We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I didn't want to leave”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Makai Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Makai Beach Lodge
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
kutztown, pa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“I didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Sometimes a place just clicks with me and Makai did with the job. I was a bit concerned when I booked, the price for an oceanfront room with a full kitchen seemed too good and some of the reviews seemed iffy. I kept telling my husband to not expect much.
I loved the Makai!!! From the silly tiki head at the entrance on I was hooked. This is an older Florida in the 60s (when I'm sure it was super cool) four story motel. Know going in that while renovations can be made it is what it is...and that adds to the charm for those of us who first came to Florida in the back seat of Dad's car on the early 60s. The fellow guests included a number of snowbirds staying a few months. Everyone is super friendly, from the front desk and staff to the fellow guests. You are made to feel welcome and like one of the Makai family.
I picked the Makai because of the full kitchen (real stove and oven and real fridge) and the barbeque grills. Yes I get tired of road food and wanted to cook. Breakfast is provided if you don't want to cook. There is also a laundry on sight that came in handy.
The location is right on the beach, the pool is clean and heated to make nice swimming, I didn't get to the hot tub but that looked nice too. The room was very large and the bed comfortable and the bathroom clean. You are right on the ocean so the view is great.
We liked it so much we are considering joining the snowbird crowd and making it an extended stay rather than a stop over before a cruise.
Did I mention---I LOVED THIS PLACE!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mountainmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    90
    61
    45
    85
See reviews for
153
93
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We had a non-beach front room but could still see the ocean standing outside our room on the 2nd floor. The rooms are alittle weathered considering being right on the beach. The bedroom and kitchette were clean...saw no bugs and I'm a freak about that. The kitchen had everything you could need as far as appliances. Our bed needs to be replaced...very old with a dip in the middle. The TV's are also very old and need to be upgraded. Received coupons for free continetal breakfast, but we did not go either day. Parking is a bit of a problem if there is any kind of event going on, but you receive a parking pass to put in your window. Just hope you don't have to leave & drive to go anywhere while staying there. Lots of places to walk to eat, some beach shops & gas/convience store across th street. Will stay again next year for our event for sure. The staff from the front desk to the cleaning folks were all very, very nice.

Room Tip: Request beach front of course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PIRATES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed here for Thanksgiving weekend. There were not enough parking places, carpet was stained, maid service occurred once in three nights, people were jumping from balcony to balcony, tile floors were dirty, continental breakfast was minimal at best, and rooms were outdated and needed to be refurbished.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ormond Beach hotels

Middleboro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I had a beautiful view of the ocean, a spa, a large outdoor heated pool, a large room with two beds and a small room with a sink, electric stove, oven, toaster, coffee maker, microwave oven, large refrigerator, pots, pans, cooking utensils, dishes, silverware. The resort has free wi-fi, free continental breakfast, washers and driers for guests to use. Room rate was reasonable. The staff there were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: ask for a room that was remodeled they have air conditioners with heaters
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henrystlaurent9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luray, Virginia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

i stayed at this wonderful motel this past week and it was absolutely perfect in every way. the staff went out of their way to make things perfect and they treat you like family. this is one of my favorite motels i have ever stayed at, the best of ormond beach. the rooms were so clean and comfortable. the heated pool and jacuzzi were wonderful! i can t say enough about this wonderful motel, except i can t wait to return here in may! simply the best!

Room Tip: all the rooms are great, but the beachfront rooms are so nice, a few steps from the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MALCOLMSMOMLuray_va_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This hotel is by no means a new one, but is under new ownership and is a very comfortable, clean and homey place to stay. Rates are great and affordable. The view of ocean is wonderful and the pool is nice. It's a great thing to be able to walk out the door of your room facing the ocean and in a few steps be at the pool. New things happening there too, new mattresses, doors and cards instead of keys. Personnel is very friendly and willing to do the little extras if needed. LOVE this place and won't even think of going elsewhere to spend my relaxing vacation tanning by the pool and watching the sights of the ocean all at once!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nagyshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Low rates ours for week was 398.00. rooms had been redone and smell of fresh paint,clean
nice new tile on floor , tubs were older , but then its not the ritce. it was wonderful anything we ask for the desk got for us, and we were right on front as we ask, for , the maid s were friendly christians and gave us what ever we needed , our nieghboring guest were of older generation which made it quiet for us, there was work being done on pools ,but heated and working when we left the lodge is under new management and he is going threw everything, we look forward to returning here becuase of the up keep we were close to the post office bank of america, right on the beach, i was told by several community folks that ormando was a better place than daytona lots of drugs further south , i needed help with some court papers and the girls at the desk were more than efficicent , this place made me confortable , free parking , free breakfast
i did see one big red bug, but outside its florida they have bugs but i went to walmart down the road and bougfht raid lol next morning someone came and sprayed , you will love it here
ps you have to eat at the hulls kitchen off of granda over inland bridge on right side ,the sea food is awesume well worht the dinner we ate there 4 times ,charlie horse just down from the hotel has excellant ribs

Room Tip: ask for suites , they have bigger kitchens , but we ate out a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katcarving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#3 of 28 in Ormond Beach
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 28 in Ormond Beach
194 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#13 of 28 in Ormond Beach
65 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
501 reviews
5.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Ormond Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makai Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makai Beach Lodge

Property: Makai Beach Lodge
Address: 707 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-7815
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Makai Beach Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makai Beach Lodge is primarily a beach side hotel located at the connection of Daytona Beach and Ormond Beach, this allows us to offer the fun of Daytona Beach with the pristine white sands of Ormond Beach. The hotel has a private beach entrance and beach side pool, kiddie pool, hot tub, grills, shuttle board and more. All rooms have modern LED Tv's with HBO included, free WIFI and most rooms have a fullsize kitchen with the rest having at a minimum fridge and microwave. Free parking is provided and we offer typical hotel amenities like vending, laundry, free ice and a 24 hour front desk manned with knowledgeable staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makai Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makai Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Makai Beach Ormond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing