We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not what it was supposed to be” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plantation Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ormond Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plantation Island
lindsay
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“not what it was supposed to be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

I booked this thru my castaways vacation club and paid $299 for this condo on the beach on a1a
the bed room was VERY small with mirrors on most walls I kept running into them
the doorway to get into this unit was unsafe it had many cracks in the door and the door had been broken into many times was my guess as it is right on a1a
the hallway is the kitchen and it did not have enough room if you are a heavy person
the front room did look out onto the beach but the windows did not open and there was no balcony the only redeeming factor in my one week stay was the desk manager and his lovely wife who both worked day shifts

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank smiley6377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    24
    13
    11
    9
See reviews for
28
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

I was VERY worried to travel to this resort because of the negative reviews it had gotten on TripAdvisor. Let me say that this place surprised me...especially after reading all of the negative reviews. The buildings are nicely maintained. When you pull up you will see a nicely painted building. We had a two bedroom unit. I was a little small, as one of the bedrooms was sectioned off with pocket doors, but it was doable. The unit was clean. The unit overlooked the beach and the views were breathtaking. The hotel is very quiet. The age of the people staying at this hotel was definitely the older crowd, but everyone was SOOOO nice. We have two small children and all of the people that we saw were so nice and welcoming to my young children (4 & 6).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

My family and I stayed in the courtyard. It was me, my wife and my daughter. It was outstanding because it was located right near the pool, and just like any location in Plantation Island, steps away from the sand and sea! Some say it is not as good as the tower because you can't see the ocean, but we still could. We left the windows open at night and heard the roar of the waves and it was so nice. Super clean rooms, always nice front desk service and private parking. Pools for the kids and jacuzzis for the adults (at night is the best). Always a great stay and a memorable vacation. Accomodations: Shower near the pool, grills, jacuzzis, private parking, shuffle board, private entrance to beach, no cars on beach in that area, and much more!

Room Tip: Tower has great views of ocean, but the courtyard felt more personal with views of ocean, pool and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This place was fine for what we needed it for. We were on the 5th floor, which is where the one bedrooms are. Expect everything in this place to be old. It was clean,but the age of the place makes it appear dirty. It is also not a place for a young happening scene, mostly retirees and families. But the location was great and the view spectacular. I wouldn't recommend for my group of friends, but I wouldn't write this place off completely. If you are looking for a cheap, place to stay with good location and direct access to the beach, this is your place.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lnj4boogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookston
Level Contributor
189 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Very nice, right on the beach.. It had been years since I had stayed there... It was nice to return and to see it being well taken care of... Be cautious if you choose to stay there during Spring break, as sleeping will be an issue...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mgwds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

I was kind of sceptic o this place reading all the bad reviews.... But for the price it wasn't to bad... Room was clean, nice pool, friendly workers, we stayed on the 6th floor, and only real complaint I have isbi wished the elevators had air conditioning! Got pretty warm whenever there was several ppl in it! Another thing there are no balconies, somebody told us it was because somebody committed suicide but whatever, I want to be able to set on a balcony and listen to the waves in the morning and night!! But can't say anything bad about the place, my 7 yr ol had a good time so I did also!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rdcjg27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Terrible condo. It seemed this was a hotel room converted to a condo, too small and terribly dirty. The phones and the office computer were not working. When your opened the door the air conditioner was dripping water on you and everything. The floors and carpet were so dirty our grandson walked one time across the floor and his feet were black, YUCK!!!! Also the pool were dirty and so was the whirlpools. Also the couch was so dirty that we could not sit on it and the sheets and blankets were worn out with holes and very thin, there was not any place to place your luggage and you could barely walk around the bed. The bath was so small that your sit on toilet and take a shower at the same time and the toilet was not attached properly(it rocked when sat on).

Room Tip: Never stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worldtraveller41091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ormond Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ormond Beach
0.1 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#12 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#3 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.0 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#21 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.7 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#18 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island

Property: Plantation Island
Address: 187 S. Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Ormond Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Ormond Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing