We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly Room and Terrible Coffee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Orlando Airport West
Ranked #243 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Smelly Room and Terrible Coffee”
Reviewed 2 February 2009

They say you get what you pay for, and this place proves it's true. Our flight was postponed and we needed an extra night in Orlando, near the Airport. This place sounded just right, inexpensive and close by. But when we arrived, we realized we should have done some more research. This place looks like a sleazy motel from the sixties, given a new coat of paint. The smell of some kind of cleaning chemical in the room made for an uncomfortable night. Next morning, was another disappointment, because the coffee tasted like it was reheated from the day before. I'd recommend the newer LaQuinta right down the road. Wish we had known ahead of time that this place was the pits.

  • Liked — Inexpensive
  • Disliked — Neighborhood, the room and the poor coffee
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    221
    154
    100
    82
See reviews for
276
173
90
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2009

good shuttle service but only 1out of 4 courtesy phones working at the airport.Clean room and quiet.basic room stuff and no microwave.Breakfast very basicand maybe if you want more macas is close.OVERALL NOT TOO SHABBYFOR $70.You may do better if you look harder but this wiil do in a fix.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dingoboy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2009

I was there for a business meeting.
with La Quinta you will have some good places and some bad.

This one did not have a lot of things expected:

No exercise room
No complimentry Newspaper
Very limited breakfast (one bagel and perpackaged small muffins)
Charged for use of hotel internet
Rooms were more like a Motel 6

Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2008

We needed a hotel for one night prior to our Disney cruise, and picked the La Quinta from the Orlando Airport website list of nearby motels. Do not stay at this motel!

First, we waited for more than an hour for our free shuttle. The motel is not in a good area, and the room itself was moldy-smelling and damp; there was even a tortilla chip in one of the beds when we pulled back the covers! We made sure our kids kept their shoes on in the room, and none of us even tried the shower.

Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bollywood123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2008

Clean, large, aging room, but very convenient to the airport. Staff was good both at check-in and check-out. Breakfast was average.

  • Liked — Location near airport
  • Disliked — Aging room
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank trhales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

I had to stay here for business. The first room they tried to give smelled really bad. So I asked to switch rooms. Which they did. The 2nd room was better, but not great. The staff seemed nice. If given a choice, I would have stayed somewhere else.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MNKCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2008

We were going to arrive in Orlando very late on 3/27/2008 and planned on leaving right away the next morning, so I didn’t want to spend a lot of money on a hotel room. I received a AAA rate of $98/night at this property; with taxes the bill totaled $110.37. I should have gone with my gut feeling after reading the previous reviews, but the price won me over. Mistake!!

All rooms had outside entrances. When we opened the door to our room we were blasted with a very odd odor. I think it was a bad attempt at disguising cigarette smoke. The room had a tidy appearance, but that’s the only positive thing I can say. There were two double beds with what I believe were once white sheets that turned a dirty gray. The blanket was all pilled and just plain gross, and the back-side of the bedspread was stained. The tub had cigarette burns along the edge which reinforced my theory about the odd smell in the room.

The next morning we went down for the free breakfast which was served between 7:00am and 9:00am. There were just a few cereal choices, bananas, individually wrapped muffins and bagels, juice, milk and coffee. It was free, so I couldn’t complain.

All in all, this hotel was not up to the La Quinta standards (or they have lowered their standards since my last stay in one of their properties). I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and I will never stay here again. Pay the extra money and stay at a Hampton.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bedding
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orlando Airport North
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Orlando Airport
Quality Inn Orlando Airport
#288 of 338 in Orlando
363 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Airport
Sleep Inn & Suites Airport
#199 of 338 in Orlando
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Airport Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando Airport
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Orlando Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Orlando Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Orlando Airport West

Property: La Quinta Inn Orlando Airport West
Address: 7931 Daetwyler Dr, Orlando, FL 32812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Orlando Airport West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn Orlando Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Orlando Airport West Hotel Orlando
La Quinta Orlando
Orlando La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Orlando Airport West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing