We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a value hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Convention Center
Ranked #254 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Essex, England
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for a value hotel.”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed here August this year, and for what we payed we was very impressed, The rooms are very big, The kitchen was very disapointing, Couldn't cook there. The double beds were very comfy The bathroom was a good size, With two sinks, The TV in the room comes with all the Disney channels Etc,The coutch is a good size, But no very comfy. Reception is open planned and joins onto the breakfest area, The food in the hotel was very basic, The cleaners and staff was very friendly But most of all the Hotel taxi driver Fernando, Was extremly good and reliable and Got the best fairs around, His always in the reception waiting area waiting for fares so very handy, The Tiki bar Sells Achool and Bugers and crisps, The pool is very good, and a lovely hot tub The washing room was very poor, such as the gaming room, This hotel is very good for a base, Will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryPage08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    342
    281
    194
    143
See reviews for
597
148
21
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two weeks in July and found it to be a good standard of accomodation set in an ideal position near to Seaworld. Of course being in a good location is a matter of personal opinion however if you don't hire a car and want to use the local bus service (Lynx and ITrolley service) and are looking to visit Universal, Disney, Seaworld and take in some of what iDrive has to offer then consider the location of this hotel. The Lynx 111 (for Disney) and iTrolley (Univeral, iDrive and Seaworld) services pass by the front door taking you to most (if not all) of the theme parks. It's hard to say the Hawthorn is a 'budget' hotel when you consider how much a trip to Florida costs overall however it probably would fit into the 'budget' category considering some of the other hotels around the Orlando area. However if you are looking for a no frills comfortable accomodation then consider this an option. Our room was cleaned daily with fresh towels each day. Whilst small the Kitchenette area was fine for ordering in food from the local takeaways and probably making up sandwiches etc it may be a slightly too small for preparing a sizeable meal without running out of space. The bathroom areas were functional however wouldn't suit someone with a fondness for more opulent surroundings. However as we were a family of four looking for functionality and convenience it was fine for us.

The complimentary breakfast was reasonable. It would have been nice to have bagels as well as bread to toast with a slightly wider selection of spreads (jams etc) however the small selection of fresh fruit (Florida Oranges were literally mouth watering) kept it on the good side of reasonable. However eating and drinking from a paper plates and cups was little disappointing and made the breakfast a little tacky that could be easily avoided.

Never really tried the pool and bar areas as we were too busy battling theme park crowds however whilst never overcrowded the pool area was usually well populated on passing and often used until as late as 10pm. Overall the staff at reception area were always helpful and offered a pleasant smile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator area to reduce noice level a little.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank flintstone77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We Have just returned from 2 weeks at the Hawthorn on Westwood Boulevard 17th to 31st July and we had read all the reveiws on here and yes!!!!! we were worried but.... No Need...yes parts of the hotel were a little dated and we only had breakfast for 2 mornings!!!!! but it was great for cereal, toast, tea and coffee...

We had room 415 on the 4th floor it was cleaned every day, always had plenty of clean towels and we often forgot to put on the a/c before going out for the day...when we returned it was on for us....ALL the staff were great and they were always on hand for help from reception to maintainance (who delivered a kettle to me within 5 mins of asking as i dont drink coffee to the ultra polite housekeeping staff.... NOTHING was ever touched in our room and i mean that because we took a laptop, ipad, 3 iphones, Video Camera, digital camera etc and if we forgt to put it in the safe it was there where we left it!!!!! now in my opinion to feel safe in a country you have never been to was key and they never let me down....

The laundry room was fantanstic and when we return we will only need 1 case and 3/4 of stuff we took we did not wear as i could wash our fav clothes $2 a load....

As for the reveiws of it being dated!!!!! yes a tiny bit but they are working on it and the bits they done whie we were there looked great.... LIZZARDS....none in the room ever.... lots outside but we used to lizzard spot.... lay on your sunbed at 10pm and watch the flying squirrels amazing sight....Pool area clean and tidy and when i went down a 6am for a ciggy they were always cleaning the walkways with cleaning stuff and every single morning watched them testing the pool....My son loved the pool it was never crowded and we always got a towel... pool bar was just the ticket and great for a poolside drink at 10pm in the lovely warm evenings...THAT HOT TUB!!!!! WOW HOT AND RELAXING!!!!

Bus Stop just outside for the i ride trolley or the Linx111 could take a little time but hey no problem..... village inn and Delmonicos just a quick walk and 10 min walk to wallgreens and Mc Donalds...

And last but by no means least!!!!!! FERNANDO The Taxi driver he was just the best he was on time, polite and a great price...Use Him and you will see what i mean...

Anyway i hope ive helped by writing this...we will be returning to the Hawthorn Suites we had a great time....

Room Tip: Higher Floors are alot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kazza2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROBESONIA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

On the whole, the suite was alright. The couch was very uncomfortable and there were no comfortable chairs to sit on . The bathrooms definitely need updating. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast items should have been hotter. Waffles and pancakes were hard. Being within walking distance of Sea World was a plus and the shuttle service worked out well.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
2 Thank THOMAS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Don't be worried by some of the negative comments on here i have never heard such a load of nonsense. Sure, its not the Ritz, (none of the hotels on I drive are) but this hotel really is fine.

Rooms - spacious, with kitchen area, dining area, and sofa / lcd tv etc. Air con unit, The free wifi was really good in our room but guess signal strength depends where about you are located in the hotel. seperate spacious bedroom with 2 double beds, very large wardrobes and TV. bathroom small but adequate . large mirror, wash basin and vanity area outside bathroom

Pool - very clean and towels available, nice and relaxing , never overcrowded. nice pool bar with daily happy hour

Free Breakfast - good selection of branded cereals, kellogs cornflakes etc, coffee, tea, toaster, pancakes/waffles, eggs, really nice sausages - enjoyable and not worth going elsewhere to pay for a breakfast.

Lets just clear one thing up - I have just got back from 2 weeks and never once saw a lizard inside the hotel. Like everywhere in florida, there are some small lizards in bushes etc but they are harmless and dont bother you (why would they ??) they actually do a good job getting rid of any small insects !

We had a car so never used it but there is a complimentary shuttle bus to the parks - there is also trolley stop right opposite the hotel so really easy to get anywhere on i drive. Really easy to get on and off the I4 freeway without getting snarled up in traffic on international drive.

small shop, free ice machine, wash room. fitness room

really enjoyed and would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rogers_merseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed in Hawthorn Suits for five nights in July 2012 during our stay in Orlando. We did not book the hotel ourselves. Our family in the USA did and paid for our room as well.

The hotel is very basic by any standard. We enquired about the usual rate for rooms and in our view it is quite expensive for what you get. Our intention during the stay was to visit the Disney Parks and the Universal Studios therefore we were only in the hotel for the night.

Room we got was in the second floor. It was sufficient for a family of four with a separate sitting area, tiny kitchenette, bathroom and a bedroom with two double beds. The vanity was outside the bath room/toilet which to a degree prevented one person from blocking all others up in the morning.

Room and the entire hotel was very dated and badly need refurbishment. Carpets were old and furniture tired. Beds were small but all right and not something to write home about. The noisy air conditioner was in the sitting room and there was a small hole with a fan to blow air in to the bedroom! This arrangement simply did not work, especially given that it was summer. Bed room would soon be quite hot with four people and the temperature setting had to be brought all the way down to get some comfort in the bedroom.

Kitchenette was basic and we would not recommend using it for any form of decent cooking. Dish washer was very small and in our room its door scraped the wall.

On a positive note, the rooms were serviced daily. There was also a shuttle to Epcot Centre every morning that was free for those wishing to visit the Disney Parks. Three return shuttles would leave Epcot Centre at different intervals in the evening for the return journey.

Breakfast was a bit of a joke. It was the same basics things everyday. Toast (one toaster was broken very day we were there and continue to produce charcoal), scrambled eggs and breakfast sausage was there every day. We decided to have breakfast outside in the last few days.

There are some shops and several eateries walking distance from the hotel. The red i-Ride Trolley stop is right outside the hotel and is a convenient way to travel down town along International Drive. There is also a service station around the corner.

Disney is not too close from here. So expect a decent drive. Shuttle takes 30 to 45min to do one way trip. There is a tour counter where tickets to the parks may be bought. Hotel also has decent amount of parking. Universal is closer. But the shuttle for Universal leaves rather late in the morning and therefore it is recommended to take a Taxi.

We did not use other facilities in the hotel such as the pool, bar, laundry etc.

Overall, if your plan is to use the hotel for the night only, then it may be worthwhile as long as the rooms can be had for a very good rate. Otherwise, there may be better options elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OZ-Travelling-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We found this Hotel in the tripadvisor that took us to booking.com. Was the first time we did that. The Hotel is okay, we were in 4 people and the room was changed because of the size of the first choice we made. They immediately gave us a new room, bigger that was okay for us.
We faced problem with the sanitario and take longer time than I expected to fix it.
The breakfast we do not recommend.
Is close to Sea World and closer to Universal than Walt Disney World.
I could return to this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cubatao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orlando - Convention Center - Sports Complex
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orlando - Convention Ctr - 6443 Westwood
0.1 mi away
Best Western Orlando Convention Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Orlando International Drive
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites At International Drive
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Orlando Convention Center/International Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Convention Center

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Convention Center
Address: 6435 Westwood Blvd, Orlando, FL 32821
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Orlando, Westwood Blvd Hotel Orlando
Hawthorn Suites Orlando
Orlando Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Orlando Convention Center Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing