We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm before the storm...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Garden City
2 reviews
“Calm before the storm...”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Moved from the Gulf Coast to the East coast to get away from the storm!! Only stayed one night before getting a flight back to the Mid West- but really enjoyed the short stay! Front desk staff was very nice at check in! Prices were really good to be right on the beach with a balcony.... Room was clean ,quiet and beds were comfy.... Had a kitchen which would be a nice plus if you stay a few days!! Elevators were a little slow since one was not working!
Pool was really nice.. Would suggest some outdoor maintenance including work on the path from the pool stairs to the beach but other than that it was nice.. I would stay again !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardenCityLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    420
    194
    97
    66
See reviews for
447
424
45
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stay here and celebrated my daughters 6th birthday. Great time. It rained for a little while but had a nice covered area we used so we were not stuck inside. Nice fire pit area too. Looks newly renovated. They even wished my daughter a Happy Birthday on the outside marque.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VRC1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We had a very pleasant stay (our 2nd trip in just 2 weeks) and look forward to staying again. This is not a 5 star hotel, but the price you pay to stay more than make up for it in value for the money. The beds were OOOHHHH so comfy and the view from the balcony was enough to wash anyone's cares away. I was so impressed at how the staff addressed any and all issues I had.

Please take time to eat at Lenny's. It's not very big, but locally owned and you will NOT be disappointed! We actually ate there several times on our trip. The owner moved down from New York City and makes the most amazing pizza and pinwheel dishes. Be sure to order the garlic knots!

Room Tip: higher floors have the best view. If you get the first floor, you'll only see the swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WannaGoTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I would very much like to stay here again. Everything was clean and the ocean view was very nice. The room was quiet and it was nice to fall asleep and wake up to the smell of the ocean. Parking was convinient as well. There were plenty of places to eat within walking distance to the hotel. The lobby was clean and the employees were pleasant.

Room Tip: Stay in a room that is on the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Pleasantly suprised - room was clean and had nice full service kitchen, updated room - beautiful Gulf views - friendly and helpful staff - 2 pools that were very clean - housekeeping did its job and replenished towels - no complaints - steps to the beach with nice fire pit to sit around at night

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExNJGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My husband's family has been staying at this hotel for 30+ years. We visit them while they are there usually for a weekend stay. This year we were scheduled for three nights but only ended up staying two because my husband got hurt while on vacation and we left early. The hotel's staff was probably the best this year than it has been in several years. Our first room was right across from the elevators, and they moved us to another room down the hall without hassle. The only disappointment in the room was that it had a little refrigerator but no microwave.

This year they added a hot breakfast, but I don't recommend it unless you just want cereal. The eggs were hardly done, the sausage was hardly recognizable, and the pancakes were rubbery. The trash was over-flowing, with some piled on top of the lids too. The hotel should concentrate on having a good continental breakfast instead of having a poor hot one.

Overall, we'll stay here again simply because the rate is decent and the rest of the family stays there.

Room Tip: Ask for away from the elevator (rooms ending in 15-17). Ice machine across from rooms ending in 14...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We just got back from a 5 night stay in Ormond Beach. We live in Central FL and try to check out new areas of the coast and new hotels every summer. The only positive things I can say about this hotel was that the front desk staff was very friendly and tried to be helpful and that the beach in front of the hotel was great. So many negatives about the hotel itself..bathroom and sink area very small, dresser drawers wouldn't stay closed so you were constantly bumping into them or having to close them, electrical problems with the lamps causing new lightbulbs to burn out in a day...the list goes on. The door to our room wouldn't close and one had to turn the handle from the inside and then hurry out to close it. The key mechanism didnt work right and finally had to be repaired at 11:30PM by a maintenance guy that we waited for an hour..we couldnt get into the room, the front desk attendant had to use a special maintenance key. Housekeeping was horrendous, one day they never showed up, and the rest of the time they were constantly forgetting to provide us with kleenex, towels, coffee, etc. Only positive about the room was the AC worked really good.

The beach area was very nice, however there was only one flight of steps to access the beach with the nozzle to hose off right at the top landing of the steps, making it impossible for a person trying to rinse off not to impede every one else, not to mention a dangerous situation for 2 people trying to come and go at the same time.

Overall, even though the cost of this hotel seemed reasonable at the time, I would say we overpaid for the quality that we received. We will NOT be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pandorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
518 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#11 of 28 in Ormond Beach
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 28 in Ormond Beach
453 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona/Ormond Beach
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 28 in Ormond Beach
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Castillo Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Castillo Del Sol

Property: Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Address: 205 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-8105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Castillo Del Sol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to the newest hotel in Ormond Beach, Florida and enjoy affordable A1A beachside accommodations near Daytona International Speedway, Ocean Center Convention Facility and the 23 miles of uninterrupted beautiful Florida beaches.Welcome to the Best Western Castillo Del Sol, the best choice in lodging while visiting the Ormond Beach, Florida area where guests will receive comfortable and affordable beachfront accommodations. The hotel provides guests with convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around the Ormond Beach area. Guests staying at this hotel will enjoy guest rooms featuring pillowtop beds, cable satellite television with free movie channels, refrigerator and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Luxurious suites and rooms with ocean views and fully equipped kitchens are also available for those that want to indulge. The Oceanfront Efficiency rooms also include a DVD Player, kitchenette complete with full size Refrigerator, Microwave, Stovetop, Cooking and Dining Ware, and Dining Area, and a private balcony with a panoramic view of the Atlantic Ocean.Convenient and delicious breakfast can be enjoyed at the hotel's onsite restaurant. There are also 75 restaurants and shops within 2 miles of the Hotel. And to help make life on the road even more comfortable, this Florida Best Western hotel features an outdoor swimming pool and the safety of underground parking.Whether traveling to Ormond Beach FL for business or for pleasure, the Best Western Castillo Del Sol is close to where travelers want to be. Guests can spend the day enjoying the sun, surf and sand at the beach, touring Casements, the Rockefeller summer home, walking the Ormond Memorial Garden or exploring the Kennedy Space Center. NASCAR fans will enjoy being situated so close to Daytona International Speedway. The world's largest Harley Davidson dealership can be found only minutes away from the Best Western Castillo Del Sol.This Ormond Beach hotel frequently hosts guests in town attending local events like Bike Week, the Daytona 500, Cheerleader Nationals and Biketoberfest. And no trip to Ormond Beach is complete without enjoying a day of family fun at nearby Disneyworld and Universal Studios. The Hotel is just 1/2 mile from the Ormond Scenic Loop & Trail.The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Castillo Del Sol is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Ormond Beach, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Visit Barbados, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Castillo Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ormond Beach
Ormond Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing