We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will not be returning but not all bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Lake Buena Vista Disney Springs Resort Area
Ranked #172 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cheshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I will not be returning but not all bad!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I have previously stayed here in August 2011. I had booked the hotel when it was 'The Regal Sun' and had changed ownership before we arrived. Our initial experience then was upon arrival we were told that the room was not ready, leaving us hanging around tired and with 2 kids in tow. After that we were please with the hotel, food was expensive (compared to the Best Western next door) but at least they did a good range of kids meals by the pool and at times we could snack on these as a cheap alternative.

Arrival on 15th August 2014 - our rooms were not ready leaving us stranded with 2 teenagers having to hang around!! The room smelt musty and the bath looked like paint was chipping off it. Several times throughout our stay we had to ring down for toilet rolls, towels, cups and coffee and replenishment had not been left, in fact on one occasion house keeping had not even called. I did report these things on every occasion.

As for the food, we never ate there once, choosing instead to walk to the Best Western, Crossroads or Earl of Sandwich. On the one occasion we went to the pool bar to order the kids meals we were told they no longer did these, we were told chicken tenders were $13 and these came without fries which we could purchase for a further £4, chicken tenders and fries only cost around $10 on the parks! This was a pool bar!! The pool itself whilst lovely had loud guests in it until way after we went to bed at 10pm.

You may at this point think that I am being picky, however before we arrived here we had spent some time in The Rosen Inn, International Drive, a far cheaper hotel but we had not one complaint, in fact on a whole the service provided by The Rosen was far superior, even the beds seemed bigger and more comfortable!

As I mention though in my title, 'not all bad', location is good, pools are nice, shuttles to Disney are great and you have the added perk of being able to have your Disney shopping delivered there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireDisneybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Wyndham Lake Buena Vista Disney Springs Resort Area, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
On behalf of the entire staff here at the Wyndham please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. I'm sorry that your room wasn't ready upon arrival, for the unpleasant odor & faulty bath tub in your room and the dissatisfaction you felt with the food pricing at the Oasis pool bar. Please be assured that I will share your concerns with the Front Office, Maintenance, Housekeeping and Food & Beverage teams.
On another note, I'm glad you enjoyed the closeness to Downtown Disney, the transportation service to & from the Disney parks as well as our very nice pools.
If you should decide to provide us with another opportunity to serve you please let us know.
Sincerely,
Helen Bivans
Voice of the Customer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,981
    1,879
    1,229
    542
    363
See reviews for
3,188
1,124
131
814
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (880)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Falls, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

this was one of our interesting motels. the motel itself was wonderful. small arcade, nice gift shop, and excellent pool (which is why we stayed here).
so we pull up under the car port thing, where there is a sign, loading/unloading. we pull to the unloading side, and are greeted by valet people. we say, we are checking in and going to unload our bags. guy one says to pull straight ahead ...very nice. after pulling straight ahead, guy 2 says we cannot be there and need to move. ????? very pricky and not pleasant about it. after some words and vocabulary we just said f it and found a parking spot. what it was, is we were following the signs but its all valet stuff. checking in was a hassle as well. after all that jazz was done it was a nice stay.
motels need to realize not everyone likes other people unloading their vehicles and some like this make it very inconvenient for others.
we will not be staying here again.
it is conveniently located across the street from downtown Disney and offers shuttles to the parks.
absolutely loved the swimming pools.
the hassle though is totally not worth it.

Green Features: different garbage cans in the room for regular garbage and recycled stuff.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ditzysissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Wyndham Lake Buena Vista Disney Springs Resort Area, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at the Wyndham please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered with the valet staff and the unpleasant check in experience.
We truly care about our guest's perception of us and we regret having let you down.
On another note, I'm glad you enjoyed the resort for the most part and liked all the amenities we have to offer.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please know I will let our valet company know about your concerns as well as our Director of Front Office.
If you should need further assistance or change your mind about returning please call me.
Sincerely,
Helen Bivans
Voice of the Customer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My husband and I stayed in the suite our wedding night. It was great! The staff decorated the room with rose petals and a swan made out of towels. The view was also spectacular. You could see the Disney fireworks from the room.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Wyndham Lake Buena Vista Disney Springs Resort Area, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
We are so happy to hear that your very special occasion was a success.
It was our pleasure to make it memorable.
Congratulations on your wedding!.
Thanks for sharing and please come again.
Sincerely,
Helen Bivans
Voice of the Customer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Buena Vista
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is an old hotel. Friendly staff and good location, but it is not what I expected for a "Disney" hotel. The rooms were old, the a/c loud, and the parking lot atrocious. No where did it say that parking was not included in your resort fee and on top of that, it is always PACKED because they "share" the parking lot with a car rental company. We could not get out of our legitimate parking spot because so many cars were parked illegally and we had to PAY to be treated this poorly. I expected better from a Wyndham, especially one with a Disney affiliation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Wyndham Lake Buena Vista Disney Springs Resort Area, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt with our resort overall. I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expectations regarding the outdated room decor, the faulty air conditioning unit and the parking area(s). I will share your comments with our General Manager and the Maintenance department.
On another note, I'm glad that the staff was friendly and you liked the location.
If you should decide to return please call me. I'll make sure that your vehicle is valet parked.
Last but not least, we are planning a refresh in 2015!
Sincerely,
Helen Bivans
Voice of the Customer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manning
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Overall the room was satisfactorily clean and cooled; although the beds were hard and uncomforatable, the pillows were uncomforatable and made of crappy foam. We used the room to sleep, we did not spend time in it, but sleeping was not comfortable.

Let me add this, you are asking to take a survey, yet you make it hard for me and ask for to much info. I should not need to provide my e-mail as you already have.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Wyndham Lake Buena Vista Disney Springs Resort Area, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
I'm sorry to hear that you didn't like the beds or pillows in your guestroom. Please accept our apologies for any discomfort you experienced as a result. I can assure you that I will share your concerns with our Executive Housekeeper.
Also, thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the Wyndham survey, I will send your comments to the corporate team.
Please call me the next time you are planning to visit Orlando!
Sincerely,
Helen Bivans
Voice of the Customer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Wyndham Garden Lake Buena Vista Disney Springs Resort Area
Lake Buena Vista
B Resort & Spa
B Resort & Spa
#122 of 337 in Orlando
2,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Best Western Lake Buena Vista - Disney Springs Resort Area
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Lake Buena Vista Disney Springs Resort Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Lake Buena Vista Disney Springs Resort Area

Property: Wyndham Lake Buena Vista Disney Springs Resort Area
Address: 1850 Hotel Plaza Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Orlando
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#47 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#115 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Lake Buena Vista Disney Springs Resort Area 4*
Number of rooms: 626
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Magical Choice Among Orlando Lake Buena Vista Hotel ResortsBe immersed in magic. Experience the best of the Walt Disney World® Resort at the Wyndham Lake Buena Vista Resort. As an Official Walt Disney World® Hotel, we specialize in family-friendly amenities, impressive facilities, and uncompromising fun and service. Discover why our accommodations are the perfect choice when selecting from Orlando Lake Buena Vista hotels.Immerse Yourself in Magic!The Wyndham Lake Buena Vista is located directly across the street from the Downtown Disney® Area, a world-class entertainment-shopping-dining district. At the resort you can dine with Disney Characters for breakfast on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Staying at this Lake Buena Vista hotel you're a quick complimentary shuttle ride from the Magic Kingdom® Park, Disney's Hollywood StudiosTM, Epcot® and Disney's Animal Kingdom® Theme Park.Splash Into Adventure!There is no need to leave the resort to experience adventure. The Aquatic Playground located at the Oasis, the resort's pool deck, is fun for children of all ages at this Orlando Family Resort. Situated on 13 meticulously landscaped, lakeside acres in the Walt Disney World® Resort in Orlando, Florida. Additionally, the hotel is only 10 minutes away from Sea World & Universal Studios and Just 17 miles from Orlando International Airport (MCO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Lake Buena Vista Disney Springs Resort Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Lake Buena Vista Disney Springs Resort Area Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing