We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little family restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Betty's A1A Cafe

Betty's A1A Cafe
Ranked #10 of 210 Restaurants in Ormond Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ormond Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice little family restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Nothing fancy about Betty's, but that's just fine. You can get your food prepared different ways but I usually get either fried shrimp or full bellied clams (my favorite). These are not the clam strips you normally get. These are whole clams. The breading is not over-bearing like a lot of breaded and fried foods. When you get the dinner you get 2 sides from a nice sized list. They serve beer and wine but no other alcohol.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    212
    72
    34
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
762 reviews
585 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 934 helpful votes
“Another great meal....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We visit the area often. Betty's has moved onto our rotating chain of restaurants in a big way and this is no small feat considering that we are usually staying down in Daytona Beach Shores which is a decent drive. This was our 3rd visit.

I went with my favorite--blackened fish sandwich w/onion rings. My oldest son did the same. The youngest son enjoys their clam chowder as his meal. Middle son actually ordere a hamburger w/fries and loved it. Spouse ordered clams and really enjoyed them. Not sure what the in-laws but they really enjoyed their meals.

Wife ordered a couple of their desserts and we shared them. I am not a big dessert person but they enjoyed them. service was quite attentive, also.

We are headed to Daytona in 2 weeks and, like I mentioned, Betty's A1A will be a must dine location for us.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank abcjjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Isidro, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Okay place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Having just arrived at Flagler Beach, this was not a bad first place to eat. Food was good. Place was spotless and well maintained. We were there on a Saturday evening and the place was packed. We were seated quickly and service was good. We rank places on "would we go back" and "would we go out of our way to go back" and "never again". This would be a "we'd try it a second time" kind of place. Would not go out of our way, but if we were near by and wanted to eat, we would stop in.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CRBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Seafood was not good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I was so excited to eat here because of the reviews.
The clam chowder was very thin and under seasoned.
The breading on the fried seafood platter was bland and just came off of the fish and scallops. It just wasn't any good.
My son's cheese burger was very good though.
I was disappointed because I hoped for some good seafood.

Helpful?
Thank JessandJoey2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good burgers, onion rings, clams”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Burgers are in the top tier for the Daytona area. Onion rings are the dry, crispy type.

Pretty much, decent food, service, but no bar.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank black396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Betty's A1A Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing