We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Ranked #125 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

After having a nightmare with our first hotel we came to Best Western and the place was amazing. After hearing of our troubles at the previous hotel we were upgraded to a mini suite and the room was lovely. Big bed, pull out bed, big tv with loads of channels, mini kitchen area, fridge, shuttles to Universal studios this place had it all. Will definitely be back one day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhamlad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear bhamlad11,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that your stay with us was a step up from where you were previously located. I was glad to see that one of our associates took the initiative to upgrade you to our studio suite and that you enjoyed the amenities.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    1,017
    469
    133
    75
See reviews for
1,155
664
107
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

So this hotel is in a convenient area, but not necessarily in good area. You are just minutes walking distance from I-drive right next to wet and wild & 15min from Universal if you walk.. There is a "trolly" you can take for 5$per day all day or 2$ per time you get on which we did the 5$ took us lots of places on and off of I drive. I is a pretty nice hotel beds are nice room was clean. Bad things where that only 1 hot tub was HOT & the other was not HOT at all. The next morning we woke up and to find out out hotel was just robbed that morning by a guy with a knife and took lots of money, not sure if they ever found the guy. We went back down to the pool area and we wanted to sit in the hot tub come to find out the emergency stop buttons where pushed in and the red knobs gone making it hard to turn the hot tub on. I do not know if they where stolen or they take them off and push them in at night, and just forgot to put them back on.. which to me sounds odd...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda52612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Amanda52612,

I am glad that you enjoyed the rooms and that you found the hotel convenient to the attractions. It is true that there was an incident at the hotel early in the morning, however, all guests and associates were safe and nothing further occurred. In my 17 years at the hotel, this is the first time we have ever had an incident like this and I was pleased that our training kicked in and the situation was handled correctly by our associates. At no time were any guests involved in the incident. We're centrally located in the heart of the tourist district in Orlando's busy International Dr./ Universal Blvd. area and the safety and security of our guests is of the utmost importance.


Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Tracey Sartini and the rest of the staff were wonderful, courteous, and friendly. I even had conversations with the housekeepers who were so pleasant. Each problem with the rooms of our group was handled within the first day, which meant they listened and cared. So easy to get to the attractions from here too!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaxtomtom89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear jaxtomtom89,

Thank you for your comments regarding your groups recent stay with us. I was delighted to hear that Tracey met your expectations and was easy to deal with. She is an awesome associate and we are glad to have her.

We look forward to next years group being equally as successful!

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I haven't been back to Orlando in over 13 years so I was extremely anxious to take this vacation. My best friend and I picked this hotel because of the location to Universal Studios. Our experience was wonderful as the staff was prompt and attentive to us. Even though our flight came in late at night they answer all our questions will a cheery attitude. The shuttle to Universal was excellent and they gave us a clearly defined schedule.

Granted it is an older hotel so it has it maintenance issues. Truly given the location, convenience and how the staff were I would totally go back! I assume this hotel was very big with international groups as it did get a bit noisy in the halls. Overall the rooms were large, the cleaning staff were excellent and most of the rooms were quiet.

I wish it hadn't rained the whole weekend we were there so we could enjoy the nice pool! I would definitely rebook here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALeigh2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear ALeigh2512,

Welcome back to the Orlando area after so many years and thank you for staying with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your vacation, that our staff was friendly and helpful and that you would return to stay with us again.

We look forward to seeing you aging in the future!

Sincerely,


Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We returned to Orlando as a family of 4. We chose the Best Western because of the location for universal studios. On arrival it was very late due to plane delays, the lady on the desk was very efficient and gave us interconnecting rooms on the third floor. The rooms were very clean the beds we're comfy. Breakfast is a little expensive when there is 4 of you at 9.95dollars but it is all you can eat including eggs,bacon,sausage,cereal,waffles,pancakes,fruit etc. There is a free shuttle bus, but you do have to go early to book as it is first come first served. On our second day our sons woke up to find their carpet by the door was saturated, we went to reception to report it and they couldn't have been more helpful especially Diana, she got maintenance straight away and they discovered a burst pipe behind the shower, again no problem we were moved straight away to two new rooms. The pool area is clean and plenty of towels we only went in the morning as it got quite busy towards the end of the day. There is a supermarket about 10-15 mins walk to get essentials also a shop in the hotel that sells snacks and basic toiletries. Overall an excellent stay and we would definitely stay again if we go back to Orlando.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lodys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear lodys4,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to seeing you and your family again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oconomowoc, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel is not really new - maybe 20 years old? Everything was clean and well kept up. We enjoyed swimming in the pool and using the hot tub. One hot tub was not working. The pool could have used a vacuuming. The pool was big enough to swim laps - unusual for the hotels we have stayed in. The room was basic but comfortable. There was a little bit of noise from the hall, as the door had the customary 1/2 inch gap at the bottom. Unlike most BWs, the room did not include breakfast, so we did our own thing instead of paying $14 or so a pop. Parking was convenient. The staff at the desk were very friendly and helpful. Disney was a 10 minute drive away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Leif H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Leifh,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the pool area and found the rooms to be comfortable. As a full service hotel with rooms service and multiple eating facilities on property, we do charge for breakfast. However, the price is $9.95 per person with kids 10 and under eating free with each paying adult. The breakfast includes breads, pastries, pancakes, waffles, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, oatmeal, biscuits and gravy and several cereal choices. Coffee and juices are included in the price, which is not what you experience at local restaurants.

Thank you again for reviewing our hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

this was our last night in Florida and the Best Western made it very restful and relaxing. We had a lovely swim in the pool, and a great breakfast in the morning to get us off to a great start to a long day of travel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 452dawnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear 452dawnb.,

I am glad that you enjoyed your one night stay with us before departing the Orlando area. Relaxing in the pool and then starting the day off with a great breakfast sounds like the perfect way to end your vacation to me!

We look forward to seeing you again it eh near future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Rosen Inn
#106 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
Comfort Inn International
#119 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosen Inn International
#122 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,273 reviews
Clarion Inn & Suites
#111 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Florida Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

Property: Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Address: 7299 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#122 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this stylish Orlando, Florida hotel situated close to SeaWorld(R), Universal Studios(R) and the Disney(R) Theme Parks. Welcome to the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, the "Gateway to Orlando Attractions" in Central Florida. This full-service hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be minutes from Universal Studios, the Islands of Adventure theme park and the Hard Rock Amphitheatre where visitors can enjoy local concerts. Each well-appointed guest room and suite at this Orlando hotel features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will find great dining onsite at the hotel's restaurant or cocktail lounge. The hotel is also ideal for group travel with full-business services and meeting facilities, perfect for conferences, family reunions and other events. The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel also features a fitness center, guest laundry and tennis and basketball courts. Guests staying at the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel will be less than ten miles from local attractions such as the Walt Disney World Resort and Theme Parks, SeaWorld, Discovery Cove and Disney's the Wide World of Sports. Corporate travelers staying at this Florida hotel will be close to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, Coleman Aerospace, L-3 Communications and Lockheed Martine Missiles and Fore Control. Hotel guests will also enjoy sky diving at the indoor Sky Venture, less than one mile away.The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Orlando. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel Florida
Clarion Orlando
Clarion Hotel Universal
Orlando Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing