We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Makai Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Makai Beach Lodge
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Blackshear, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Rooms were dirty, floor and inside of mini fridge had stains. Banister was loose, lock to balcony door was broken and had been rigged with some bar that you pull up when you want to step outside. Elevator was out of order. I will say front desk staff were courteous and gave us a full refund.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4flynnsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    90
    62
    45
    85
See reviews for
153
93
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seymour, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

these people make you feel like your the only coustomer, the whole staff was wonderful. i would not hesitate to stay there again. thanks to steve and all the staff. the place was not super big but it was very friendly. the pool was nice and the beach area was nice. the whole stay was quite pleasant

Room Tip: ocean front rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

After weeks of reviews and consideration, we made reservations for an ocean view King Standard room which to our surprise and (what we thought) joy,was upgraded to a ocean view King Suite. Well, we were disgusted immediately due to the hair balls we found on the couch, food on dining chairs, food left on stove, hair in the bed, floors not clean(hair and film). The locks on the door didn't work and the lock for the glass sliding door was a piece of pvc pipe that we had to drop down in the track. We did however enjoy the beach and pool, and was impressed with the Breakfast they provided...I'll have to say one of the best continental set ups I've seen...but NO we won't return to this "Lodge" simply because of the NON cleanliness....THEN!!! when we go to check out we are asked to pay a $2.00 a day Resort Fee..Seriously????

Room Tip: Ask when the last time the room/floors have been cleaned or even ask to inspect the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KarenStarlingCrisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I planned my vacation a month and a half in advance. Turned down pretty decent rates at Best Western to stay here and very disappointed. We stayed 3 nights and 4 days. Never received a clean towel or rag, trash was never taken out(except for our own housekeeping ability), and the floors left a black film over all of our feet (7 guests). The kitchen still had food crumbs in the cabinets and spilled food in the fridge. The bed sheets were obviously not changed as there were dirt stains and a weird green blob on one of them. Televisions worked...sometimes. Beach experience was fun, local restaurants were okay, but the hotel was a drag. Continental breakfast? More like cereal, a few danishes (swarmed by flies all 3 mornings), and waffles...burnt to a pure crisp. Nothing like charred waffles in the morning. Thank god for the Denny's just down the road. After calling all three days to have these issues resolved, I met with the manager upon checkout to express my disgust and utter disappointment...she proceeded to acknowledge my concerns and assured me that she would help to resolve the situation and call us back later that day...after 3 days were still waiting. Will not recommend or return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ormond Beach hotels

New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed in a nice double room suite with kitchen on the ground floor, facing the ocean. What a wonderful view of the sunrise in the morning! We only stayed there 2 nights this time. Next time will be longer! The rooms were clean and well laid out, the beds were ok, but not the best. It was nice to sleep with the sound of the REAL ocean in the background! (We left the patio door open so we could hear it.) We did not eat breakfast on Sunday morning, because we had to leave early for a pancake breakfast at De Leon Springs. Monday(and other weekdays) breakfast isn't worth getting up for. We went to IHOP. The staff was nice and helpful. Rates were not bad for an ocean front room.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are worth the $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here the whole weekend on May 15th. We even extended late check out til 5pm..for reasonable fee. Tina at front desk and housekeeping were very helpful. Our room had a wonderful view of the beach. Enjoyed the jacuzzi, pool and the BBQ. Easy not to spend $ on food with our kitchen in room..thx for the stay. Have already recommended and will be back again..this is our new hotel in Ormond beach Daytona Beach area.
JP

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamaofablackbelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eustis, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked on line before reading some of the reviews, so was pleasantly surprised to find the room very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful - Yes, there is a parking problem, but that happens at most of your motels in Daytona, especially on holiday weekends. We want to to especially mention Taquita ( hope spelling is close) our room attendant - she was so friendly and went out of her way to be helpful. The bath towels were new in our room, so the management is definitely trying to take care of some of the recent complaints. We realize this was an older motel, we had stayed over 18 years ago - the elevator has always been a little slow, but really didn't have much issue with that - We are in our 70's and needed to use it a lot! The continental breakfast was way beyond our expectations - thought it would be just coffee and donuts and maybe some fruit - but biscuits and gravy and fresh made waffles were a treat! Also used the big room to play cards and watch the news. We will definitely stay again if we come to the beach!

Room Tip: Oceanfront definitely!!!! We were on the fourth floor all the way over to the north - no noise at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#5 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#19 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#12 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
5.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Ormond Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makai Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makai Beach Lodge

Property: Makai Beach Lodge
Address: 707 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-7815
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Makai Beach Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makai Beach Lodge is primarily a beach side hotel located at the connection of Daytona Beach and Ormond Beach, this allows us to offer the fun of Daytona Beach with the pristine white sands of Ormond Beach. The hotel has a private beach entrance and beach side pool, kiddie pool, hot tub, grills, shuttle board and more. All rooms have modern LED Tv's with HBO included, free WIFI and most rooms have a fullsize kitchen with the rest having at a minimum fridge and microwave. Free parking is provided and we offer typical hotel amenities like vending, laundry, free ice and a 24 hour front desk manned with knowledgeable staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makai Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makai Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Makai Beach Ormond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing