We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family owned property!”
Review of Sun Deck Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ormond Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sun Deck Motel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Daytona Beach Shores, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A family owned property!”
Reviewed 19 August 2009

The owner and his son (Keith) are very attentive to the needs of their guests. My husband and I enjoyed our stay and felt the hospitality immediately upon arrival.
We felt welcomed on property during our entire stay.
The air conditioning was not working and it was replaced immediately to our amazement. Kudo's to the family duo.
Roger & Nan Louise
www.AHealthierYouEvent.Isotonix.com

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    34
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
67
65
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2009

The Sundeck Motel offers its guests a comfortable and affordable stay. The employees are friendly and helpful, and the rooms give a relaxing, home-like feel. The motel sits directly on the beach and is close to everything you need during your stay- grocery, bank, shops, restaurants,etc. The motel gives the comforts of a commercial hotel without the sky high prices or overwhelming amounts of people. I recommend staying at the Sundeck; it's quiet, affordable, and relaxing and offers all the comforts of home.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamsD90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

The Sun Deck is an older Motel on the beach, run by a friendly staff. Compared to Daytona, Ormond is more quiet and less touristy. The location is great; restaurants, grocery store, coffee, and bars nearby. Speaking of restaurants, Cuvee, Pip's and Betty's were all good!
While the hotel is older, the staff keep it neat and clean, and it attracts a friendly group of guests. The beach is quiet and right out the motel doors!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank medicalimaging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2009

The Sun Deck is a great place to stay. It has great rooms and friendly people. The beach is so beautiful. It's like having your own private beach. You can walk to go shopping, eat or go to the bank. I wish I could stay forever. I recommend this motel to all my friends and family. : ) Janelle

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TikoGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2009

Have always enjoyed my stay at the Sun Deck. Have been here several times in the last 5 years. Owner Robert and family run the motel. They will do anything for you. Rooms are very clean and roomy. Pet Friendly. Walk to stores.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGordonFan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, GA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

Peaceful and serene environment with a breathtaking view of the ocean from any angle on the property. Friendly owners who are kind and courteous. Comfortable bed with high quality linens and furnishings. The room even had a nice comfortable couch with a coffee table in front. Also included high speed internet, which was required by my employer for my stay here. This was originally just a business trip, where I'd planned to stay at the cheapest, non-roach infested hotel, however it turned out to be a quality vacation. They even accommodated my dog! I even decided to stay another day and drive 1 hour north commute for my next days job, just to stay one more day at the Sun Deck Motel.

No pool and No phones in room.- Who needs a pool when you have the ocean and who needs a hotel phone when everyone has a cell phone! This keeps for a calm peaceful environment, not over-taken by tourists. Its like having your own peace of the beach while your here.

The mainstream hotel bracket here will run you $80-$125 for a 2 star hotel in the off- season. For the quality of a 4 star, you pay only a fraction. Maybe I should leave this whole paragraph out, just so I know something you dont know.

  • Liked — The quality of the room for the price, and the 10 step walk to the ocean
  • Disliked — maybe the parking, but thats not a variable factor
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank colbynewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London Ontario Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2008

Since we had no photos to go by, I was a little bit nervous of the "unseen". When we drove in the laneway of the Sun Deck, I said to my partner I think I'm going to cry...this looks so very nice!
Robert (owner) and his wife and son were so very hospitable. We had no complaints about the motel, and the location was perfect. Robert gave us the beach front ground floor efficiency and the view of the ocean every day was wonderful. There is a plaza directly across from the motel that has a Publix grocery store and a great little restaurant.
We found wonderful little places to eat great fish!! High Tides at Flagler Beach has awesome fish sandwiches, and the Turtle Shack just north of the traffic lights on Flagler Beach was well worth the drive, and along the coast is such a nice drive!
Our room was cleaned every day, and the staff were very eager to make sure that we were comfortable.
The guests were very welcoming as well, and many were spending the winter months there.
We ABSOLUTELY loved the Sun Deck, and will go back next year for a month!

  • Liked — The location and the price.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kiorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
3.6 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
334 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
518 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 28 in Ormond Beach
453 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#11 of 28 in Ormond Beach
73 reviews
3.3 mi away
Symphony Beach Club
Symphony Beach Club
#13 of 28 in Ormond Beach
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Deck Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Deck Motel

Property: Sun Deck Motel
Address: 1285 Ocean Shore Blvd, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-3602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ormond Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ormond Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Deck Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sun Deck Motel. The "Best Kept Secret" In Ormond Beach with reasonable rates on the ocean. We're a 20 unit complex, sitting just 10 minutes north of the "World Famous Daytona Beach". A perfect location if you want to get into the action of one of today's greatest getaway vacation spots or getaway from all the hustle and bustle if that's your desire.Gorgeous ocean views and quiet sunsets will enchant you and mesmerize the setting and be your little secret getaway spot from now on.If you like the old time mom and pop place's than we are the place for you! We are family owned and family operated. We look forward to hearing from you soon!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sundeck Hotel Ormond Beach
Sun Deck Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing