We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked through Expedia - what a mistake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramada Orlando Downtown
Ranked #311 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Booked through Expedia - what a mistake”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Check in - poor single lady struggled to cope with the volume of arrivals and people complaining/exchanging their rooms. The first room we got was a pit and had no lock on the open patio door. Switches for lights missing and the walk in shower was more like the inside of an old paint tin - flaky to say the least. Second room was just about habitable. Very noisey corrider outside the room and the occupants in the next room sounded like gangsters with all the banging and shouting that was going on at 1AM. Whatever you have paid to stay here it was too much. Avoid until the owners completely refurbish oir demolish the building - a disgrace to the Ramada name and Expedia for selling their rooms.

Room Tip: Room tip stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TIGH-NA-SITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CummingsJohn, Director of Sales at Ramada Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your comments and feedback regarding your stay with us. I a sorry to hear that you had so many issues during your stay. I would like to ensure that each and every issue has been noted and addressed with the respective department to ensure that no future guest has to encounter them. never the less I am truly sorry that your stay was not a success and ensure that we have made every effort to fix the issues during your stay that your reported. Please feel free to contact me directly to so we can work together to make things right.

Best Regards,

John Cummings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    92
    146
    148
    338
See reviews for
270
147
62
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have stayed in some seedy hotels before but this was the worst. 8 hour drive and was happy to find a hotel at a decent price. The entrance looks beautiful especially near the front desk. The room on the other hand, stained everywhere, chipped walls, sour smelling and just plain gross looking. I should have left then but I was exhausted. I woke up this morning with a huge cockroach on my arm. I screamed, flung it across the room, and my teenage son had to wake up and kill it for me. SO FREAKING DISGUSTING!!!!! Immediately packed up, went to the front desk to complain, and she just looked at me with a very dismissive "apologize that happened" and WENT BACK TO LOOKING AT HER COMPUTER! I found a motel 6 on international drive whose rooms are so much cleaner! Cheaper in price and still close to everything.

Room Tip: Go anywhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CummingsJohn, Director of Sales at Ramada Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your comments and feedback regarding your stay with us. I a sorry to hear that you had so many issues during your stay. I would like to ensure that each and every issue has been noted and addressed with the respective department to ensure that no future guest has to encounter them. never the less I am truly sorry that your stay was not a success and ensure that we have made every effort to fix the issues during your stay that your reported. Please feel free to contact me directly to so we can work together to make things right.

Best Regards,

John Cummings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Orlando hotels

Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This Ramada Hotel had to be the worse Ramada I have ever stayed in. Do not let the pictures for you, it is a bait and switch. My first room was dirty with hair all over the place, peeling ceiling, dirty bed and broken door locks. Carpet is filthy. GET IT TOGETHER.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CummingsJohn, Director of Sales at Ramada Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your comments and feedback regarding your stay with us. I a sorry to hear that you had so many issues during your stay. I would like to ensure that each and every issue has been noted and addressed with the respective department to ensure that no future guest has to encounter them. never the less I am truly sorry that your stay was not a success and ensure that we have made every effort to fix the issues during your stay that your reported. Please feel free to contact me directly to so we can work together to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I actually stayed with family to avoid driving home late at night, in just a matter of hours my torso and arms had been bitten up by bed bugs. My family member woke up with pink eye, I'm sure due to the filth in the pillows or towels. We also found an empty condom wrapper besise the bed. I have never in my life experienced something like this and I am extremely appalled with the filth and pest in that hotel room. Ramada, at least attempt to take interest of the health and safety of your customers, please and thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msbrown_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

my faimily and i stayed at this hotel this past weekend.the enterance had garbage built up
and stayed there 4 three days.the room had roaches all over it was gross there was nobody there that could handle are complaint had to buy my own roach spray.i mean what would they do anyway move us to another room WITH ROACHES.the hallway`s were dirty,the pool was cold and dirty,hot tub NO HEAT.it really made for a very bad trip.THE BEST IS THE CUSTOMER SERVICE
THERE WAS NONE.IVE BE CALLING FOR THREE DAY`S NO CALL`S BACK MANY EMAIL`S .NO SURPRIZE.SO SEE PICS I HAVE 27 PICS ONLY PUT ON FEW TO GET MY POINT ACROSS.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darren3199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I want to start by saying that as an emassador's son I have been to the best hotels as well as the worse and have never experienced anything like this one. After a long day at Disney, we arrived at the hotel at 2am with a sleeping 5 year old and 2 one year olds. We had 3 rooms which 2 out of the 3 had roaches. The front desk offered to change the rooms and again the same in the others.

When I asked to get a refund because we could not stay, the front desk clerk assured I would not get a refund. I called hotelsbyme and due to the seriousness of the problem, they were able to make an exception and give me a refund against the clerks will.

The front desk had the nerve to call the police stating that I was threatening him. The only thing threatening to him was that I took a video of the roaches, the lobby, the clerk and my family leaving at 3am which I will send to the health department and the local news channel.

When I saw the police drive up I stayed to give a statement. At this point the clerk stood behind te police officer insulting and yelling at me in both English and Spanish.

I was at this establishment 03/24 from aprox 2am until a little after 3am.

AVOID THIS HOTEL NO MATTER THE PRICE

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itabella75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I came for an event at the convention. The hotel was convenient because it was by I-4. The hotel is average. But all things considering it was worth it. The front desk staff, especially Camlan, was amazing. She was extremely helpful. I appreciate her help.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leacroftvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
5.6 mi away
Ramada Orlando Near Convention Center
4.3 mi away
Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel
2.9 mi away
Knights Inn Orlando
Knights Inn Orlando
#239 of 338 in Orlando
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orlando South
4.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Resort and Suites Orlando International Drive
6.6 mi away
Days Inn Orlando Convention Center/International Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Orlando Downtown

Property: Ramada Orlando Downtown
Address: 3155 S John Young Pkwy, Orlando, FL 32805-6642 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Orlando Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Orlando Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Downtown Orlando is centrally located between the downtown Orlando financial district, the Orlando Citrus Bowl and Universal Studios Orlando. The hotel is at the intersection of I-4 and John Young Parkway in Orlando, FL providing quick access to all areas of Orlando, FL. Ramada features Standard Double Bed rooms, Deluxe King Bed rooms. The property is under new ownership and is preparing to undergo a full renovation. AT this time the bar and full service restaurant is closed, but we still serve a hot breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Orlando Resort East Universal Studios
Ramada Universal Studios
Ramada Plaza Resort Universal Studios
Ramada Orlando Downtown Florida
Orlando Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing