We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet friendly??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Ranked #118 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pet friendly??”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our second time at this hotel. Love the location and staff is friendly. We brought our small shin poo this time. It is pet friendly but you can only leave pet in room for one hour per day by itself. We found it difficult to go out for a sit down dinner so we had take out the whole week. It should be a couple of hours. We like the hotel but don't bother bringing your pet!!

Room Tip: Bottom floor has rooms with direct access to pool area. Typically handicap rooms but great for famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chewie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Chewie,

Thank you for you review, we are delighted that you returned to stay with us during you last trip to Orlando. However, we do not have a requirement that you only leave your dog alone in the room for one hour. I know that if your dog is barking or scratching at the door, we will call the owner to come "rescue" them but don't have a standing requirement for you to be with your pets all of the time.

We love our 4 legged guests and their owners too! I do hope to see you again when you return to Orlando.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    1,045
    479
    137
    77
See reviews for
1,190
692
110
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in June with our two children aged 7 and 3. Nice room, comfortable with good facilities. We didn't use the pool but it looked fine. We made the mistake of eating in the hotel restaurant one of the nights (kids exhausted after a day at Universal so couldn't face taking them out). Poor menu & everything was covered in salt. We would stay at the hotel again but would never eat there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sally2464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Sally,

I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us and am delighted that you enjoyed our rooms and would return tot he hotel. I will certainly pass on your comments to our F&B Director so that he can address them with his staff. I apologize that you did not enjoy the dining portion of your stay with us.

I hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We booked this hotel online back in June after looking for a location to stay while taking a vacation to Orlando to Universal studios, Islands of Adventure and Legoland Florida. The stay was great. We were always greeted with friendly hotel staff who were always helpful in making things good for our visit. We stayed on the 7th floor. Everything worked great and the beds were extremely comfortable. The only issue that we experienced during our week stay was the Air Conditioner in our room made the floor a bit wet, but on our checkout the front desk adjusted our bill because of the AC making the floor wet. The AC still kept the room cool.

I read other reviews about people saying "Don't waste your time" with the free shuttle to Universal- but I will say that it worked great and runs on the specified times like clockwork. If you are going on vacation to Universal- TAKE THE FREE SHUTTLE. It is complements of the hotel and runs several times a day both in the morning and the evening. All you need to do is go to the Ticket booth in the Hotel lobby. The best time to get your free passes is in in the morning around 7:30 AM-7:45 AM; as it can be busy with groups getting ready to board the bus to go the parks. You will just need to let the attendant know how many are in your group and then make sure you are in the hotel lobby at least 10 minutes prior to the schedule bus arrival. Then the bus will take you and your party to Universal for the day. You have now saved a parking fee and not having to drive your own vehicle to Universal. When you leave in the afternoon or the late evening, the last bus run back to the hotel is 8:00 PM. Even though the parks are normally open until 10PM- if you go to the parks early when they open between 8-9AM; by 6PM you will be ready to back to the hotel.

Overall- if you are looking for a decent hotel with a pool, jacuzzis, laundry facilities, a deli, restaurant, microwaves in the rooms and micro fridges, and a great staff; the Best Western Orlando Gateway is a great hotel. I would recommend this to a family if someone asked for a recommendation.

While we were there- the staff even enrolled me into the Best Western Rewards program too, at no cost to me.

A great value for a family vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2ndsout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear 2ndsout,

Thank you for the great review. I certainly appreciate the detail you shared regarding your stay and hope other will appreciate the comments you made and the tips you shared for the Universal Shuttle. Excellent points and defiantly worth taking to avoid the costs of parking at the attractions.

Again, thank you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Everyone was so friendly and very helpful. At check-in Tonya answered all questions we had. Throughout our stay as we encountered any staff, they greeted us and asked how we were doing and wished us a good day. It was like staying with friends or family. The room was really clean and very well decorated. The internet worked great and fast. We ate at the hotel restaurant and the food was delicious. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sarah L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for the terrific comments you had regarding our staff. I was pleased to read that you felt like you were a member of our family. That's exactly the atmosphere that we work to achieve at the hotel for all of our guests and associates.

I will pass your comments on and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I think people hold hotels to impossible standards. I have a few criteria for hotels:

1) Is it safe and secure?
2) Is it clean and comfortable?
3) Are the amenities in working order?
4) Is it in a good location?
5) Is the staff friendly and helpful?

For the Best Western Gateway, the answers to all of those are yes.

My only nitpick is that the air conditioning didn't really circulate the air in my room too well. However, that's just because I like to feel the air blowing on me. The other thing is not Best Western's fault at all. It's these stupid parents that let their kids go nuts out by the pool. There's playing and relaxing and then there's that. Oh well.

In all honesty, when I saw Best Western come up as my hotel on Priceline, I was really disappointed. However, this hotel surpassed all my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsme32221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear itsme,

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to see that we met and exceeded your expectations. Our goal is to provide each guest with a clean, comfortable, safe and affordable accommodations while providing superior customer service. Your touch points are our exact mission statement.

We certainly hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida,Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Booked our one day stay at Hotels.com. Made a mistake on the date and in minutes I contacted Hotels.com. They put me on hold for a few minutes and came back to tell me that they could not make any changes and that I would have to pay for the reservation. I immediately contacted Best Western Gateway and spoke to a very nice young lady (Diana). Told her my predicament, and she was able to cancel the reservation. I then went to Priceline and booked with them for an even cheaper rate. I am glad I did not give up because upon arriving at Best Western Gateway I was greeted with a smile and our stay was very enjoyable. Everyone was very helpful and the room was very nice. Would stay there again. Oh, I met Diana!

Room Tip: Stayed on the 8th floor to make sure no one would be on top. Have had bad experiences at other hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuluFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Lulu,

Thank you for your review. We understand that things happen and I am glad that Diana was able to take care of your reservation and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly hope you will come back and see us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here because it was in walking distance of Universal parks. Only slept here 4 nights and swam in the pool once - which was NICE! The staff was great too. It's everything you would expect from a stay at a Best Western. Not too expensive or fancy so the complaints about it being "dirty" or outdated are a little over the top. If you want a first class stay - get a 5 star hotel. No problems with this hotel in my mind and I've stayed at many. The kids were even happy with it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bobbie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill J, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Bobby Y,

Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay with us. I appreciate your comments and was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and hat you found everything to be clean and comfortable. I was especially glad to see that the kids liked it!

Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon!


Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Rosen Inn
#106 of 336 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,900 reviews
Comfort Inn International
#123 of 336 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#115 of 336 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Florida Center
La Quinta Inn Orlando International Drive North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

Property: Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Address: 7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#122 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this stylish Orlando, Florida hotel situated close to SeaWorld(R), Universal Studios(R) and the Disney(R) Theme Parks. Welcome to the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, the "Gateway to Orlando Attractions" in Central Florida. This full-service hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be minutes from Universal Studios, the Islands of Adventure theme park and the Hard Rock Amphitheatre where visitors can enjoy local concerts. Each well-appointed guest room and suite at this Orlando hotel features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will find great dining onsite at the hotel's restaurant or cocktail lounge. The hotel is also ideal for group travel with full-business services and meeting facilities, perfect for conferences, family reunions and other events. The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel also features a fitness center, guest laundry and tennis and basketball courts. Guests staying at the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel will be less than ten miles from local attractions such as the Walt Disney World Resort and Theme Parks, SeaWorld, Discovery Cove and Disney's the Wide World of Sports. Corporate travelers staying at this Florida hotel will be close to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, Coleman Aerospace, L-3 Communications and Lockheed Martine Missiles and Fore Control. Hotel guests will also enjoy sky diving at the indoor Sky Venture, less than one mile away.The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Orlando. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel Florida
Clarion Orlando
Clarion Hotel Universal
Orlando Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing