We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older property but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Older property but nice”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We have several family members here for the week and we have two units....a two bedroom and a one bedroom. They're both clean and functional but both kitchens are small and limited storage. The outdoor area is nice....plenty of lounges at the pool and nice beach area, too.

Grocery shopping is near....Publix about one mile and Walmart and Sam's Club is 5 or 6 miles.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mjandpups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    87
    48
    27
    15
See reviews for
103
67
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Stood there this past March with the wife and a couple friednds and had a very good time. The weather could have been better to enjoy the beach, as it was in the 60's almost every day we were there, but overall it was a nice resort to walk out into the beach from. There is a pool and a hot tub for the guests to use and we took advantage of it. The rooms were well kept, yes it is an older property and there are signs of this in the rooms/hallways/elevator/lobby- but it isn't run down by any means. There is no internet in the rooms ( we stayed in a 2 bedroom/2bad room on the 7th floor) .. that said, we were able to stop by a local resort next door and obtain the password for their wifi service that reached our room! ;)
The view from the balcony is fantastic! It is like something out of a movie somewhere. That is the main reason we came and that is the main reason this resort gets it's 4th star. Location, location, location, plain and simple. There is a great amount of restaurants to walk too, and there is also a family dollar across the street for all those little things you forget along the way. The pool seemed somewhat heated, not sure if this was the sun or if it was the actual pool that heats up. The outside area was pretty clean and well kept around the pool area. I must mention this though, I hope no one else gets annoyed by all the little "bugs" that fly around the pool area and balcony that give the most annoying little bites! The were all over the balcony and pool area, it was very annoying... maybe I should have brought some bug spray?
There is a nice bar near the pool for your drinking needs... and yes, this is a time share resort, so don't be surprised if someone tries to give you the speech on the whole deal- but by no means did they become annoying. There was always free coffee and mints at the front desk so that was a plus, and the elevators all worked fine. Bonus for having parking underground for easy access. The appliances in the room are older but worked fine. The rooms also included plates/forks/spoons/etc for guest use- so that was a plus. Also nice there was soap available for the dishwasher.

Oh, before I forget, I should also mention that they allow cars to drive on the beach... In case this is a negative for some people.. we didnt find it to be.

I will leave it on a good note... besides the great view... the next best thing was the BED! I would never think I would say this about a hotel- but boy was that bed sooooooo good! Some of the best rest i've had in a loooong time!

Go here during off-season or peak season.. great beach view and not as crowded as daytona a few minutes south..

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the 7th floor, the view is incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is a great property, if you know what to expect and NOT expect. The pros are: very helpful staff, ocean views, 2 grills for guests to use by the pool, hot tub, pool, great beach, nice location with plenty of things to do, restaurants withing walking or short driving distance, etc. The cons: the property is old (carpeting, elevators, etc) - everything looks well-worn. They treat it as a time-share property, so no maid service unless you want to pay extra. The rooms have all the basic conveniences, but the decor is very plain. Hopefully, none of this matters if you are there to enjoy the beach. The biggest inconvenience for us was no internet in rooms, only in the lobby. There are two computers downstairs, which guests can use free of charge. Again, if you are getting a good deal on your stay, this can be just a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheburashka109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of bike week. Nicely located a few miles away from the main events, but still part of it all.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Slight hiccup when checking in as we had booked early and requested a higher floor, but were given a first floor room. I was very disappointed and said so (we had particularly wanted the view from higher floors), but the receptionist said as the hotel was full there was nothing she could do. We were early and the room wasn't ready yet so we sat outside for a drink. When we went to get our key at 4pm we found we'd been moved to another room on a higher floor. We were so happy.
We had an oceanfront studio, the noise of the sea was so loud we didn't hear any bikes! We were on 4th floor and the view was fantastic. I loved watching the sunrise each morning. Great little balcony to sit on too. The room was spotless, and the kitchen appliances looked like they'd hardly been used! Bed was lovely and comfortable.
The pool was very nice and warm enough to use. The weather was sunny but cool.
Several restaurants in walking distance, we particularly enjoyed the Olive Garden which we went to twice!
Thank you Casa del Mar for a lovely stay :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir City
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We have stayed at this resort several times and have never been disappointed with the condition of the room or cleanliness. This time we stayed on the second floor in a one bedroom unit. The only drawback was the room was in the section outside of the interior where the elevators are. They were nosier because you could hear the traffic more. Our room had been renovated in the last couple of years and was in good order. The bed was very, very comfortable, but the couch was hard to sit on. All in all, it was a great stay, especially since it was right on the beach. Oh yes, we also liked the underground parking. We made a couple of day trips to Saint Augustine since it was only one hour away. Great place to go for the history.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed at Casa Del Mar in early February. We had a studio on the third floor, it was very spacious, clean and had a great ocean view. The kitchen really needs an update. The appliances are older. The pool area and pool had plenty of places to sit. The staff was friendly. There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby and bar which was nice. Maybe someday they will have it available in the rooms. Overall you can not beat this resort and you are right on the beach. I do love waking up to see the ocean every morning!

Room Tip: Make sure ti get a room on the Ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel was pretty clean although there was (1) cockroach on the couch in the morning.
When I checked in they make you go to a 2nd desk to get your parking pass and the lady there talks to you about purchasing at a discount another trip with them. Discounted because its a timeshare-ish sales pitch.
I had no problems with the hotel. I unplugged my phone because I read previous reviews that the hotel staff call starting at 8am about selling you the discounted timeshare stay they want to sell you.

Room Tip: ocean front 2nd floor is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ormond Beach
1.0 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#11 of 28 in Ormond Beach
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 28 in Ormond Beach
206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection

Property: Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection
Address: 621 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-7715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Casa Del Mar Ormond Beach
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing