We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

European Cafe & Schnitzel House
Ranked #22 of 208 Restaurants in Ormond Beach
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Troy, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was great food, if you like German. Be sure to ask the waiter what he would suggest if you are not familiar with the dishes on the menu. About $15 got the main dish, which comes with spaetzals and sauerkraut, a soup, and bread/crackers with a cheese spread.
So good. I would go again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    76
    27
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
197 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Unique find”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This restaurant was located across from the condo where we were staying so we decided to give it a try. The place is tiny and tables seem cramped. Reservations are probably a good idea due to the limited space but they accept walk-ins. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive. Our meals were well prepared and delicious. The schnitzel was very tender. Portions were large enough to provide us lunch for the next day. We would definitely return to this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The food and service are consistently good. We have been there several times, and are always trying new dishes. The staff is pleasant and accommodating. I can't think of one negative thing about this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EFDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Food Okay, Overall Seen Better Days”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The restaurant feels like a TRAILER somehow. It is not - it is a small space but not a trailer. But the old stained ceiling, the wood paneling, and the dingy floor just feel TRAILER-ish, not restaurant-ish. Add to that the many dead animal heads and skins on the wall, all of which seemed at least 30 years old, and the white Christmas lights strewn about - many of which were dead - and you get the idea. But wait - don't forget the trinkets!!! Beer steins, tiny flags, even an Irish (??) dishtowel are displayed all around. (Those also looked very old.) Now let's turn on the MUSIC - it had to be the German version of Neil Diamond playing over and over. OK - so that is the ambiance.

The food was ok. Chicken soup was yummy. My husband really liked the bread. My appetizer of potato pancakes was pretty good - felt ripped off to see the $1 charge for sour cream on our bill though (when the waiter asked, "Which topping - apple sauce or sour cream?" I replied, "Both!", but wasn't warned that came at a cost.) The apple sauce was not the homemade variety you might expect, nope, it was served up in a sealed Mott's single serving cup. My husband's spaetzel was yummy and it was a large portion.

Service was ok - we were the only people there when we ordered and the waiter forgot to bring our drinks. After another table came in, ordered, and were served their drinks we finally asked and he brought ours but no apology or anything. Water glass only refilled if you ask (now that part felt authenically European!).

Fine to go one time, but it is not on my list of "eat again" in Ormond.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PriusGirlVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sehr Gut”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Me and my wife visited and we had the weiner schnitzel and the old prauge schnitzel. I spent a lot of time in Switzerland and Germany and schnitzel is one of my favorite dishes. My wife is Swiss and we both thought the dishes were very excellent. the atmosphere reminded her of home a bit. very cozy atmosphere with german music playing to round out the experience. the waiter was very friendly . the only problem was a wobbly table that we sat at. great experience and i recommend it to anyone who wants a taste of germany or anyone who may be missing home.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thebaileys84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed European Cafe & Schnitzel House also viewed

 
Ormond Beach, FL
Ormond Beach, FL
 

Been to European Cafe & Schnitzel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing