We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting and rude”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scottish Inns & Suites
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting and rude”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Was my first time visiting florida and I booked through I booking sight. I was told one price when I booked and when I arrived at the hotel I was told a higher price. Right off the bet the so called person running the hotel was rude as can be. And doesn't know how to talk to their customers. Once we walked in the room it was nothing like the pictures I seen. The beds was close together you Bearly had any room to walk. The pillows was hard. And instead of drying the sheets in a dryer to kill germs they hang them on the line outside. If you asked for towels they talked to you like you was going to steal them. You couldn't ask anything with getting an attitude. Not to mention I paid for a room by they tell I couldn't have any visitors. Also I happen to get sick and was told that's no excuse to get sick in their room and I should've went outside. ALSO I WAS SITTING IN A CHAIR AND ROACHES WAS ALL IN THE HOTEL. the bathtub is so small you have to turn sideways to shower. A hotel like this needs to be shut down. Do yourself a favor an stay away from this nasty place. Learns to clean your hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dale b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    2
    8
    5
    18
See reviews for
4
14
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Worst place ever !!! I want my $$ back !!!!!!

They had a sign says the rate is 35.99 but when I tried to get a room was informed it is 45.99 and the 35.99 is only for weekly stay.
After the guy handed me my key he said that if I don't like the room he can give me another room, I thought hmm nice.

First room 140 omg it had a strong cat piss smell it's unbearable !!! The smell even stay on me when I left the room.

Second room 247 it has a strong smoke smell and the tub has a dent and the towels looks dirty and old and the sheets has holes in it.

Third room 142 ewwww it smells like urine!

I settled for the second room, the restroom had ants and fleas and I don't even know what kind of bugs because I had severe bug bites on my legs!!! I didn't even bother to use their towels.

I paid $57 for the big infested dirty room!!!!

Stay away people !!! drive couple miles down by the beachside!!!! The motels/hotels there are decent for the same price!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuteppsc .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ormond Beach hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Caught well and truly not being able to find any motel with beds available we had to take this one. Well after 8 hours on the road we should have just kept going. This place is a disgrace to motels and the health department (or whatever the authority is) should be looking into this place.

Lets start with the bed - I counted no less than 7 holes in the threadbare sheets. Some of which had been purposely cut out holes - my assumption is that there was a cigarette burn that had to be removed? But I am only guessing. The sheets had no substance left to them at all they were worn through so that made the PLASTIC cover on the mattress just unbearable. Now in retrospect those plastic covers may have saved us from something worse but they are awful to sleep on. I ended up putting the two sheets under me and slept uncovered. The bedding was utterly atrocious.

Now the wardrobe - not normally something you would complain about except it was off its rail and just leant against the opening so it was a hazard for bare toes in the middle of the night. Just unsafe!

The handbasin had a serious problem with drainage. 5 Mins would see no decrease in the water level, it was dirty and unusable. I didn't shower in the morning as the shower curtain was.....well, dirty. But that doesn't come close to describing the actual state of it. Something had been sprayed up the curtain at sometime in the past and had never been cleaned off. It had gone mouldy!!!! The carpet had a distinct urine odour to it - didn't even want to think about that one!

The facecloth was just a joke - with brown stains on it. It was a huge mistake and I know we should have moved on and asked for our money back but after half a dozen hotels with no rooms - it was a bed at least. My simple suggestion is - don't. Don't stop. Don't stay here. Don't bother.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Willowray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I was denied a room because I have a service dog. I offered to leave the dog in my rv overnight, and they refused still, even after asking for proof of my disability. I thought about contacting the ADA, as well as my attorney, but that hassle is too much. The front desk staff was extremely rude. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Angellicar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Spent the night here while travelling. the rooms stuck of urine and the noise was terrible. I think that people live here full time. Could hear the noise from the interstate and loud motorcycles.. The hotel needs a makeover

Room Tip: check other hotels in the area first
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidinVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alhambra, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I was vacationing with my grandchildren at the Oceanfront across the street (which was very NICE). We had car trouble and our hotel was booked. We had to stay at this awful place for one night. I don't know about the cheap rates because we paid $52 per room. The rooms were disgusting! Live and dead bugs every where. The screens had white paint all over. No coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, hangers for clothes. I could go on and on. When we checked in, the woman was on
a personal call and irritated that we were bothering her.
We didn't ask for a wake-up but we certainly got one at 7:30 in the morning when the same woman woke us up power washing our windows! When asked to stop, she said our children threw sand at the windows. None of us had been outside! NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upallnite135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Clean. I would stay for a week but for a stopover it was good enough. The hotel next door had a issue and the police were there .Very nice lady at the front desk helped us with a bad TV remote. Really close to US 1, A1A and I95 for travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckPCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
6.9 mi away
Motel 6 Ormond Beach
Motel 6 Ormond Beach
#24 of 28 in Ormond Beach
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Symphony Beach Club
Symphony Beach Club
#14 of 28 in Ormond Beach
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 28 in Ormond Beach
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#21 of 28 in Ormond Beach
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
329 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#1 of 28 in Ormond Beach
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottish Inns & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inns & Suites

Property: Scottish Inns & Suites
Address: 484 South Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Scottish Inns & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish Inn and suites is located just minutes from world famous Daytona Beach, walk to restaurants and shopping. Microwave, fridge & coffeemaker in every room. Guests enjoy outdoor pool, shuffleboard and oceanview. Efficiencies & suites available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Scottish Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottish Inns And Suites
Scottish Inns Hotel Ormond Beach
Scottish Hotel Ormond Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing