We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FALSE ADVERTISING - This place is a DUMP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Driftwood Beach Motel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FALSE ADVERTISING - This place is a DUMP”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I took my chances on this hotel as my original plans in Daytona Beach fell through at the last minute and rooms on the internet were scarce. There are many more hotels in Ormond that are not listed on the internet and most of them looked better than this place and posted less expensive prices. Don't fall for the pictures. This hotel was so bad that I didn't spend a minute longer in the hotel than necessary leaving my room in time for sunrise on a clean beach down the road and not returning until late evening. I'm sure a jail cell would have been better than this place. First, THE POOL IS DRAINED and therefore not usable, CIGARETTE BUTTS LITTER THE GROUNDS, THE ENTRYWAY TO THE BEACH IS BLOCKED with tools/equipment (how do they expect you to use the beach?), the beach in front of the hotel is filthy, EMPTY BEER BOXES litter the entryway to the hotel stairway. As an asthmatic, I asked for a smoke free room but SMOKING IS ALLOWED IN THE HALL so I had to walk through smokers to get to my room. What's the point?. When I checked in I asked about the free wi-fi and was told it was not working (I had to drive to McDonald's every day to use their wi-fi). The clerk told me the boss is "cheap". Bring your own coffee because, while there is a coffeemaker in the room, there is no coffee, creamer, sugar, cup or stirrer in the room nor is it available at the front desk. The window glass in my room was broken, the room safe did not work, the lock on the door to the balcony was rusted in the unlocked position and wouldn't lock. The balcony "furniture" was filthy, even after I cleaned it with my own Windex it still was nasty. The windows were filty and need a good cleaning but it would probably be easier to just replace the window glass; they are that dirty.. The beds and linens were clean but the sheets were not changed at all during my stay and the towels had holes in them. I found mold under the mat in the bathtub. The doors didn't seal properly so flyiing bugs shared my room with me. The grounds were terrible - unkept, outdoor furniture is disgusting and just NASTY. I tried to walk out to the beach the afternoon I arrived and couldn't get there for all the trash, tools/equipment and when I turned around to return to the hotel men were on their balconies gawking like perverts. Not a comfortable feeling. On a positive note, this hotel is 5 miles from Daytona where parking is plentiful (free 2 hour parking on Main Street) and the beach is beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cwarren217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwood657, Manager at Driftwood Beach Motel, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
We sincerely regret your experience! We would have gladly refunded your money had you asked. We do not want anyone to stay here that does not want to be here. We have a great client base that are return guests. Many have been coming for as many as 30 years.

Yes, the pool was drained for 5 days in January. That is the time of year for pool repairs. Our rates reflected the pool being down. One of the beach accesses had a wheel-barrow in the walkway, which only required walking around it. Our other beach access was free from obstruction.

Unfortunately, many guests do toss their cigarette butts on the grounds. We walk the grounds daily picking them up. We also clean the trash off the public beach in front of our property daily. Littering is unfortunate.

Your point about having a non-smoking room on the same floor of smoking rooms is very valid. We are redesignating smoking and non-smoking rooms to correct this issue.

Keeping beach front windows clean is a constant battle. We clean them weekly. Winter is the most difficult of times. We can clean windows and then a winter storm blows in the same day, and it appears they are never cleaned.

Yes, our patio and pool furniture is being updated. Since your stay, we have installed new fabric on most of the pool loungers. We still have more outdoor furniture slated for replacement.

Unfortunately the property was previously taken back by the previous owners' bank.. The bank did not maintain the property. The new owners are diligently working to correct all issues.

We deeply regret your experience not being pleasant. We are working to upgrade the property and welcome constructive criticism. Our rates reflect the state of the hotel. We are updating the property and rooms continuously. In the meantime, we provide clean rooms, oceanfront for a fraction of other beachfront properties.

Our sincerest apologies to you and yours for your unhappy experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    18
    6
    14
    6
See reviews for
26
14
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I stayed at the Driftwood many years ago and it is very different now. They have really cleaned it up a lot, new paint, new floor tile, etc. The internet is really good now, they just finished wiring everything new last night and it was like it used to be and then all of a sudden 5 bars and lightning fast. For me that was the best part. I can't wait to see the pool when it gets done.

Room Tip: Take a oceanfront with patio, well worth it to sit out there and watch the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My family and I stayed at this hotel and had a great time. They have a new Manager and Owner and have replaced their maintance crew. Sorry for the loss of goods from other guests, but we stayed at a Hilton one time and one of our friends had their purse stolen.(it happens everywhere). We stayed in one of the bigger suites(2bedroom). Though they are still doing some remodling these rooms were clean and if we needed anything they accomodated our every need. The prices are reasonable and it is a medium to go anywhere north or south and, oh, did I mention they have a mini putt-putt right across the street. Our kids loved it. Daytona Lagoon(water park) and Ocean Walk just minutes away. We will defintely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SurferintheUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I am from a large family who has built unforgettable Daytona memories at the Driftwood for a decade. We have countless photos and videos of our children growing up here. It has always been a wonderful time.

We have not been able to visit Daytona the past two summers, so we were really excited to return this year with 14 family members. We read the nasty recent reviews on Trip Advisor regarding the condition of the Driftwood and decided to look past them. We've stayed here countless times in the past and it has never exactly been the Ritz, but we've always made it work for us. We assumed the people making the negative reviews were just a bit snobby and maybe expecting more than they were paying for. It is a motel after all, and not one of those fancy chains.

We arrived and there was only one car in the entire parking lot. The woman at the front counter was a sweetheart and seemed quite stressed. A few days before we arrived, they had a water main break in the building that our suites were located in. We were never notified. The woman tried to accommodate us in the best way possible by shuffling us around to the best rooms she had available. We really appreciated that. We wanted to have rooms that were close, since there were plenty of children, but we understand that problems happen.

There was a maintenance employee in the parking lot breaking up the tarmac and digging up the sewage line by hand with a shovel. To us, that seemed a little questionable.

When she walked us to our room, she explained that the lock on the door facing the pool was broken. We noticed bugs all over the walls that hadn't been cleaned off, but rather spray painted over. There was dog urine all over the inside of our door. (I know because I cleaned it later that night.) The room was extremely musty, but she explained that no one had stayed in there for a couple of weeks because of the lock issue. No problem. We turned the temp on the refrigerator to it's coldest setting and headed over to Publix, got some groceries and got the biggest can of Lysol they sold and some candles. We needed to make that place bearable for the next week. Upon arriving back, we spent 2 of our own hours scrubbing the walls, doors, counters and floors. Surprisingly, most of the painted over bugs came off the walls with a little elbow grease. (I just couldn't bear to look at them and take photos with them in the background.)

The rest of our family members arrived that night and to put it lightly, were extremely upset with their rooms. There were no baseboards where the floors met the walls. You could literally It was just reach your hand up the inside of the wall at any given spot in their room. Oddly one of the rooms had a waterbed. Waterbed in a hotel room?

Our son went to have a bowl of cereal at around 9 pm and the milk was warm. Surprise! The refrigerator in our room was broken. We called the maintenance employee and he agreed to carry up the fridge from his own room by hand in exchange for 3 beers.

After a huge family blowout in one of our rooms, we decided that we just could not stay there for our vacation. The office was closed, so we had to wait until the morning to ask for our money back, which the woman at the counter was extremely happy to reimburse us for all four suites. We went next door to the Makaii and were extremely satisfied with the rooms and the staff. They had a parking lot FULL of cars, so that must have meant something.

The next day, we noticed police cars at the Driftwood. Being as nosy as we are, we made our way over to learn what all the commotion was about. We caught it all. The same maintenance worker who had carried the fridge to our room had stolen $500 cash the previous night from a woman's purse while she was at dinner. Turns out the cleaning lady and maintenance guy were convicted criminals and had both been recently arrested for the exact same thing. The lock swipes were audited on their room and they found that he swiped his master key three times the night her money was stolen while they were at dinner. The owner paid the woman $150 out of courtesy, but kept him self at a distance and refused to get involved.

PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spoolin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwood657, Manager at Driftwood Beach Motel, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
We, here at the Driftwood are sincerely regretful that we had a plumbing emergency that shut down the floor your rooms were reserved for. Such emergencies are unavoidable and regretful.

The motel is under new ownership and new management. We have been working diligently to upgrade the motel. We have installed new tile floors, painted and textured ceilings, updated light fixtures in the main hotel building, installed new guest washer/dryer and ice machine. As we just took over the motel in April of 2011, we have alot of improvements yet to come.

As far as the paragraph about the theft. There are many inaccuracies. No one was arrested and no one had a previous criminal background. When such statements are made, facts should be verified prior.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ormond Beach hotels

florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

If you are a 5 star, luxury class Hotel goer this is not the place for you. But if you like cheap ocean front balcony with two beds and a kitchenette with a beach bum style, then you will love this place. I prefer this cheaper/hostel type vacation because you get simplicity, no hassles, and you can watch and hear the ocean in your room. Great sized Balcony and tv too. There are no elevators just stairs, so if you pace yourself, it is doable.

I have stayed at many Motel 6's and their maids are always knocking on the door and bothering you a precisely noon. You wont find that harassment at the Driftwood.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor and it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cocovette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

This 1950's motel felt as if I was staying in a 1950's motorhome. When we arrived we had found 2 cockroaches ( 1 was alive ) in the kitchen and bathroom, room smelled extremely musty and the entrance into the room was literally 1foot away from the bed, which was very strange and felt unsafe. The room was fairly clean, but did not have extra toliet paper, or soap; sheets were clean but blankets on the bed had holes in them and looked very dated. The construction that was going on, made it feel like we were not welcome and were living in a industrial old campground. Pool was okay, dated and chairs were absoultly discusting (by the pool). Besides the birds nest when you walked outside, the view was great! Service was fairly good, but somewhat strange because of new management. This place definately needs work and I would not reccomend this.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsBerger16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DriftwoodBeachMote, Webmaster at Driftwood Beach Motel, responded to this review, 27 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Driftwood Beach Motel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Pool staff was informed of your report that the pool chairs were disgusting and instructed to see to it that they are kept clean and in good condition.

• Management was approached about making our valued guests know that they are wanted and welcomed during our transition to this new position and our construction work.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Driftwood Beach Motel. I think you will be greatly pleased and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#21 of 28 in Ormond Beach
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 28 in Ormond Beach
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
510 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
1,082 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#11 of 28 in Ormond Beach
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Beach Motel

Property: Driftwood Beach Motel
Address: 657 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-7715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Driftwood Beach Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Driftwood Beach Motel has 32 guestrooms. Televisions are equipped with 29 satellite channels. Guestrooms provide in-room safes, air-conditioning, desks, and wake-up calls. Guestrooms are accessible via exterior corridors. In addition, housekeeping is offered and amenities available on request include irons/ironing boards, blow dryers, cribs, and roll-away beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Driftwood Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Driftwood Beach Ormond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing