We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This one is a keeper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean East Resort Club
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“This one is a keeper”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Just returned from spending Spring Break at Ocean East Resort. I will stay here again. The location is great, 5 minute drive from the Daytona Beach area. The staff was very friendly. They had lots of activities that my kids really loved. (bingo, tie-dye t-shirts, crafts, making rootbeer floats). All of the activities were very inexpensive. They had free DVD check out and a great rec room which my kids also loved. The efficiency apartment was very adequate. I pull-down murphy bed in the dining area, and a pull-out couch. The restaurant had reasonable prices. The only negative was that people would put their towels on a pool lounge chair and hoard it for the day, even if they weren't even in the pool area. I don't blame the resort for this as they had plenty of rule signs stating not to do this. This happens everywhere so not much you can do.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kareny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    33
    11
    11
    7
See reviews for
50
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
raynham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The resort was older but very kept up. Clean and staff was friendly. Walk to everything. Sleeping was difficult because mattress was a cusion on a board and NO box spring.

Room Tip: Check bed mattress. Master bedroom mattress VERY Hard, no box spring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Just returned from a great week at the beach with family and friends!!! Although my grandson was sick for a couple of days we still had a great time. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. Tracy - the director of activities even gave my grandson an Ocean East cup and some trinkets to cheer him up. Many of our family members are owners here and we can see why they like it....everyone is like family. I will admit that the "recreation room" needs to be updated. Our room had recently been redone and the flat screen on the wall was a welcome addition in the studio that we had. I am looking forward to returning here in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smile29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

How can you give a resort on the beach a bad review?! The location was great. The decor needs to be updated, in the rooms and in the common areas. But we had a great week. We loved the organized activities, including the water exercise class, the pool party, and the beach games. The staff was friendly. The common areas were clean. The pool was well maintained. The Rec Room was a bit run down, but that didn't stop the kids from enjoying the ping pong. We stayed in a studio and would not recommend this for a family, or for a whole week. The pull out couch was incredibly uncomfortable. The kids were relagated to the Murphy bed and they thought that was fun. It seemed more comfortable than the pull out, but wasn't quite as big. The kitchen was small as well, but we did get by. There is a restaurant on site, the Beach Bucket, but we did not take advantage. However, the staff at the Beach Bucket was very friendly. The resort is perfectly located within walking distance to several restaurants, mini-golf and the grocery. It's also not too far to do day trips to St Augustine, or Cape Canaveral, which we did. We were on the first floor, which had a patio rather than a balcony. We enjoyed that. I'd return, but only in a larger room.

Room Tip: Do not get a studio. It's small and the sleeping surfaces are very uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockmart, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We paid very little for a 7 day trip to Ormond Beach and were not looking forward to it thinking it would not be decent. We were pleasantly surprised. Friendly staff, so friendly in fact, that we went downstairs to see if they sold aloe for our 5th day sunburn and instead they went out by the pool, broke off a piece of REAL aloe and cut it open for me. It was a lifesaver!!!!! Sunburn pain went away immediately.
The only drawback was the pull out couch and murphy bed. Neither were very comfortable but we made it work! The air did not work well in our room, but that was it. The whole of our stay was excellent!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the studio if you have two couples or teenagers. Close quarters and no privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reddpoll102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We traveled with some friends to Ocean East (this was my 4th of 5th visit). My bff's family are owners and my first trip was about 15 years ago! The decor is slightly dated, but they are working on a remodeling project. The pool area is super clean, as are the rooms. The beach front is nice and spacious. Hotel staff were kind and accommodating. I only gave it a 4 out of 5 due to the updating process. Once that is complete, it will deserve 5 stars! Also, there are a lot of activities for kids during the day. AND, the hotel restaurant, The Beach Bucket, has the best tuna salad melt I have ever had!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Humphres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Just got back from Ocean East and had a great time!! Super friendly staff! The room was small and outdated, but it was perfect for 2 people. The loacation is really great, walking distance to many places. We met some really great people at the Beach Bucket (the bar in the hotel), which was my favorite part of hotel! It is a super cute little bar with an awesome patio and great servers! Stephanie was the best bartender ever!! So fun! The hotel has a huge pool/patio area, which was beautiful, just steps from the ocean!! I would totally go back to Ocean East, just not in January, as it is pretty quiet and chilly this time of year. If you are looking for quiet this is the place! Daytona is beautiful!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ABOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ormond Beach
0.5 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
332 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 28 in Ormond Beach
215 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
1,108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#21 of 28 in Ormond Beach
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean East Resort Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean East Resort Club

Property: Ocean East Resort Club
Address: 867 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-7896
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean East Resort Club 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean East Resort Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean East Resort Club Hotel Ormond Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing