We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible kitchen guy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Ranked #124 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible kitchen guy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Honestly everything was great. Location is great. Check-in was fast and easy, staff was friendly. The only thing that bugged the heck out of me was the night staff in the restaurant. Me and my husband went in the morning to have breakfast and everything was great. The food wasn't that great but the woman and man in the morning were really nice, especially the woman. Fast forward to night time: me and my husband decided to have dinner at the on-site restaurant since we've been out the whole day shopping. It was the worst service I've had. This big fat guy came out of the kitchen with a plate full of food and sat close to us and ate everything right in front of everyone and after he was done he left his dirty plate on the table. I'm sorry I don't work in a hotel I sure know that that's not okey! & then later on I see the same guy come out of the kitchen and went straight to the bar to talk to the bar tenders & started drinking beer & starting talking and joking to the ladies at the bar like if he was a guest. That was just plain unprofessional.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldlover35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    1,034
    474
    135
    75
See reviews for
1,171
674
108
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

we were at the hotel for our trip to universal studios and seaworld. the rooms were very clean and the pool was good. the hotel is well maintained. the breakfast was complimentary with the stay and it helped us to manage within the budget. there was free shuttle service to the universal studios as well as sea world. also, the hotel is very near to a lot of restaurants- within walking distance. so we did not have to rent a car to visit these places. overall i was a good experience and would recommend this to anyone on a strict budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neetjacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

This is my 4th visit in 6 years, and to keep it fresh I review it every time. So I´ll be comparing it to previous stays. This time around we got a corner room at the end of a hallway, facing the basketball court. The first time we got it through hotwire, liked it for the convenience, being near the parks, the fridge and microwave, the next stays we sought it, this might be the last time... Even though the rooms are clean and fine for sleeping after a long day at the parks, there were some issues. The room had nearly no closet space (rooms located towards the middle of the hallway don´t have this problem), the safety box had no lock and had to wait until the engineer arrived next day to fix it (apparently it had been stolen!). On previous visits one thing that was really remarkable was the front desk staff... I didn´t experience that this time around, they were not helpful at all, not rude, they just didn´t seem to care (solving the safe issue). The room we got facing the basketball court was noisy, we had people playing until past midnight and also we got to hear the music from the party downstairs (not fun at all).
Would we stay here again? Probably, but we checked out other nearby options for our next visit.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the end of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elsalero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel during your most recent trip to Orlando. I am pleased that you have returned to our property on numerous occasion and am glad that you have enjoyed your stays with us.

I am concerned that you did not feel our staff at the front desk was very friendly and while I understand your sentiment that they were not rude, we need to make a better effort at making sure that we are projecting our "friendliness" to our guests and make sure that we are as helpful as possible. I will make sure that I share your comments with our front office manager and identify areas where we need to increase our training.

I do apologize that the end room did not have enough closet space, as you described, the very end rooms (5 of them) are tight on space especially the closet area.

Again, thank you for your review and I do hope you return to our hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed with the family for three nights to visit Harry Potter World.

Pros: less than a mile from Universal and across the street from wet and wild; inexpensive; clean rooms; plenty of parking; friednly staff; universal office in hotel; and nice pool.

Cons: dated rooms and lobby in need of upgrading; limited shuttle buses to universal; and mediocre food.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WashDC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We certainly appreciate that you enjoyed you stay with us during your recent trip to Orlando. We are creating a new restaurant menu and hopefully the next time you are in Orlando, you will stay with us and give our Caribbean themed Sharky and Jack's another try.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

My expectations weren't very high to be honest and I was very pleasantly surprised. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Clean towels were given every day and the cleaning standards were very good.

The location was excellent and we walked to Universal within 25-30 minutes. IHOP is just a few minutes walk away and Wet & Wild is on the doorstep.

The Bell Captain (M Gonzalez Jr) seems to be the font of all knowledge and is very helpful. He became a bit of a personal guide, so definitely seek him out.

The restaurant and bar are ok, although a little limited. The food's good, but we only ate there when we were too tired to venture out. If you like milkshakes, give one a go in the bar or from the little shop - some of the best I've tasted and great flavours too.

The only thing to note is that there are some real inconsistancies. One day you get 6 towels, 5 face cloths and a bath mat. The next day 2 towels, no facecloths and no bath mat. The day after you may get another half a dozen towels, couple of facecloths and a bath mat back. Guess there were no set standards, so depended on who made up your room. Same with tea bags, I had to keep asking for some and then two that were in the basket strangely disappeared, so I started hiding some in a drawer. However if you call down for anything, house services come straight up.

Room Tip: We had a great view of Wet & Wild and Universal. If you're on that same side of the buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you for your reveiw of our hotel! I am pleased that you found the rooms to be clean and comfortable and that you thought our staff was courteous and friendly. I will make sure that I pass on your compliments to Jr. who is one of our bellman.

I will also pass on to our Executive Housekeeper you comments regarding the restocking of towels in your room! We do have standards for the number of towels in each room and it looks like we missed the boat! I was glad to read that we brought your items up expeditiously when you called down to the front desk.

Again, thank you so much for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stay from june 8-12. It really need more renovation. The elevator is somewhat scary with loud noises.
The room first impression was clean, but if you start touching some furniture it seems slightly sticky, it might be humidity. There were some hair at the back on the bathroom door. The bed feels clean, and comfy. i like to have a sink in and out of the bathroom. The bathtub was really old, the coating of the bathtub was partially gone, it really need a change soon. The faucet was also loose.

Service: there is a 3.50 $ service charge per day, maybe that is the tip ?? we still left extra tip. The hotel staff are nice in general. No much issue with us.

Location: We usually need to take the red line on the i-ride (trolley system for international drive area) we often need to walk 5 min to get there. So everywhere we need to go we need to at least walk 5 min. It is not a problem to start the day with a 5 min walk, but at the end of the day after intense shopping or travelling 5 min could be long. And we had T-storm everyday so sometimes 5 min in t-storm is for ever.

The shuttle: We used it to go to universal studio, it is very easy and since we are the last stop it was quick. But to return they only have 4 departure i think the hours are 7:40. 8:00, 8:30 and 9:15... So for people who would like to return earlier or later they need to take a taxi ride 7$

To airport MCO taxi was 45$ plus tip we paid 50$

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kkotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

My fiancé and I booked this hotel on Hotwire for $38/night (plus a $7/night resort fee after the fact), and I would have been disappointed to pay any more than that.
On the plus side:
- It was clean. I was worried that it wouldn't be, but we turned down the beds (and stripped the bottom sheet) and didn't find any bugs or other nasties). That's really my main concern in a hotel, and so for that, it's a plus.
- It's very close to Universal Studios (where we were headed) and they offer a free shuttle bus (though it's only at specific times in the morning/evening, not throughout the day). If you needed to come back to the hotel outside of those times, the ladies told us it was about a $7 cab ride.

Negatives:
- we arrived at 1am, and though there was plenty of space, we weren't even offered an upgrade ($20/night if we wanted one king bed instead of two doubles. I book hotels for a living, and most hotels USUALLY offer either one queen or one king OR two doubles or two queens for the same price).
- for a hotel that charges a resort fee, this did not feel "resort"-like in any way. The furniture, bedding, etc was very dated. I've stayed in 2-2.5 stars that were nicer than this hotel (Highly recommend the Hampton Inn & Hyatt Place chains)
- The hot water in the shower was virtually non-existent for the first 10 minutes... it heated up slightly after that.
- the breakfast buffet was $10/person (I think? Somewhere around there, at least), and it was NOT very tasty or well-presented. Again, Hyatt Place offers a NICER buffet, and it's included in your room fee.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Rosen Inn
#104 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,866 reviews
Comfort Inn International
#119 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#109 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Florida Center
La Quinta Inn Orlando International Drive North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

Property: Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Address: 7299 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#122 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this stylish Orlando, Florida hotel situated close to SeaWorld(R), Universal Studios(R) and the Disney(R) Theme Parks. Welcome to the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, the "Gateway to Orlando Attractions" in Central Florida. This full-service hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be minutes from Universal Studios, the Islands of Adventure theme park and the Hard Rock Amphitheatre where visitors can enjoy local concerts. Each well-appointed guest room and suite at this Orlando hotel features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will find great dining onsite at the hotel's restaurant or cocktail lounge. The hotel is also ideal for group travel with full-business services and meeting facilities, perfect for conferences, family reunions and other events. The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel also features a fitness center, guest laundry and tennis and basketball courts. Guests staying at the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel will be less than ten miles from local attractions such as the Walt Disney World Resort and Theme Parks, SeaWorld, Discovery Cove and Disney's the Wide World of Sports. Corporate travelers staying at this Florida hotel will be close to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, Coleman Aerospace, L-3 Communications and Lockheed Martine Missiles and Fore Control. Hotel guests will also enjoy sky diving at the indoor Sky Venture, less than one mile away.The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Orlando. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel Florida
Clarion Orlando
Clarion Hotel Universal
Orlando Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing