We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Ranked #107 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Had a great time with my wife. It was a one time stop in Orlando. I love how close it was to things. The room was a great deal for the price. I really like how it felt up scale but was a cheap price!!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Doctortea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Doctortea,

I thank you for your business and appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you and your wife were able to enjoy your quick trip to Orlando and that you enjoyed our property.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,219 - 1,225 of 2,964 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

Staff Friendly, Rooms comfortable, an excellent choice for price. Convenient to all theme parks. Did not utilize restaurant or other amenities. Bed comfortable. Small bathroom. Behind very busy International Drive but road hotel is on very quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Christine D.,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I appreciate the kind words you had for our staff and our property in general. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable and affordable accommodations while providing great customer service and I am glad that we were able to meet these goals for you during your stay with us.

We look forward to you seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Everything was wonderful except our room didn't have a hot shower that worked. We got back too late from the parks to change rooms or we would have. Also didn't like the "Welcome Package that turned out to be a sales pitch by a different "property".

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bridget W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Bridget W.,

I want to thank you for your business and appreciate that you enjoyed our hotel with the exception of the shower water not being hot. I understand that it was late when you arrived to the hotel but remember that we are here 24 hrs. per day and our staff would have loved the opportunity to take a look at the hot water issue in your room. Many times it's just a water cartridge that has gone bad and can be replaced with a minimum amount of effort. Please do not hesitate to call down to the front desk in the future.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again should your travels bring you back to the Orlando area.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have stayed at this resort a number of times over the past few years. We have always enjoyed our stay and like the location and rates.

This time we really noticed the decline in the condition of the hotel. There is a smell in the hallways, and the hotel is really showing its age. It's tired.

Check in was easy and the receptionist Tanya was friendly and helpful.

The room is small especially the bathroom. Defiantly showing its age.

My biggest complaint was the bathroom. The fan sounds like a truck. The shower head isn't clean (we cleaned it ourselves) and the shower knob is gross. It is a clear knob and shows all the gunk inside. Hard to get clean in the shower when you are staring at gunk.

Beds are not very comfortable. Time to replace.

Breakfast is not free unless it's part of your package. Otherwise it's $9.95/person which is pretty overpriced but typical for the hotels around the theme parks. We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on the food quality.

Hotel is located close to Universal, shopping and restaurants. Great location with lots of free parking (definitely a plus around this area)

Pool is nice but also showing its age.

We were in a room looking over the tennis and basketball courts which can be loud if you are trying to sleep. There was a group of kids playing basketball until after 11:30pm and then again at 8:15am.

We have always enjoyed this hotel but will not be back unless we hear renovations/upgrades have been done. We got a great rate - paid less than 1/2 of what others staying there paid so I guess we can't complain that much. Still sad to see one of our regular locations go downhill.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kelli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear kelli99,
I would like to thank you for returning to our hotel over the years. I do appreciate your comments and want you to know that we take all of the comments on TripAdvisor and any other medium seriously. We will be renovating the property throughout the year. Our public space renovation was recently completed and we will begin with the soft goods renovation upon design approval from Best Western. We will be replacing the carpet, drapes and bedding this year and the case goods next. The items that you mentioned in the bathroom are all preventative maintenance items and I apologize that they were not completed prior to your stay. I have met with our Executive Housekeeper and Maintenance Chief and they will get all of those items on a special work list to be completed immediately.

We value all of our guests and our goal is to always provide clean, comfortable and safe accommodations at affordable prices while providing superior guest service. I do look forward to you returning and seeing the improvements that we have made!


Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Everything went well there. Rooms are clear and full of light. Most employees are nice, including the manager Jerusa.
However, during checkout we wanted to split the bill and have separate invoices and a girl at the counter created a major problem with that. She said it was not what she had been profiled and would not do that. You know, one of those employees that do not go beyond their scripts for being afraid of taking action. We had another problem with this girl before so that was a bad experience.
On the other hand, there was a nice girl called Diana Henry that managed to solve all our issues. We asked to change rooms to accommodate a friend, we needed information, and she was always super helpful. Even with the problem I told you before, she was the one to take responsibility and solve the invoice issue. i hope the hotel rewards her for this good behaviour. You need more people that act like leaders.

another thing you should know: they charge for you to get packages in the hotel from the post office. I did not know that and they wanted to charge 50 dollars for a book I got delivered there and cost only 10. So, remember to ask before you send something to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Bernardo F.,

I thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I do apologize that one of our associates was unable to complete the transaction you requested, but happy that Diana was able to take care of you. Our Front Office Manager did make sure everyone was trained on splitting up folios so that future guests that wanted that completed would not have an issue getting it done.

We do charge for packages, however, the first package is free of charge. We receive thousands of packages each year and store and catalog them for our guests prior to their arrival.

I will pass on your great comments to Jherusa and Diana and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Pros:
Location is great. Right in the middle of a variety of entertainment that Orlando has to offer.
Friendly staff.
Easy check in/out process.
Free wifi/parking.
Good recreation facilities.

Cons:
Loud air conditioner.
Water had to run a long time (2 minutes +) to become hot.
Bathroom could use updating.

Would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Craig B.,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay with us. Our guests love our pool area, location and friendly staff. I will make sure that we look at the hot water issue, we have ample boilers on property and there should not be an issue with guests needing to let water run to get hot or even warm.

I look forward to your returning to the Orlando area and staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed at the Best Western Gateway for four nights for the HIMSS conference in Orlando. The hotel is approx. 3 miles from the conference center. The staff were kind and helpful. The accommodations left something to be desired but were clean and quiet. I would stay here again if the price was right. There is no free breakfast, but there is a restaurant and a snack bar.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Taryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Taryn H.,

Thank you for your business and for taking tome to review our hotel. I appreciate your comments regarding our clean and comfortable accommodations and our friendly staff. We will be completing a soft good renovation this year that includes, carpet, drapes and bedding. hopefully, you will stay with us again in the future and see the changes that we have made.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.4 mi away
Rosen Inn
Rosen Inn
#104 of 340 in Orlando
3,100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosen Inn International
Rosen Inn International
#118 of 340 in Orlando
6,929 reviews
1.4 mi away
Avanti International Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western International Drive - Orlando
0.1 mi away
The Point Hotel & Suites
The Point Hotel & Suites
#19 of 340 in Orlando
4,948 reviews
2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#173 of 340 in Orlando
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

Address: 7299 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#121 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £65 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this stylish Orlando, Florida hotel situated close to SeaWorld(R), Universal Studios(R) and the Disney(R) Theme Parks. Welcome to the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, the "Gateway to Orlando Attractions" in Central Florida. This full-service hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be minutes from Universal Studios, the Islands of Adventure theme park and the Hard Rock Amphitheatre where visitors can enjoy local concerts. Each well-appointed guest room and suite at this Orlando hotel features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will find great dining onsite at the hotel's restaurant or cocktail lounge. The hotel is also ideal for group travel with full-business services and meeting facilities, perfect for conferences, family reunions and other events. The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel also features a fitness center, guest laundry and tennis and basketball courts. Guests staying at the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel will be less than ten miles from local attractions such as the Walt Disney World Resort and Theme Parks, SeaWorld, Discovery Cove and Disney's the Wide World of Sports. Corporate travelers staying at this Florida hotel will be close to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, Coleman Aerospace, L-3 Communications and Lockheed Martine Missiles and Fore Control. Hotel guests will also enjoy sky diving at the indoor Sky Venture, less than one mile away.The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Orlando. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel Florida
Clarion Orlando
Clarion Hotel Universal
Orlando Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing