We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place covers ALL generations.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hot Dog Hut

The Hot Dog Hut
Ranked #52 of 209 Restaurants in Ormond Beach
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The All American Hot Dog simplified. simply the best as the sign says. Great fries, onion rings, hush puppies. The hamburger sliders are the coolest. It is a little shop owner operated one man band. Perry is fun and treats all the customers like regulars. The prices are from the seventies very affordable. Highly recommended!!!
Troutville, Virginia
2 reviews
“This place covers ALL generations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and our 15 year old grandson found the Hut in a recent trip to Florida and ended up going several times. Best hot dogs ever! Any way you want them, from plain (my grandson), to northern style (with saurkraut and relish) for my husband to my particular spicy-hot dog! Well worth finding - friendly owners and great food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hot Dog Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I've never been to a place that has so many options as far as a hot dog goes. It was a nice lunch just before a trip to the beach. The prices are very reasonable too, which is a big plus. I love the old fashioned cane sugar sodas. That was a nice little treat. We will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
“Great all around, but especially good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

A hole in the wall on Ocean Shore Blvd that's easy to miss, but well worth checking out. The owners/operators are very friendly and sincere. The hot dogs and old fashioned sodas are delicious (ownership recently changed hands, so bad reviews about the food may refer to the previous owner). But the biggest thing, to me, was that I got a fully decked out, over-topped, Chicago dog and a fancy fountain soda for about $5. It's cheap, and a neat little place grab a dog and a beer.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New owners, BETTER DOGS!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I had a few hot dogs in the past from The Dog Hut. I recently stopped in to find new owners. It will take about 10 seconds to learn their names, Sean and Meghan. They really bring life to the place and make it more than just a great Hot Dog joint. The dogs are so much tastier and they have greater variety. They have a %100 legit Chicago dog that is to die for. I plan to be much more frequent. A+ guys!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertMikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Overpriced and undercooked”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Eating here is a complete let down. There used to be a good hot dog shop down the road, now nothing but disappointments. My fries came out of a frozen bag, this I know because they were still frozen inside when I bit in. One more thing.....if the hot dog costs a lot, it should be amazing which is not the case here

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cweaver85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hot Dog Hut also viewed

Ormond Beach, FL
 

Been to The Hot Dog Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing