We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IF you come across the Vacation Lodge, please don't stop...DODGE”
Review of Vacation Lodge

Vacation Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orlando
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vacation Lodge
Ranked #321 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 6 March 2011

I spent a whole month at this dump. It was roach and mouse infested. Do not believe the photos that they portray. I have witnessed male prostitutees and a whole lot of drug activity. I was petrified of this place but because i had already paid for the month, I had to put up with it. I had notified the health dept and they came out to investigate and they found (2) dead mice under my bed. the next day i was ordered to leave and was told to never come back again. When i went to the office to complain, the desk clerk handed me (2) mouse traps and handed them to me like he was handing me a cup of coffee. The staff members was cutting side deals for some of the drug dealing occupants,. I really and seriously recommend that this is not the place to stay. Honestly, I think it should be closed down permanently and/or involve the drug task force, but who can you trust these days. If you are visiting Florida and you need a hotel to stay at...if you happen to come upon the "Vacation Lodge", continue to drive and please 'DODGE". keep looking on the same strip, because their are so many other decent hotels further down the road. It is not fit for human occupancy. i never received my mail, that was very important to me. We were happy to leave, and would never look back.. enjoy your vacation to all the tourist who read the reviews and do not know any better, I am saving you, nothing is worst to be on vacation and your experience is interrupted with danger.
happy trails

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
14  Thank passion1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2010

I just Googled Vacation Lodge to get the address to use on a petition I am filing with the court here in Orange County, FL. Results came up including reviews from unhappy tourists on Trip Advisor. Since quite a few travellers seem inexperienced in hotel analysis when planning a trip, and choose a hotel based soley on price, Let me spell this out for you. Orange Blossom Trail (OBT) is the skid row of Orlando. When coming to Orlando as a tourist, you should not EVER consider staying at a hotel on OBT. The Vacation Lodge is a frequently ocurring address for crack, and prescription drug addicts and prostitutes. OBT is a high crime and prostitution area. Most of the hotels on OBT are the same story.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
49  Thank LilAlvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

I went down to OBT to train at a nearby airport. This place was mistakenly reccommended to me through a chain of people. When i got there the rooms could not have been more dirty. no remote for the broken TV, heavy rust on bathroom toilet and sink, and stains covering the wall that seemed to have come from a person..... I was approached by 6 prostitutes in the first 2 hours who live there! (and for you out there that think thats good...they charge 10 bucks they said...a dollar for every STD) The drug deals could not have been more obvious and the people could not conduct themselves any bit humane if their life counted on it. The only time i smiled on that stay was when i checked out still having my life. DO NOT WALK AROUND AT NIGHT unless you desire to be mugged. three cops surrounded me with their cars when i was walking just down the street and told me im guaranteed to get robbed and to get out of this godforsaken street...thats comforting. You will find a prostitute on every corner and see about 2 cop car chases a night assisted by police helicopters. the only buildings around this hotel are stripclubs, gas stations, liquor stores, and more strip clubs. This comes highly NOT recommended by me, but if u must go....never never let your guard down to no one.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank CSMELIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

i would not let my dogs stay in a so called hotel like this the pictures online dont show what a dump it is we booked with travelocity when i pulled in to the parking lot i new i was never staying i couldnt get a refund but i am still alive not sure why any web site would promote a hotel like this from the porn stores to the crack dealers walking the parking lot i hope the $45.00 the hotel got they use it to clean up the 700 block of orange blossom trail the lot maybe could be used as a park

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank baddabjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

i am afraid to say this, but i dont recommend this hotel to anyone.
we chose this hotel because its cheap, and it looked nice in pictures on website.
on the way to get there, we took a cab, and the driver told us to be careful around the area and not to walk around at night. i was curious at the time but i found what he was trying to say soon after i got there.
the hotel looked totally different from the pictures that i saw on the website.

even though i made a reservation through a site and i already paid a deposit, he told me there were no reservation on the day. and he offered us to stay there with cheaper price (it was actualy so cheap) and we decided to stay there.
he made a copy of my passport, and i tried to pay with my credit card.
but he told me there was no balance and i couldnt pay with my card.
i thought it was strange because i knew i could use my credit card
but my friend paid with her debit card instead.

room was so dark, and not clean.
we didnt want to go out to eat because we didnt want to walk around at night
so we bought some foods during a day and ate in the room.
while we were sleeping at night, my friend heard some noise but she didnt know what it was but next day, we found there were mouse in the room and the mouse ate our foods.

when we checked out, there was no one at front desk.
after i went back home, i realized they charged on my credit card even though we already paid with my friend's card.
i saw someone wrote that he/she got charged after paying in cash.
so i think they always do like this on purpose.
i called the hotel after i found it but he said he has no idea what i am talking about
and he was really mad.
i dont think i can get money back but i called my credit card company and asked them to figure out that i didnt use my card. if they can figure it out, i can get money back.

i dont want to write like this, but i dont want anyone feel bad like we did.
just do not stay there. thats what i can say.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank sugar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Good location near Church Stret Station & Cowboy Orlando, just off I-4.
Rooms facing I-4 can be noisy. My room had 5 lamps, only 2 worked. No TV remote, found mouse traps in the room. Coffe shop not open. Large place over 500 rooms. Safe & clean, don't expect the Ritz at those prices. Only a good value if you need to be in that part of town otherwise there are better places for the same price.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rpf5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2008

Wow... what can I say? I can't help but laugh when I think of this place. We were down there to see a bowl game and mapquest said this was the closed hotel/motel to the Citrus Bowl. It is located about 1/2 mile from the stadium - which was nice, but the area the stadium is in is kind of shaddy.

I had originally called to try and reserve a room (can't do it on the website) and was quoted $59/night for a room w/2 beds. He told me to fax over my drivers license as well as my credit card and he'd hold a room for me. It all seemed a little shaddy, so I said I wanted to think about it. I talked to my group and decided to stick w/it. I called the following a day and a different guy told me that they don't take reservations?? Uhh... not sure what that meant, but I told him I called yesterday and was told that I could. He says okay and I send him my info - very detailed info - I wanted to make sure they fully understood what I was looking for. I was still a little hesitant, but I knew we'd only be there 2 nights before upgrading to a condo by Disney.

The place was very easy to find - located right off the expressway, but like I said before, not a nice part of town. We pull up to check-in, and I go in. I say there will be 2 of us (we actually had 4, but I always just say 2). They say they need both of our drivers license so they can make copies of them, so I grab a friend and have her come in w/me. He gives us a room rate, and I look at my friend like "sweet, that's cheaper than what they quoted me on the phone!" - so I pull out my credit card, and the guy seemed all confused and said it'd cost more if I were paying w/credit card. This irritated me alittle, but I reluctantly paid in cash. They give us a room key and then get on the walky talky to the security guard "Two white girls checking in..." This made me laugh a little... that's some good security! hahah!

I try to tell the 2 in the back to duck down, but it was too late - the security guard questions who they are. I tell him they aren't staying, we're just dropping off our stuff and leaving. He lets them in. It was nice that the hotel did have a gated parking lot. We check out the room and it smells like someone had just put out a cig - we decide that since the room smells so bad we'll try and get another one...and since security was so tight, we also decided to add the other 2 guests. (I think it was $10 more per person/per night) One desk clerk spoke very little english and we had a difficult time communicating to him that we wanted a NON-smoking room. He kept telling us all of thier rooms were non-smoking. We asks why they put ash trays in them then? This went on for a few minutes before one of the other guys finally told us that all the rooms were smoking, not non-smoking. They still gave us a new room, and even went in and sprayed some air freshner in there for us.

The rooms were very small. We barely had enough room for all 4 of us to bring our bags in. The sink area, and the bathroom were quite dirty. Also no fan by the shower - it got VERY hot in there! We spent as little time there as possible. And on the morning we checked out, none of even wanted to step foot in the bathroom - decided to hold out for the condo we were headed too.

I found out a week later when we got back to MI, that not only did I pay in cash, but they also charged my credit card. I had a bad feeling about this, but getting this fixed was actually a lot easier than I had imagined.

Side note - we were tailgating in a lot just down the block from this hotel. And after the game we went back and pulled out the grill and had a few beers. The cops came around shortly and said "We're going home, and TRUST US, you don't want to be here once we're gone!" That should tell you enough about the area.

Overall - if you have no standards and just need a place to sleep, OR want to be really close to the Citrus Bowl - this is your place. I'm pretty sure next time we are down there though, we'll probably chose to stay in a different part of town!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bass1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Aloft Orlando Downtown
#102 of 340 in Orlando
456 reviews
Best Western Orlando West
#238 of 340 in Orlando
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Central Business District
Grand Bohemian Hotel Orlando, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacation Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Lodge

Address: 720 S Orange Blossom Trl, Orlando, FL 32805-3144
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Hotel Class:2 star — Vacation Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 326
Also Known As:
Vacation Hotel Orlando
Vacation Lodge Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing