We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great home base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great home base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed a week as an RCI exchange. Great location right on the beach which is super wide and stretches for miles. In fact, we walked to Daytona Beach one day, 7 miles RT. Easy to get to St. Augustine on the freeway. Rooms were a little dated, NO counter space in the kitchen and the bathroom/closet layout was weird! Great pool area, grilled out on their patio a couple times.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliemj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Hello juliemj,

Thank you for visiting Casa del Mar on exchange and sharing your experience. We are happy to hear that you found the location convenient for your excursions. We appreciate your comments on the pool area and patio. We hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    80
    48
    26
    15
See reviews for
94
63
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Wonderful sunrise every morning. Beds very comfortable. Room very clean and quiet (you don't hear other guests when in your room!). Pool area kept very clean. Kitchen had everything we needed. Easy access to beach & pool. Had 2 kids with us and spent almost every day at beach & pool. Great restaurants nearby. Daytona & St Augustine are very close.

Lobby, bar, & resort scheduled activities could use some help.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slav2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Hello Slav2210,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Casa del Mar. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the room to be clean, quiet, and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you and your family again on the beach or in the pool on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Horeb, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Traveled with 2 adults and 4 kids in June of 2012. The property is really nice, and RIGTH on the beach. Nice big pool and newer hot tub. We loved the location! The bar area in the lobby with food selections was wonderful.
We had a 2 bedroom, ocean front. The bedrooms in the conod were very nice, and recently updated. The master bedroom is HUGE, which would've been great for another bathroom. There was a sink and big hot tub, but no toilet..... There is definitely plenty of room in the master. Both bedrooms had balconies that overlooked the pool and beach. Amazing sunrises! There was only one bathroom in the unit, which was difficult for the week with 4 kids. The unit sleeps 6, but there are only 4 dining chairs...?? The living room and kitchen are pretty outdated, but served their purpose.

Pros: Great location, close to shops, mini golf and restaurants. Resort is nice and clean and no high pressure time share sales. Wonderful ocean view from bedroom balconies and huge master bedroom.

Cons: Outdated kitchen/living room and bathroom areas. Only 4 dining chairs for 6 person occupancy. Just one bathroom, when plenty of room in unit for 2.

Room Tip: Any ocean view room is great. Two bedroom units have balconies off both bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachLover53572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Hello N H,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Casa del Mar. We are happy you enjoyed the location of the resort and your two-bedroom oceanfront unit. We are sorry to hear that the lack of a second bathroom in the unit caused any inconvenience. We do hope you return to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

The rooms are very small. We had a one bedroom oceanfront and with a family of four it was a little tight. The room was very clean and the view from balcony was nice! The bed was really comfortable and that is saying a lot coming from me! Location is great with a wonderful beach!! Not too far from Daytona but far enough to have a less crowd! It is an older building and the rooms do show that. Not sure I would stay here again, just because size of room but really that is the only reason.

Room Tip: Make sure to get an Oceanfront not Oceanview if you want more than a small window to see Ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Check in early and very nice front desk people. Conceirge (Angie) was dressed inappropriatly for position and age. High heels and skinny hot pants were very unbecoming and unprofessional for her job.
Room adequately clean and stocked. Pool and hot tub nice.
We had street view studio that slept two people which was loud from traffic. No ocean ambiance from our side.
Bar tender Mary Ann very nice and helpful. Also older lady in gift shop very sweet.
Concierge Lucee very helpful.
Need more grills for the number of rooms on this property.
Unable to find beach towels. Just small bath towels to use.
Like coffee and water in the lobby !!
Location. Very good. Many places close by.
Steve's place $1.99 breakfast is great !!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryKayGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, KY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had a two bedroom unit. The bedrooms were good size and they both had small ocean front balconies. The rooms were clean and the staff were super friendly. They had bean bag toss, shuffle board, and activities for kids planned. Patrick, at the desk, never steered us wrong when we asked for advice (I felt like the concierges were pointing us towards places that we weren't really interested in). The dining/living space was small without a view unless you opened the shutters to a bedroom and looked through it. We were luck and the weather was awesome so we weren't in the room for extended periods of time, but if we were, we might have felt a little cramped. All in all though, I would recommend it for an a little better than average room with great beach access.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlsorrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here twice now and the second time just as great as the first! The staff is always courteous and professional and welcoming. The rooms are clean and the housekeeping does enter your room your whole stay. We like this because it helps it feel more like a resort and less like a hotel. Beachside view rooms are amazing and rooms are spacious and clean. Perfect stay for families or couples. Pool is nice, new hot spa is great and beach access is perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#12 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#13 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
0.1 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#21 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection

Property: Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection
Address: 621 South Atlantic Ave., Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Casa Del Mar Ormond Beach
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing