We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,277)
Filter reviews
1,277 results
Traveller rating
413
470
208
108
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
470
208
108
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontroom was cleanoceanfront roompastryfree breakfastunderground parkingfire pitan older hotelsmall kitchenbike weekslidersfamily vacationwafflesfull kitchenbwbalconybeach
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 1,277 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Based on the outstanding experience we had at the Best Western Plus in Richmond Hill, Ga. we booked this hotel for the next leg of the trip. Unfortunately it was not as nice and was pretty much what you would expect at an older budget hotel. Service was OK - not particularly friendly. The hotel was clean enough but worn. There was a nice view of the Atlantic from the balcony - but the beach looked rough-lot's dead seaweed and other debris from the previous month's storm - which made the beach smell bad. It was also "Biketoberfest" - which we didn't know. It added about $100 to the room cost and contributed to a less-than relaxing visit or night's sleep. (Of course, if you are a motorcycle enthusiast, check it out!) We used to visit Ormond Beach every summer when I was growing up. It hasn't aged well. There are lots of vacancies and abandoned buildings and at high tide - the ocean is lapping the retaining walls of the hotels = no beach. It was sad.

Room Tip: Don't come during Biketoberfest-unless you are a motorcycle enthusiast. And generally, book as far away from the A1A side as possible.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrRunningOnEmpty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternCDS_GM, Front Office Manager at Best Western Castillo Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that you got to stay with us. Unfortunately in the last year we have experienced two hurricanes that has taken a toll on a lot of hotels/buildings in the area; also left some closed for major repairs. We are currently in the process of revitalizing our exterior after hurricane Irma. Hurricane Irma did dredge a lot of the beach away but it is now under a natural restoration process; thus the seaweed a shore. We do hope that you will visit again and please contact us directly that way we can arrange your stay to accommodate your vacation needs.

Yours in hospitality,
Terrell N.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Awesome hot breakfast with homemade waffles! Excellent customer service and great ocean front room. I have been staying at the Best Western for years. God Bless the staff. The rooms are clean and they have a full kitchen in the efficiencies.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternCDS_GM, Front Office Manager at Best Western Castillo Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are so excited that you continue to come stay with us and that you enjoyed your most recent stay. We are always here for your booking needs and look forward to your future stays.

Sincerely,
Terrell N.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Would not recommend, problem with ants in our room crawling around, hotel sprayed room twice, but ants still there. Had to keep shaking out our belongings, felt uncomfortable with ants in our room. Ants on night stands, microwave, countertop, bathtub, itty bitty tiny ants. Hotel called them sugar ants.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 891donnav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternCDS_GM, Front Office Manager at Best Western Castillo Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We have addressed the issue with the ants and would love to have you back to try us again and will ensure your stay is pleasant.

Yours in hospitality,
Terrell N.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Find another Hotel, as soon as you arrive it feels uninviting. Dark dingy, down stairs for breakfast the power go's out no coffee no juice., Pool dirty. Property appears that it is not being taken care of. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellys001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternCDS_GM, Front Office Manager at Best Western Castillo Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you stay was less than exceptional. I have looked into an addressed the issues you have voiced. We do hope you come and try us again and i will work with you directly to make sure your stay is exceptional.

Sincerely,
Terrell N.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

This is an older hotel that has been updated. Staff was very helpful, beds were comfortable. There was plenty of parking. Rates were reasonable for an event. We had a good experience at this hotel and will stay again for Bike Week.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank melissacE3223JN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternCDS_GM, Front Office Manager at Best Western Castillo Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed Biketoberfest 2017 with us. It's an awesome event and we look forward to your stay for Bike Week 2018; see you in March.

Sincerely,
Terrell
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews