We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Convention Center
Ranked #248 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

If I wanted 5 star food and accommodation I would have booked it. Hawthorn suites was very adequate for what we needed it for! The rooms were very spacious and kept at a high standard of cleanliness by housekeeping. The facilities in the room were standard but good! Breakfast was not always appealing however, it's free! The location for sea world is amazing! Less than a 5 minute walk (if you use the rd by the side of double tree that is)! I would definitely stop in this hotel again! Basic but worth it!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morrisgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    337
    277
    188
    138
See reviews for
584
145
21
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
preston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

After reading some not so good reviews on here I was a bit worried prior to staying at Hawthorne Suites, however these worries were soon forgotton when we arrived. The check in staff were friendly and the hotel room was very large. For two of us we had ample room to empty our suitcases into drawers and a wardrobe, and the fridge proved very useful for storing cold water, and although we didnt use the kitchen it was nice to know it was there if we did need this, the fridge and kitchen was something our friends staying in a much more expensive hotel didnt have! All the hotel staff were friendly and Fernando the taxi driver was always a friendly face! There was a computer with free internet in the hotel lobby and the hotel bar did good 2-4-1 deals in the early evening! Free breakfast was good, we didnt have breakfast there everyday but when we did it was nice and there was always something different. Yes it maybe needs a lick of paint, but it is clean and tidy and we would certainly stay there again if we come to Florida again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krissieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I stayed here for 2weeks with my disabled mum and staff were friendly and helpful,perfect little shop with basic items open 24 hours or order dinner and lunch from leaflets we got and enjoyed few times straight to your door.i enjoyed the pool very clean and easy to get to especially for mum and open til 10pm.hallway does look a bit out of date but the room is clean and great beds,dishwasher,kitchenette,especially mircowave.the only thing was the air con was loud and cold in living room so spent most time in bedroom.location was so perfect with the i ride trolley bus stop outside both sides and got 14 day pass on bus for 17.00 dollars,it was the best for anything you want to do.i never had free breakfast but it did smell lovely.i loved it so much i have alreadly booked for next year but for 21 nights so cant wait.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbwkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I had booked a two day visit to bring my family to go to animal kingdom for my grandsons 4th birthday. I have stayed at 5 or 6 other hawthorn suiets and loved them and trusted great quality. I booked a 2 bedroom suit there were 4 adults and 1 child. When we entered the room a strong smell of mold was present, the size of the suit was great it was 3 motel rooms big!! anyway we went to the store and bought air freshners and then it started to rain real bad and we noticed that around all the windows it was soaking wet with mold. I told the guy at the front desk and he said thank you for telling me (no doubt he already knew) We all woke up not feeling so good from breathing this all night, oh and forget about eating the breakfast 2 words NASTY, NASTY !!! the toast was ok lol very disappointed!!! and the weather was bad so we were stuck in the room all weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We have been there 4 times and always found the staff were very friendly and apartments clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast gave you a good start for the day although I wish they didnt always do scrammbled eggs. Would recommended it highly. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 53maggie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We had a vacation booked through AAA and got switched to this hotel for location to Seaworld. BIG mistake!! When we arrived, room not ready - we looked around the grounds at the small pool and even smaller hot tub. Both dirty and not very appealing. Grounds were not well kept up. When we checked in 1 hr later, we had to drive around back to dark/dank/dirty hallway to take what appeared to be a service elevator to our room. Employees on elevator were not curtious, almost ran us over, as if they were fleeing the hotel. We got to the room after walking down a very dark/dank hallway with fire code violations. There was a musty smell in the carpets, the bathtub faucet dripped. Kitchenette was a joke, 2 small burners, apt size fridge. The bedroom didnt have an air conditioner per say, if you call a hole in the wall cut out with a vent from the living room pumping in cold air with a flick of a switch. The screens on the windows were ripped, damaged. The beds were made with blankets that had holes in them. While we were in the room, a man came right in without knocking - and brought in a coffee table. We called down to the front desk requesting another room that was more updated and got sent to a room that was exactly the same. We asked the manager if he could transfer us to another Wyndham property and he said that they are independently owned, we would have to find somewhere else to stay. He then tried to give us Expedia phone number, even though we didnt book from them. We called our travel agent and within 1 hour - was out of this dump and into another hotel. Dont let the pictures on the website fool you - these must have been taken when they updated the hotel back in 1982. Not a place to stay with your family, maybe your mistress.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snyderfire61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The hotel delivered slightly under our expectations.
The location was great and without a doubt why the hotel has been able to stay alive. Across from the hotel is a side street that you can walk and you will come out directly in front of the Seaworld parking lot. We had a three park pass (Seaworld, Aquatica, Busch Gardens), so we chose this hotel for its location in order to avoid theme park parking fees (saved us $14 a day). The hotel also provides a shuttle to the parks, I believe it leaves at 9:30 am in the morning and comes back some time in the early evening, but these times do not always fit your schedule so we walked instead. For us, a family with two young, healthy adults, and a 2 year old in a stroller it was a 12 minute walk to the front entrance of Seaworld. Not bad. At the Seaworld shuttle stop you can also get a shuttle to Aquatica and bus transportation though Mears to Busch Gardens.
Now back to the hotel. The lobby is in good shape, the pool is nice, but has way too much chlorine in it, if you have sensitive skin, it is hard to stay in there for very long. The outside play structure is old and dirty and a bit unsafe. Plus it is standing on small pebble like rocks, that really hurt to walk on (in flip flops), I haven't seen one kid playing in there for more than 1-2 minutes, including ours. It needs updating. The parking lot is as many have mentioned large and always parking available, free on top, so that was nice. There is a Publix (outrageous prices!) one exit up towards the airport that has good quality and variety of foods. We were staying for 5 days and planned on cooking meals in the hotel. Spent $70 on what should usually cost us $50 in groceries, but that could be just FL prices, we are from WI.
Check-in and check-out was no problem. The issue really is with the rooms and the breakfast. The rooms are basic, actually below basic. The furniture is basic, and the cleanliness is below expectations. The kitchen is a joke. No oven, two burners that my husband had to fix to make them work. We only has one small pot for cooking (no pans), and I had to call down 4 times to get a larger delivered, which turned out to be a medium size, better, but not much. Had to use both to cook meals, as one wouldn't fit. It also took us multiple phone calls to get the crib delivered and it was a small and not very sturdy one at that. Our daughter had to sleep on the pull out couch as the crib was too small. The pull out couch smells something horrible and for heavier (adults) it would not make for a good night sleep, the mattress is so thin you can feel the bars underneath, but it is a pull out couch. The sheets were very basic, the pillows were super thin. The blinds had tears. The bathroom is so small you can hardly have enough room to bath your child in there. The bathtub faucet leaked all night every night, not much, but it leaked. The door to the bathroom is all rotted out underneath. The kitchen amenities as mentioned are lacking. The fridge is small (under the sink), and the dishwasher is likely 20 years old, not joke. Very few utensils, especially for cooking. Dishwasher soap not provided unless you ask housekeeping. The AC setting do not work, it's either on or off, or you can try to run the fan. yes, it is quite load, which worked well for white noise for our daughter. The carpets are in bad shape with many stains and musty. In short, these rooms need a lot of TLC and more amenities to be true suites. The TV in the "living room" is updated to a flat screen, but the one in the bedroom is still old and small. Also, in case anyone is interested, there is not a true door between the living and bedroom, instead it's a screen that will close but still let some light and all the noise through. They may have some other configurations, but that was how our room was set up.
The breakfast, well hate to complain since its free, but the issue is variety. You will always have scrambled eggs from the bag. You will have either pancakes or waffles, but they are the frozen kind that they warm up and they are hard and even our little one that likes anything sweet didn't want to eat this because it was hard. Sometimes they have yogurt. The meat will either be sausage patties or smoked sausage, both very processed, the cheap kind that inject salt solutions, I work in the food industry, I know. Some fruit, but just not much variety. Then there is toast and cereals. Coffee and juices (from syrup). One day we had bagels. one day we had diced ham, and one day we had fresh toast sticks. I would say the breakfast would be great, if the food was just a bit less processed and some more healthier options. Also, they charge $50fine for taking food to your room (and they watch you!), I understand their concern, but we have a little one and she doesn't eat much at a time, and taking some cheerios back to our room to snack on 15 min after breakfast would have been nice. Overall we were on a budget vacation and understood not to expect much with what we were willing to pay. The location cannot be beat. However, the amenities are really lacking, especially considering the Hawthorn brand and what they show on their website. A suite with "full kitchens" should have more utensils, more updated and bigger appliances, and be in working condition. The rooms should be clean enough to be safe and comfortable at least. We were disappointed with those aspects.

Room Tip: All rooms seem very basic overlooking the pool is a bit of a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Senegalbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orlando - Convention Ctr - 6443 Westwood
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orlando - Convention Center - Sports Complex
0.1 mi away
Best Western Orlando Convention Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Orlando International Drive
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites At International Drive
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Orlando Convention Center/International Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Convention Center

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Convention Center
Address: 6435 Westwood Blvd, Orlando, FL 32821
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Orlando, Westwood Blvd Hotel Orlando
Hawthorn Suites Orlando
Orlando Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Orlando Convention Center Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing