We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hike!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bulow Creek State Park

Bulow Creek State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Hike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We went hiking to the old ruins of the Bulow Plantation Ruins and sugar mill. Nice walk through the real Florida. Then went canoeing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hpgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Florida Hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This was the perfect Florida hike -- quiet with lots of long trails, scrub palms, oaks dripping with moss and lots of tall pines. We enjoyed the quiet, natural, old-Florida feel to our hike.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank clwwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
346 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Bulow Creek State Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Nice place to spend on a hot day. Nice for kayaking as well. Low admission fee for all the passengers in one car.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Arline Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice State Park..., good place for Kayak or Canoe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

My wife is a native Central Floridian and a history buff, so we drove in to view the ruins. The ruins are nicely preserved and there appears to be a nice spot to picnic an d launch a canoe or kayak.

I would have given the site 4-5 stars, but found the personnel on site less than friendly or inviting. Sometimes "rangers" seem to thinks they own the site, but cranky does not come across as inviting.

If you are only going briefly the $4 admission seems a bit steep.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CrankyRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bulow Creek State Park also viewed

 

Been to Bulow Creek State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing