We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View of beach was Beautiful! Very Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Casselberry, Florida
1 review
“View of beach was Beautiful! Very Relaxing”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The beach view was beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great (even though pancake machine was not working). The room was cleaned every day and fresh towels every day. The only negative was there are only two elevators in hotel and one was out of service the whole weekend. Needless to say the wait for the elevator was long at times. But all in all would go back again. Had a nice experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 63peaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    402
    181
    89
    61
See reviews for
418
397
43
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baker City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I loved this place not only because of the friendly staff but also how nice it was to sit outside on my patio late in the evening and listen to the ocean.
Room clean and comfortable. The room I had also had a kitchenette in it and I loved being able to buy food and bring in as well as refreshments. TGI Fridays was the restaurant they used and gave a discount to eat there and was a nice little walk to it. Housekeeper was very nice and kept on top of the room when I went out to the beach. Did I mention I could actually walk right out to the beach! The pool was also right outside of my room and had no problems with it being to noisey. Can I say I love this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Ga
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed 3 nights during Labor Day week-end. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. However, only 1 elevator was working and the pancake machine was broken our entire stay. The ocean front view was beautiful!!! The location was great....close to great restaurants. This hotel is advertised as a new hotel, but it really needs some work. We will stay somewhere else next year.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are well worth the extra money!! Don't stay on the first floor......your b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredAlbany_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The BW Castillo Del Sol is in a lovely location with a great stretch of beach in front of it and is perfect for a short beach break. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean (if a little dated) and I wouldn't agree that what they called an ocean view was my expectation (you can view the ocean if you stand on the balcony and crane your neck round it a bit.)

The area was quiet which was very nice and there are some lovely restaurants to be found nearby (Bruno's Pizzeria had the BEST pizza I've ever eaten, including in Italy) and the local area has some lovely scenic spots. With a little rennovation, this hotel could be a true gem.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meitnerium85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I am currently spending Labor Day weekend at this hotel, and have been disappointed that the ice maker on our floor has not worked for 2 days, and only one elevator is running. I asked to move to the bottom floor because we end up waiting 20 minutes for the elevator every time we call it, and they claimed someone was coming to fix it. I called to find out when the ice machine would be fixed, and they claimed not to know about it even though I had talked to a maintenance person last night, and other guests on our floor claimed to have reported it as well. The housekeeping staff didn't vaccuum, so the same crumbs are in the "kitchen" area. The light in the "kitchen" area does not work. However, I don't want to seem like it is all bad....the beach is beautiful, and the pool is clean and nice. The bathroom is tiny, and the water pressure in the shower is no good. But, the beds are comfy and the a/c works great.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Misty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Certainly not a luxury hotel, but the location,price and staff cannot be matched.Ocean view, right on the beach, has to be the best value in Ormand beach.Staff was very attentive, any issues were addressed in a polite and prompt manner.Next time no hurricanes OK

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dupa864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Tx
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed the night and got a regular room with my mother who's in a motorized chair. It was perfect to get around in even for her (though beware the small bathroom)! Could crack open the balcony door and turn down the ac and listen to the ocean crashing in. If I ever get back to the Daytona Beach area, I'm so staying there again!!!

Room Tip: Anything "Ocean View", I know 4th floor is wonderful, third floor would be good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Resa00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#8 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.8 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#21 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#11 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Castillo Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Castillo Del Sol

Property: Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Address: 205 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-8105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Castillo Del Sol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to the newest hotel in Ormond Beach, Florida and enjoy affordable A1A beachside accommodations near Daytona International Speedway, Ocean Center Convention Facility and the 23 miles of uninterrupted beautiful Florida beaches.Welcome to the Best Western Castillo Del Sol, the best choice in lodging while visiting the Ormond Beach, Florida area where guests will receive comfortable and affordable beachfront accommodations. The hotel provides guests with convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around the Ormond Beach area. Guests staying at this hotel will enjoy guest rooms featuring pillowtop beds, cable satellite television with free movie channels, refrigerator and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Luxurious suites and rooms with ocean views and fully equipped kitchens are also available for those that want to indulge. The Oceanfront Efficiency rooms also include a DVD Player, kitchenette complete with full size Refrigerator, Microwave, Stovetop, Cooking and Dining Ware, and Dining Area, and a private balcony with a panoramic view of the Atlantic Ocean.Convenient and delicious breakfast can be enjoyed at the hotel's onsite restaurant. There are also 75 restaurants and shops within 2 miles of the Hotel. And to help make life on the road even more comfortable, this Florida Best Western hotel features an outdoor swimming pool and the safety of underground parking.Whether traveling to Ormond Beach FL for business or for pleasure, the Best Western Castillo Del Sol is close to where travelers want to be. Guests can spend the day enjoying the sun, surf and sand at the beach, touring Casements, the Rockefeller summer home, walking the Ormond Memorial Garden or exploring the Kennedy Space Center. NASCAR fans will enjoy being situated so close to Daytona International Speedway. The world's largest Harley Davidson dealership can be found only minutes away from the Best Western Castillo Del Sol.This Ormond Beach hotel frequently hosts guests in town attending local events like Bike Week, the Daytona 500, Cheerleader Nationals and Biketoberfest. And no trip to Ormond Beach is complete without enjoying a day of family fun at nearby Disneyworld and Universal Studios. The Hotel is just 1/2 mile from the Ormond Scenic Loop & Trail.The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Castillo Del Sol is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Ormond Beach, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Castillo Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ormond Beach
Ormond Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing