We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“crapy room and no tv remote.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Makai Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Makai Beach Lodge
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Ocala, Florida
1 review
“crapy room and no tv remote.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I found the makai beach lodge to be one of the most terrable places I have ever stay in.
I will never stay there again I would rather sleep on the beach than in that place. I would not bring my two dogs to a place like that. And you could not go swing at night even when there where signs saying that the pool was open from 8:00 pm to 9 at night. Thanks for the rotten time I had there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    90
    62
    45
    85
See reviews for
153
93
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I just got pictures from a friend in a family trip! The pictures of the moldy nasty room she sent me was the 2nd room they were given & supposedly a better room! her family tried to do the right thing after driving 20 hours & stay, but they just couldn't do it. Me personally I would recommend the health department being called!!! Moldy & filth & scum are unhealthy & deadly....guess what they refused to give all the money back!!! Shame Shame!!!
And shame on bookit.com for giving rave reviews...wish I'd have told her to use this sight, maybe her family woudnt have list a day of vaction!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaseballMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ormond Beach hotels

Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I was coming from Canada and did not know what to expect. We had oceanview room, with very comfortable bed, great tv Lifetime movie channel, kitchen and bathroom. The front desk staff were all excellent, lead by Lisa. Free continental breakfast was excellent, as well as a free local paper, one of the best I have read. The shopping was excellent, and just a trolley ride away. We were there during bike week and we had 50 motorcycles in our hotel. There was not one noisy night. Spring Break was going on as well, again, no noise after 10:00. We could walk on the beach, lovely pool, onsite laundry. The restaurants in the area were all excellent didn't have one bad meal the entire month. I would highly recommend this hotel and I do not work for them. I loved the remote controlled air conditioner in our room. Thank you to all the wonderful staff, it was a wonderful time for my husband and I.

signed Sue from Canada

Room Tip: I would choose top floor ocean view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charmee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Though this was a much older hotel, we loved it for our family trip in March. We stayed March 6-9, 2012. It is undergoing renovations & is definately not the Ritz. We had 2 adjoining rooms with a kitchen in the middle. Our rooms had new tile in the bathrooms, but had not been renovated otherwise. Our biggest requirements were that it be right on the beach, have microwave & fridge, and be cheap. It met all these requirements perfectly!!!! The staff was wonderful!!! They had beach gear & chairs you could check out for the day for free. The breakfast was fruit, yogurt, instant oatmeal, pastries & English muffins. They even had a free ice cream social on Thursday afternoon. This hotel seemed to have a lot of snowbirds from up north. It was very family friendly. Free wifi, right on the main strip, close to everything, even though we mostly just wanted to be in the water. We would definately stay here again, loved the experience, can't wait to return. Don't be put off by the age or renovation process or you will miss a jewel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltona, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We booked this through Groupon for a good rate. We read some reviews that were positive so we were looking forward to the little getaway. Unfortunately I checked again the day before the trip and new reviews explained the hotels condition alot better. My wife says I expect too much and since we only paid about $55 a night we got what we paid for. Well the hotel has changed owners recently. I guess they are trying to fix it up but not our room. The bathroom was missing some tiles in the shower. The tissues in the bathroom was in a rusty box with no cover. In the room there were spots in the walls that needed to be fixed. The door frame inside our room wasn't painted at all. The pool area wasn't very nice and not a relaxing experiance. The worst part is on the 3rd night our A/C went out at 11pm. We called down and they said they would reset the breaker. At 1am I called to the front desk and they had no idea it still wasn't working. At 1:20 a security guy came up and had no idea how to fix it. He came back again 20 mins. later to replace batteries in the remote. THERE WAS NO POWER TO THE A/C SO CHANGING THE BATTERIES WASN'T GOING TO FIX IT. Then I was told they would send someone from maintenance to fit it in the morning. Needless to say that when we checked out at 11 it was never fixed and VERY HOT!! I told the manager when we checked out and he told me that next time we stay there he would give us a better rate. I DON'T THINK THIS WILL BE NECESSARY. I would never stay there again. The moral to the story is next time I will spend more money to get a nicer room and you get what you pay for. I just wish the previous reviews were more realistic. We wouldn't have ever thought about staying here in the first place

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I don't know who's writing the good reviews but I have an idea...the management. This place is an absolute dump. I bought a Groupon deal because the pictures looked okay. I wasn't expecting much, but this place is absolutely terrible. Old, run-down, filthy. The chairs on the balcony were covered in something that looked like soot from a chimney. The pool area is dirty and the chairs are all torn up. I checked out five minutes after checking in. Stay away!

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank wordjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

This place is old, dirty, and falling apart. Beds are so umcomfotble and half the appliance didn't work. I read these other reviews and they sound like they are an advertisment from the hotel owners. Why does every review sound the same - and they all list everything that is in the motel. This place is a dump. Stay elsewhere!

Room Tip: Stay in a differnt hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#19 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#12 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
5.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Ormond Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makai Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makai Beach Lodge

Property: Makai Beach Lodge
Address: 707 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-7815
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Makai Beach Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makai Beach Lodge is primarily a beach side hotel located at the connection of Daytona Beach and Ormond Beach, this allows us to offer the fun of Daytona Beach with the pristine white sands of Ormond Beach. The hotel has a private beach entrance and beach side pool, kiddie pool, hot tub, grills, shuttle board and more. All rooms have modern LED Tv's with HBO included, free WIFI and most rooms have a fullsize kitchen with the rest having at a minimum fridge and microwave. Free parking is provided and we offer typical hotel amenities like vending, laundry, free ice and a 24 hour front desk manned with knowledgeable staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makai Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makai Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Makai Beach Ormond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing