We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven”
Review of Sun Deck Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ormond Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sun Deck Motel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Ocala, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have been coming to this little piece of heaven for quite some time now. We go every month that we can and have seen some huge improvements over the last year. Last year, the housekeeper changed to a sweet woman who's passion shows in her work. Angie is always ready to help and the rooms are immaculate. We noticed a big change in August of last year and the rooms just keep getting better. The property is kept nice and clean as well with the help of a few young men. The grills are great and it is nice to sit at the picnic tables and have a meal. The office gals (Jamie and Angie) are efficient in getting you checked in and really seem to know their way around the office and always have a smile on their face to greet you! Can't wait for our next visit at the end of the month!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    34
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
67
65
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mount Carmel, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We rented three rooms here for the weekend of July 11th, I was skeptical at first because I haven't had the best luck with little locally owned motels in the past, this place made up for the bad ones. We traveled 15 hours straight to get here and we arrived early, they were very accommodating and let us check in early. The lady at the front desk was amazing. The rooms were good sized and extremely clean. We had rooms 101,105,&108, I would stay in these exact rooms again. It's right on the beach and had great views. They have grills outside that you can cook on. We ended up only being able to stay one night due to a family emergency but I'll be back for sure.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Tasha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

we needed a room for 2 nights, we had a room w/frig and microwave and ocean view deck. room was clean and very affordable. location was great, right on the beach. they have grill outside/shower. room was clean and comfortable, the only issue was tv didn't work, they tried to fix it the first night, worked for a few minutes, would not work the next day.
we would stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yankeefan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here 6 nts with my 11 yr old daughter. This little place is so charming and service is friendly. Keith and Angie really go out of their way to make you feel at home. The rooms are extremely clean too, which is a nice change from the budget chains that usually tend to clean the surface and just end up 'sweeping the dirt under the rug'. It's no wonder that Sun Deck lives up to all of its positive reviews.

More importantly, you've got a beautiful and UNCROWDED beach just a few steps from your room. Get everything you need to stock up your fridge from the Publix grocery, which is DIRECTLY across the street. I can't wait to return!

Thank you Sun Deck Motel,
Katrina C.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank a71602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

For us this was a random stop for the night on our way to Key West. We weren't even sure we'd find an available room anywhere. Fortunately for us The Sun Deck had vacancies. It was unbelievably affordable, clean, comfortable, and wonderfully hospitable. It's quaint, but wifi is available. We'd most definitely stay here again over the so-called fancy hotels.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jutbodarna
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at Sun Deck motel and just close to the Atlantic Ocean and on the other side of the road we had all the service we could need, with restaurant, pizzeria and big grocery store if we wanted to make our own lunch or dinner. We had a useful little kitchen at the motel. The best of all the good things was the morning walks along the looooong sandy beach. We would like to come back in the future. We hope to.

  • Liked — How the motel was situated in the area
  • Disliked — The strong smell of (probably) some cleaning up soap.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

For the past 5 years it has been our family tradition to stay at sun deck on memorial day weekend. We stay with 4 other families and look forward to it each year. It's so convenient because of the location. There is a publix right across the street along with other very close shopping needs. The best part is the beach access! This place is like our little heaven on earth. The rooms are clean, the staff is super friendly and helpful. The owner is very accommodating and has always been super! Our family of 6 looks forward to our little getaway each May. The price to stay makes it affordable for our family to enjoy some much needed time away! We love everything about the Sun Deck motel. And highly recommend it:)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
3.6 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
332 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#8 of 28 in Ormond Beach
513 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 28 in Ormond Beach
452 reviews
3.8 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#21 of 28 in Ormond Beach
375 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#11 of 28 in Ormond Beach
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Deck Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Deck Motel

Property: Sun Deck Motel
Address: 1285 Ocean Shore Blvd, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-3602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ormond Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Deck Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sun Deck Motel. The "Best Kept Secret" In Ormond Beach with reasonable rates on the ocean. We're a 20 unit complex, sitting just 10 minutes north of the "World Famous Daytona Beach". A perfect location if you want to get into the action of one of today's greatest getaway vacation spots or getaway from all the hustle and bustle if that's your desire.Gorgeous ocean views and quiet sunsets will enchant you and mesmerize the setting and be your little secret getaway spot from now on.If you like the old time mom and pop place's than we are the place for you! We are family owned and family operated. We look forward to hearing from you soon!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sundeck Hotel Ormond Beach
Sun Deck Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing