 and 4 1/2 year old. I enjoyed taking the boat from the dock to magic kingdom from the hotel and the electric light parade one evening. The staff was friendly and the grounds well kept. I enjoyed the stay and the location was perfect. I didn't feel I was staying at a hotel that cost as much as I paid, but it still seemed very nice and was somewhere I may return to. I thought the resort looked like it could use some updating, it showed it's age, but only in style and when comparing to the Contemporary the Poly did look better. I would recommend staying here because it's so nice not to take a bus or worry about driving.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank kak531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2005

Usually stay at the Grand Floridian, but made last minute plans for the trip and could not get a reservation. They did have an opening at the Poly, and we went, thinking that it would be inferior to the Floridian...Boy, were we wrong! The room was huge and the grounds are lush and beautiful...O'Hana's is a very reasonably priced and absolutely delicious restaurant...The view of Cinderella's castle, therefore a view of the nightly fireworks show, is right there! I will definately return to this hotel on our next visit! Bonus...we always have terrible burgers when we order them from room service at hotels...Not at this hotel! Burgers were the best!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank joanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montvale, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2005

We just returned from an Easter Week trip to the Polynesian. When traveling with young children (ours are 10, 7, 7, and 4), staying at a Disney resort on the monorail is a good idea, but we think staying at the Polynesian is best. The standard rooms at the Polynesian are larger than at the newer Disney premium resorts and the Polynesian offers connecting rooms which are available at only one or two of the Disney premium resorts (the hotel will guarantee connecting rooms for families).

The laid back, child friendly atmosphere of the place made it ideal for our family. Although you would think that is a given for a Disney resort, go check out the Grand Floridian which is better suited to honeymooners and retirees than families with young children.

A tip for the Polynesian is to request a first floor room or a third floor room. The first floor rooms have patios that serve as a backyard for the young ones. The third floor rooms have balconies. Most second floor rooms have neither. We requested a ground floor room and our request was satisfied. Our boys wound down by hunting lizards in their well-landscaped backyard.

The volcano pool at the Polynesian is always a big hit with our boys. They enjoy the water slide and zero-entry feature so much that they don't complain when Dad wants to leave the parks in the early afternoon.

We found the service to be just fine. The front desk staff were friendly, if not consistently so, and we were not give any bad information or advice.

The character breakfast at the Ohana restaurant is well done, as is the barbecue dinner there.

I loved the French toast at the other full service restaurant on the property whose name I cannot recall. The food at Captain Cooks is standard fast food fare.

This most recent trip was on one of Disney's busiest weeks but staying at the Polynesian made it pleasant for all involved. We took advantage of the early opening hours for the resort park guests, hit all the attractions the kids wanted to see early before the lines formed, and went back to the Polynesian in the early afternoon to swim and nap during the busiest hours at the parks. We then could decide to hang by the pool and watch the fireworks from the water or the beach or go back to the Magic Kingdom for their late hours.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
32 Thank ChrisMontvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biloxi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2005

just to let you know, this is really a feeling of hawaii! they have a fantastic luau- we've been to hawaii twice and this is as good as it gets! the luau is as good as the old lahaina luau in maui- which has been voted the best in all of hawaii. the entertainers are from hawaii and they are great. kids have a great time too- although the food is also authentic- but, i think much better than hawaii. the show is the reason for going- kids may not like the food as much as adults- but it is really fun to see and try. kids also get to dance on stage and learn the luau. the grounds are beautiful and the atmosphere is relaxed and hawaiian! beautiful waterfall in the lobby and birds- kids are entertained for hours! very tropical! the rooms are very nice as well as the bath rooms. garden views are great.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lclclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2005

The Polynesian was the second hotel built at WDW in 1971 and harkens from an era when visiting Disney was about more than money. Service at the resort is still fantastic and EVERY castmember goes above and beyond to make YOU feel welcome. For example, the gardener sweeping the sidewalk once helped me find my way to my room when I was clearly lost without me even having to ask. By the way, the landscaping at the resort is top notch. Many people have worked at the resort for years and treat it as their home, and welcome many returning guests. People really do build long term relationships visiting the Polynesian.

The rooms are much larger than most hotel rooms today and were originally designed to be modular such that they could be renovated by pulling them out like drawers. Check out some of the Polynesian fan websites such as ---, to get a flavor for the loyalty that the resort engenders. Speaking of which, the Polynesian continues to have the HIGHEST repeat guest rate of ANY Disney property.

In addition to traditional hotel restaurants, places to eat at the Polynesian include the Kona Cafe for a nicer but not fancy sit down meal, Captain Cooks for a quick bite and the gift shop for a few snacks.

The Polynesian is one of the 4 disney hotels with boating and beaches (the other three are Contemporary, Floridian and Wilderness Lodge). The Polynesian also has fantastic views of the magic kingdom and is close to the TTC, so you can walk to the EPCOT monorail rather than have to transfer. The LOCATION is truly supurb and getting on the monorail late at night instead of one of those lousy buses is a luxury worth the price.

Overall, you would be hard pressed to find a better resort at Disney. Enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank mktozd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2005

The location of the Poly cannot be beat, and is an excellent choice for families with young children. The monorail gives you fast access to the Magic Kingdom, and you can walk to the TTC to pick up the monorail to EPCOT. The lenght of time it takes to get to and from a particular park can make or break a family with young ones. The rooms are larger than other Disney hotels, and I found my two connecting rooms to be clean. We stayed in the Tahiti longhouse, which has unbelievable views of the Magic Kingdom's fireworks in a lagoon view category room. This longhouse is scheduled for rehab in April, I believe. The pool at the Poly was a highlight for my boys (ages 3 and 6). The Kona Cafe in the hotel had suprisingly good food, a rarity on Disney property. The overall feeling of the hotel was a retro tropical vibe, and it did remind me of Hawaii. having stayed at several other onsite properties (Animal Kingdom, Wilderness Lodge, Grand Floridian, Contemporary, Old Key West) this was by far my favorite.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank DTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 337 in Orlando
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Polynesian Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Village Resort

Property: Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8423
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#34 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#105 Family Hotel in Orlando
#121 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 847
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the spirit of the South Pacific at this oasis of tropical palms, lush vegetation, koi ponds and white-sand beaches. Conveniently located on complementary Resort Monorail, enjoy moonlit nights on our torch-lined waterfront to the exotic tastes of our world-class restaurants, discover the signature tropical ambience that's made Disney's Polynesian Village Resort a favorite Disney destination since 1971. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing