We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, beware of extra charges they don't tell you exist” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Ranked #126 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good hotel, beware of extra charges they don't tell you exist”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights during our visit to Universal Studios and Disney World, occupied 3 rooms and overall quality / price ratio is good . The location of the hotel is excellent , close to Universal Studios, practically next to Wet ' n Wild and near outlets and places to eat . The latter was the main reason we selected this hotel and were satisfied .
The hotel needs some updating but overall the cost we paid seemed quite acceptable for what we received .
The downside was that days before arrival we emailed asking if we could send a packet to the hotel to pick up during our stay, with no problem they said yes . The problem was that at check -out we get the unpleasant surprise of having a $50 dollar charge for having received and stored the package . I find it quite dishonest that they didn't informed in advance that the service had a cost, if we had known we would have not accepted as I think $50 USD is too expensive for a package the size of an envelope. I was very upset about this, so I don't think I will be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabyly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Gabyly4,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the you found our accommodations worth the money! However, I respond to the emails that come to us regarding packages. We do receive packages for our guests that shop prior to arrival but do have fees associated with the packages. The first package is free but for packages 2-9 a charge of $50 is applied to the account. We only do this because we literally receive hundreds of packages per week and have had to hire a person to handle the receiving, storage and disbursement of the packages. If you send me the e-mail that was sent to you, I will be happy to reimburse you for the charges as we should have told you about the charges regarding packages.

Again, I apologize for this inconvenience and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    1,017
    469
    133
    75
See reviews for
1,155
664
107
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a really nice stay!! Room was very clean and nice. Comfy beds and fluffy pillows. Staff was so nice. Great thing they have is in the lobby a place to check in for your flights and even print your boarding passes love that! The location here is awesome you are just steps away from Wet and Wild and all the craziness of I Drive but not right in the middle of it so hotel is a bit calmer and relaxing. Rooms are very quiet and the hotel was very full but didn't feel so crowded. Would for sure stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollygiesler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear hollygiesler,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are right, our location is "right where you want to be for all the fun things you want to do in Orlando". I will pass on your comments regarding our staff, cleanliness and the fact that you loved our pillows!

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My boyfriend and I wanted to find a reasonably priced hotel within walking distance of Universal Studios.. and we found it! This hotel had a great deal and I was worried we'd show up and find a dump. But that wasn't the case at all! It's a great spot, clean, quiet.. and the walk to the park was only about 15-20 minutes (you'll be walking all day anyway). I'm very pleased with the deal we got.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Kristen B,

Thank you for your business and for your kind review of our hotel. I am pleased that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to always provide clean, comfortable, safe accommodations at reasonable prices and we clearly met that goal during your recent stay.

We hoe to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The staff were helpful beyond measure. They helped with information about the theme parks, directions, late check out and even the printer on the computer. They responded quickly and professionally. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear 582vickit,

I want to thank you for your business and appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel after your recent visit. I am so proud of our staff and appreciate that you took the time to recognize them for their service to you.

I hope to see you again in the near future! Once again, thanks for traveling and we do appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

While this hotel is not located directly on I-Drive, it's a short 5 minute walk up to the northern end of I-Drive and a very short drive to Universal Studios. Overall the hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, there is a pool/cafe/restaurant, all on-site (we didn't utilize any of these since our trip was short), but we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Emily V.,

Thank you for your review of our hotel, I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danville vermont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

very clean very helpful staff nice short 1 mile walk or less to universal or bus shuttle had dinner at hotel very good would stay again !! pool looked great nice and clean many shops and resterants in walking distance water park right across road if you have kids young or old come enjoy sunshine book online and save money. if you order tickets to universal online be sure to buy the right ones i bought universal hollywood by mistake but they took care of me just fine its a great stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Raymond,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a nice vacation. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great location for Universal Studios and friendly staff. Wi-Fi was unreliable. Shuttle bus driver was great. Universal employees at kiosk were "salesmen".Disappointed that the only breakfast available was $7.95. Had problem with the curtains falling down and had to switch rooms around 11pm, without any employee assistance/

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Ron,

Thank you for staying with us during Spring Break. I do apologize that you were not helped in the evening with your room move, we have staff on during that time and if we had to move your room the offer should have been made for some assistance. I will talk with our evening staff and find out where we went wrong. Customer service is our strength and I do apologize that we did not provide the level of service that is typical during your stay.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Rosen Inn
#105 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
Comfort Inn International
#118 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosen Inn International
#119 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,272 reviews
Clarion Inn & Suites
#107 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Florida Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

Property: Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Address: 7299 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#122 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this stylish Orlando, Florida hotel situated close to SeaWorld(R), Universal Studios(R) and the Disney(R) Theme Parks. Welcome to the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, the "Gateway to Orlando Attractions" in Central Florida. This full-service hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be minutes from Universal Studios, the Islands of Adventure theme park and the Hard Rock Amphitheatre where visitors can enjoy local concerts. Each well-appointed guest room and suite at this Orlando hotel features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will find great dining onsite at the hotel's restaurant or cocktail lounge. The hotel is also ideal for group travel with full-business services and meeting facilities, perfect for conferences, family reunions and other events. The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel also features a fitness center, guest laundry and tennis and basketball courts. Guests staying at the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel will be less than ten miles from local attractions such as the Walt Disney World Resort and Theme Parks, SeaWorld, Discovery Cove and Disney's the Wide World of Sports. Corporate travelers staying at this Florida hotel will be close to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, Coleman Aerospace, L-3 Communications and Lockheed Martine Missiles and Fore Control. Hotel guests will also enjoy sky diving at the indoor Sky Venture, less than one mile away.The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Orlando. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel Florida
Clarion Orlando
Clarion Hotel Universal
Orlando Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing