We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach View”
Review of Makai Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Makai Beach Lodge
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed in a nice double room suite with kitchen on the ground floor, facing the ocean. What a wonderful view of the sunrise in the morning! We only stayed there 2 nights this time. Next time will be longer! The rooms were clean and well laid out, the beds were ok, but not the best. It was nice to sleep with the sound of the REAL ocean in the background! (We left the patio door open so we could hear it.) We did not eat breakfast on Sunday morning, because we had to leave early for a pancake breakfast at De Leon Springs. Monday(and other weekdays) breakfast isn't worth getting up for. We went to IHOP. The staff was nice and helpful. Rates were not bad for an ocean front room.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are worth the $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here the whole weekend on May 15th. We even extended late check out til 5pm..for reasonable fee. Tina at front desk and housekeeping were very helpful. Our room had a wonderful view of the beach. Enjoyed the jacuzzi, pool and the BBQ. Easy not to spend $ on food with our kitchen in room..thx for the stay. Have already recommended and will be back again..this is our new hotel in Ormond beach Daytona Beach area.
JP

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamaofablackbelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked on line before reading some of the reviews, so was pleasantly surprised to find the room very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful - Yes, there is a parking problem, but that happens at most of your motels in Daytona, especially on holiday weekends. We want to to especially mention Taquita ( hope spelling is close) our room attendant - she was so friendly and went out of her way to be helpful. The bath towels were new in our room, so the management is definitely trying to take care of some of the recent complaints. We realize this was an older motel, we had stayed over 18 years ago - the elevator has always been a little slow, but really didn't have much issue with that - We are in our 70's and needed to use it a lot! The continental breakfast was way beyond our expectations - thought it would be just coffee and donuts and maybe some fruit - but biscuits and gravy and fresh made waffles were a treat! Also used the big room to play cards and watch the news. We will definitely stay again if we come to the beach!

Room Tip: Oceanfront definitely!!!! We were on the fourth floor all the way over to the north - no noise at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My experience in using book-it for this reservation was less than desirable however my experience at the hotel was fine. You can't beat the access to the beach. The rooms were clean and decent quality. It was pet friendly (watch out for the $20 charge per night for pets though). My only complaint was the limited parking. If the price was right, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Makai. It's a small enough place to where they get to know you but big enough to have all the amenities.
The staff was super friendly and even the ladies that clean the rooms were super helpful and friendly.
The bed was super comfy. Loved the linens and all the pillows on the bed.
Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_legg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Everyone's stay is different based on personal expectations and the room you had. We stayed at the Makai in January for two weeks and had a second floor, ocean front room with a kitchen. Our room had been upgraded and remodeled. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable, the furniture was in excellent shape. The only down side to the room was that the four burner apartment size stove was old, but clean; everything worked.

I was able to visit two other rooms, one was the same as ours the other had a larger kitchen. Those rooms were in the same condition are ours and I wouldn't hesitate to stay in either of them.

Some of the outside areas and staircases could use a scrubbing and fresh paint, however the outside maintenance staff was always working while we were there to make things better. They had a wonderful pool area but we weren't able to use it due to the cooler weather. They had loungers outside and picnic tables.

They offer a continental breakfast (mostly carbs) with a pot of hot oatmeal. My husband went to breakfast early to meet with friends, however I usually slept in & ate in our room with the food we purchased. I did eat in the large breakfast room twice and had the oatmeal.

I would recommend this hotel for those who want to be right on the beach. The price was very reasonable for all that was included with this room.

Room Tip: There are several regulars who come every year. If you are planning a trip book early and ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJOutofTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My family and I stayed here 5/15 - 5/18 2014 and we will not stay anywhere else in the Daytona/Ormond Beach area, and trust me, we've stayed in plenty of hotels in the area. The service was fantastic, the staff is extremely friendly, and new look of the hotel is awesome! The rooms were spotless and clean! I can't wait to come back for race in July!

Room Tip: always go with beachside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnyVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Ormond Beach Mainsail Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 29 in Ormond Beach
339 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 29 in Ormond Beach
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#8 of 29 in Ormond Beach
1,174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#11 of 29 in Ormond Beach
76 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#7 of 29 in Ormond Beach
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makai Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makai Beach Lodge

Address: 707 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-7815
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range: £51 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Makai Beach Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makai Beach Resort is a beachside hotel located at the connection of Daytona Beach and Ormond Beach, this allows us to offer the fun of Daytona Beach with the pristine white sands of Ormond Beach, we are also the closest hotel to the ocean in the whole area. The hotel has a private beach entrance and beach side pool, kiddie pool, hot tub, grills, shuttle board and more. All rooms have modern LED Tv's with HBO included, free WIFI and most rooms have a fullsize kitchen with the rest having at a minimum a fridge and microwave. Free parking is provided and we can accomodate any sized vehicle. We offer typical hotel amenities like vending, laundry, free ice and a 24 hour front desk manned with knowledgeable staff. Every morning we have an excellent complimentary breakfast so our guests can start their day at the beach just right . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Makai Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makai Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Makai Beach Ormond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing