We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”
Review of Sun Deck Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ormond Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sun Deck Motel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A hidden place that you would not think has the charm and feel of being at home from the main road. As you pull down the driveway, you are met with a small but very well kept 2 story motel. The office gal is friendly and very knowledgeable of the surrounding area. While we were there, she also doubled as the house keeper which we thought was a great way for her to keep up with the guests needs. The property is a bit older but the love that the owner has is shown in the upkeep. We go a few times a year and are always sad to have to leave!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    33
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
64
63
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate, SC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had another wonderful, restful stay at "the deck"! Love the un-intrusive service and the peaceful setting.

Was DISAPPOINTED to hear about a bacteria problem in the ocean (at the end of our stay) from a local on the beach...

Should check local news websites, etc. before we head down in the future.

Room Tip: Choose ocean front rooms -only 2- book early, view is AWESOME!!! Tight parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCTrekkerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Claire and I Francois have been staying at the Sun Deck now for 6 or 7 years. The rooms are very clean. We could not ask for better room service. This motel is close to restaurants, food market and it's right t on the beach. We could not find a better place for our holidays. We made new friends. We see them every year and they are glad to see us as we are glad to see them.
Don't be afraid to book, you will feel at home. Internet- Wi-Fi free
Clair & Francois Macra

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I reserved two rooms here. The rooms were very clean and the location was great (right on the ocean). The issue was management and the people the live there. Management kept knocking on my grandmother's door saying my children were stomping around and they weren't. My husband enen showed him inside the room where both my kids were occupied with tablets. This hotel is old and the floors and walls are extremely thin. I could hear and feel everything. We decided to leave after one night and go somewhere else because we didn't want to be bothered our entire stay. This hotel is not kid friendly and more of apartments than a motel. Most of the people live here on a regular. Never again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I made my reservations for a night based on favourable reviews on TA. The outward appearane caused doubt in my mind but everything else after that turned out to be copacetic. Although not lavish the room and the linen were clean and free of any funny odours . The AC unit had simple controls and functioned well. The WiFi so often feeble and frustating in such places was very steady. The room had a small kitchenette which allowed us to prepare our breakfast . The motel is right on the beach which is great convince . All this came at a very affordable price .The owner Robert and the receptionist Angie seem very nice and accomodationg.

Room Tip: The rooms with two twins are cheaper than the ones with queens bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyMD1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I actually ran across Sun Deck Motel by mistake when randomly looking around tripadvisor for beach hotels, and once I found out the cost and closeness to the beach (its right ON the beach) I booked two rooms for a couple of friends of mine and I. We stayed there this weekend and had an excellent time. All of the staff are very helpful and nice. You can pretty much see the beach from every doorway, and I got to see the sunrise and sunset every night and morning that we were there.

The best part: THE BEACH IS NOT CROWDED. I prefer going to beaches that are less populated and this one was perfect. It was clean, everyone in the rooms were friendly, and overall we just had a very chill time at Sun Deck. Before I checked out I booked another 3 rooms for next month :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have been coming to this little piece of heaven for quite some time now. We go every month that we can and have seen some huge improvements over the last year. Last year, the housekeeper changed to a sweet woman who's passion shows in her work. Angie is always ready to help and the rooms are immaculate. We noticed a big change in August of last year and the rooms just keep getting better. The property is kept nice and clean as well with the help of a few young men. The grills are great and it is nice to sit at the picnic tables and have a meal. The office gals (Jamie and Angie) are efficient in getting you checked in and really seem to know their way around the office and always have a smile on their face to greet you! Can't wait for our next visit at the end of the month!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
3.6 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
329 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
510 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 28 in Ormond Beach
448 reviews
3.8 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#21 of 28 in Ormond Beach
373 reviews
3.8 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 28 in Ormond Beach
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Deck Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Deck Motel

Property: Sun Deck Motel
Address: 1285 Ocean Shore Blvd, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-3602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ormond Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ormond Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Deck Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sun Deck Motel. The "Best Kept Secret" In Ormond Beach with reasonable rates on the ocean. We're a 20 unit complex, sitting just 10 minutes north of the "World Famous Daytona Beach". A perfect location if you want to get into the action of one of today's greatest getaway vacation spots or getaway from all the hustle and bustle if that's your desire.Gorgeous ocean views and quiet sunsets will enchant you and mesmerize the setting and be your little secret getaway spot from now on.If you like the old time mom and pop place's than we are the place for you! We are family owned and family operated. We look forward to hearing from you soon!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sundeck Hotel Ormond Beach
Sun Deck Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing