We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt like Tarzan & Jane”
Review of River Grille

River Grille
Ranked #12 of 208 Restaurants in Ormond Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We felt like Tarzan & Jane”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Looks ARE deceiving! Nice barn red quaint restaurant outside. Inside, levels to visit, explore right down to the Tomoka River where boats saunter by and docks to tie up to and visit!! Waiting for your table? No problem!! Lots to take in. Service with a smile to please. Chowders were devoured. We had Moist, Tender Salmon with an avocado sauce on the special and creamy good Crab cakes. The side Dill Marinated Tomatos just pulled it together. Go. Enjoy. Just, as the sign says, "No feeding or swimming with the Alligators." (Lest you become dinner)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krybaby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    252
    88
    41
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quality Suffers”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

the food is pretty good, and the wait-staff is very good and accommodating - the prices are a bit too-up and the presentation is just like - well, maybe an old-fashioned diner - my wife and I eat lunch or dinner there monthly but the menu never changes - monotonous - could use some perking-up!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank larry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE BEST”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Been there twice, one as a party of 2 and again as 6 and service was great and food was as well. this place was on their game, had heard years ago it wasn't all that but whatever they did they got it right, got to give them a A. we were there for lunch never dinner but would consider it based on both performances.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendell911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice view, average food....”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We have been to the River Grille twice. The first time the seafood was average and not all fresh (think frozen aka Red Lobster) like we expected for the area. Second time it wasn't any better. Locals told us to go elsewhere if we wanted better seafood. But the location is nice, on the Tomoka River, and there is outdoor seating. We call it average, nothing to write home about.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c21698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garards Fort, PA
Level Contributor
220 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best Catfish!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We ate here with friends who are from Ormond Beach and who suggested we have lunch here. They also recommended the catfish. My huisband says it was the best fish we had in our whole two month Florida stay. Service was excellent. Atmosphere in the screened in porch area was very nice. Our friend has a wheelchair and the accommodations for her were very good.
Would highly recommend! It was easy to find being right off the Interstate and it was easy to get back on to continue our trip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yellows2neTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to River Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing