We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown
Ranked #89 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Overall, it was a nice hotel. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Did not like that the balconies were not accessable, and the parking was 10 dollars a night, but the room was pleasant, it was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelloFromOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown as your choice of lodging while in the Orlando area. We are very glad you enjoyed our new pool and hot tub just added to our list of many amenities for our guests. And we hope that you'll remember us next time you're in the Orlando area for your lodging needs.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Director Of Guest Serivce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel this past week. Excellent staff - professional, friendly, and helpful. Had one of the Executive King Rooms. Nice size room which included wet bar, microwave and refrigerator. Nice size TV but not in HD. High traffic areas of the room were clean but minor debris next to wall and nightstand. Entry going into bathroom was a little tight but overall no issues. Great location to Amway Center and they even have a shuttle until 11 pm. This is a nice bonus since the area especially east of the hotel is a little questionable but again this is a downtown area. Hotel is one block off off 1-4 which provides extremely easy access. I didn't notice the traffic noise and heard the Amtrak only once while trying to sleep. Parking is $13 a day for self park but is right next to the hotel and very convenient. If needed to stay overnight for an event at Amway Center, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Just a few adjustments (adding HD and a little detail on the cleaning) would secure that fifth star.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnroFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Downtown Orlando as your choice of lodging while in the Orlando area. We are very glad you enjoyed stay with us and that you had the opportunity to utilize our complimentary shuttle. Don't forget for next time that shuttle can also bring you anywhere within 3 miles of the hotel in downtown Orlando, that puts you within reach of over 100 restaurants, bars, nightclubs and shopping areas. We hope that you'll remember us next time you're in the Orlando area for your lodging needs.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Director Of Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Family stayed here for basketball game at Amway Center. Free shuttle to the game with very short wait. SUPER COMFORTABLE beds! Checked carefully and found no bed bugs. Friendly and accomodating staff. Pretty rooms with plantation shutters. They made the room dark, though and no way to open faux balcony doors. Small bathroom with NO towel racks - small detail, but problematic! Nice shower pressure and good drainage. Wet bar with mirowave, but no refrigerator. Nice clean pool with attractive side fountains and hot tub, but brightly lit with parking lot lights - no ambiance. Next to highway, but we were on top floor (14th) so couldn't hear traffic. Train station nearby - my wife was awakened early by a train, but no one else heard it. Nothing really within walking distance. Edge of sketchy neighborhood, but felt very safe at hotel. $13 self-parking overnight, but think you need $18 valet for in and out rights? Worthwhile value @ $52 on Priceline, but parking fee takes off a point here.

Room Tip: Choose top floor for less noise and nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRQAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Downtown Orlando as your choice of lodging while in the Orlando area. We are very glad you enjoyed our “SUPER COMFORTABLE” beds, we loving hearing about the delightful nights of sleep everyone has at our hotel. For next time please look into booking one of our King Executive rooms or our spacious Two Room King Suites if a refrigerator is an amenity you’re looking to have in the room. We also have refrigerators available on demand for any of our standard rooms as well. We always appreciate any feedback that we receive and it will be forwarded to the appropriate departments. We hope that you'll remember us next time you're in the Orlando area for your lodging needs.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Director Of Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Looks nice at first glance but for light sleepers I wouldn't recommend to stay here because the hotel is right next to the highway and that's all you can hear all night. Also I got awoken by Amtrak train 3 times. Luckely when i wake up i fall right back to sleep. But i personally don't like nor don't believe you should wear ear plugs to sleep well. Plus the food at the hotel restaurant was underwhelming, my short rib was flavorful but my fiancee's steak and chicken were overdone and dry. I ended up eating by myself since he had to wait for his food to be remade. Service was very stiff and unfriendly and only one ice maker in the whole hotel so if you are on top floor, good luck on your trip to the second floor. Rooms were nice, modern and clean which unfortunately doesn't make up for the rest. Not worth the money. Way too many nicer more affordable hotels in the area.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, bring ear plugs. That goes to any room because of the location literally next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjaKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

AjaKing,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

If you're planning to get some sleep don't stay here... It's next to a highway; my room had large wondows and the noise roared through

Room Tip: it appears that all the rooms are very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Dear Guest,

First I would like to thank you for staying with us at the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown and also let you know that we appreciate all feedback we receive from our valued guests.

We do understand that being so centrally located in downtown Orlando can prove to make from some noise concerns and we are always looking for ways to improve the stay of our guests. We currently are testing some new sound proofing methods in our guest room and we also always have complimentary ear plugs available.

If you would like to further discuss your stay please don’t hesitate to contact me. My direct number is 407-241-1244.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Director Of Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a visit to downtown Orlando for business. The room was comfortable, nicely decorated and clean. The $55 rate using Priceline's "name your own price" was a good value (see recent accepted bids at biddingtraveler.com), but $13/day for self-parking is expensive. You can park downtown for $5 overnight but the walk is almost a mile and there are tattoo parlors and homeless people on some streets nearby. The parking attendant uses scare tactics to convince guests not to park on the street ("your car may not be there tomorrow, or it may be there but your tires may be missing").

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAlvarezZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Mu husband and I checked into this hotel to attend a concert at the Amway Center. The staff was friendly upon check in. Hallways are a little dated, but the rooms were fabulous. The bed was incredible. I highly recommend this hotel and will definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlaRacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Aloft Orlando Downtown
#100 of 340 in Orlando
456 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown

Address: 304 W Colonial Dr, Orlando, FL 32801-1132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £111 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, the newest choice among downtown Orlando hotels. Located off I-4 in downtown Orlando, this address provides easy access to everything to see and do in Orlando. The urban, chic Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown is walking distance to downtown's impressive entertainment venues such as Amway Center home of Orlando Magic, the Dr. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, 6 miles from Universal Studios, Sea World Orlando and 15 miles from Walt Disney World Theme Parks. The Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown is 4 miles from Orlando Executive Airport (ORL), fabulous shopping, and a vast array of restaurants and nightclubs. We are only 13 miles from Orlando International Airport (MCO) and 10 miles to the Orange County Convention Center, Daytona 500 is only 48 miles away, and we are only blocks from Camping World Stadium home of the Russell Athletic Bowl, AutoNation Cure Bowl, and the Florida Classic. Known as The Place to Meet, the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown Hotel is a premier venue for meetings and groups, and is located close to industry leaders such as Sun Trust, Wells Fargo, HD Supply, Orange County Courthouse, FAMU Law School, and Orlando Regional Medical Center. We are proud to be a Green Lodging hotel and our dedicated team of professionals look forward to providing the ultimate in service. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing