We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Expect Too Much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection
Grayson, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Expect Too Much”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

As vacation clubs go Bluegreen, RCI, Marriott, etc, the best locations are the ones built from the ground up. Renovated properties are always crappy in comparison. Stayed at Casa Del Mar while visiting family for Thanksgiving holiday. The staff was warm and very helpful but our room was stinky, kitchen microscopic, and there was NO WiFi! The next time we travel to Ormond Beach, we'll stay someplace else.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hello Robyn M,

Thank you for staying with us at Casa del Mar and sharing your review. While we are glad you had a positive experience with our staff, we regret to learn that you did not have a great stay overall. We welcome you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to discuss further. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    85
    48
    26
    15
See reviews for
101
65
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Was not bluegreen quality. Old hotel with some paint - they tried to dress it up, but I was very disappointed. It was clean, staff was very friendly. I've stayed in other Bluegreen properties which were spectacular. So this was a downer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hello debrahun,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Casa del Mar. We regret to learn that your experience did not meet your expectations for a Bluegreen resort. We invite you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to provide additional details or discuss further. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We were disappointed there was not any type of continental breakfast. I was visiting for a conference and did not have time to go for a meal beforehand. Biggest shock was when I got home there was $100 additional charge on my bank statement. We had already paid per Priceline. When I called I was advised that this was for deposit which would be refunded by them by the end of the day, however it is a Saturday and will likely take my bank 3 days to repost it to my account. I was not advised there would be this fee, neither on check in or check out and had not figured this extra charge into my budget. Frustrating. Our room also had a musty odor and we slept with the patio door open to clear it out. Too busy with conference to check out anything else about the hotel. Close to beachfront.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hello Stacey C,

Thank you for staying at Casa del Mar. We are committed to the highest standards of quality accommodations and customer service. We would like to learn more about your particular concerns. Please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ormond Beach hotels

Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Pros: underground parking
Abundance of luggage carts
Very nice pool and deck
Grills and tables
Awesome shower pressure
Kid activities (wish we could have done a few more )
Very friendly staff
Cons: washer and dryer not in unit. This is the first resort we have stayed where a washer and dryer were not in the unit. With 3 kids we will probably not stay at another resort in the future with no w/d in unit.
Rooms need some updating and could be a little cleaner. It felt a little dirty with the old carpets and couches. I was told at the presentation that they are working on it. Got a 2 bd unit and a studio. Studio was nice for 2 people. I expected the 2 bd to have more walking around space. We saw a 2 bd during the presentation that did have alot more space. 5 of us felt like we were tripping over each other
The pillows were super huge and uncomfortable. I had to get my travel pillow from the car. The kids threw theirs on the floor and used their pillow pets.


Overall we were happy with our stay but most likely will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hello Christy C,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Casa del Mar. We are happy you enjoyed the beachfront location and were happy with your stay overall. We appreciate your comments regarding the staff, pool, and activities. We regret that all aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. If you would like to share further details, please feel free to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We went down for biketoberfest and called the night before and was able to get an oceanfront room. I know it is off season and this would not happen during peak time but we appreciated the staff making our stay rememberable. The staff was ready to work with and was very pleasant. The room was clean and nice. We had a kitchenette , living room and seperate bedroom. The bed was a queen and was uncomfortable but I am not a good judge on beds because I have a king luxery hotel mattress so unless I am staying in a luxury hotel most beds do not feel comfortable to me. I appreciated the parking garage to keep bike and truck out if the salt air. I also liked the activities scheduled. I would love to see a spa on the premises. Overall we enjoyed the hotel, the view, the pool and the ocean.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntMissyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hello AuntMissyof2,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Casa del Mar. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room clean and nice. We appreciate your compliments regarding the staff and the service they provided as we aim to share happiness with all of our guests. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wedowee, Alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We own a Time Share in another area but were able to vacation here also. The property is small but extremely clean and efficient; possibly just refurnished. Carpet was new throughout, walls like new. Linens were so much more than expected in this mid level hotel. Lobby was very upscale and appropriate for the area. Check in was almost immediate when we arrived.

Our first room was a hotel room with small kitchen adequately supplied with dishes, etc.. Bath room was roomy. The second room we had was a huge two bedroom with living room and full kitchen and two balconies. It would be easy to spend a month in this unit.

A small bar grill was on site and had great sandwiches and good drinks.

The pool area was just steps away with an abundance of new lounges. A few more steps and you were on the beach. Two grills were on this level and appeared to be new. Tables with umbrellas were also provided nearby.

The staff were among the best we have ever encountered. Just seem to love their jobs.

Room Tip: The two bedroom 302 was an end room and very quiet. Had a great beach view. Ask for a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dianne06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Hello dianne06,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Casa del Mar. We appreciate your compliments regarding the property, accommodations, and staff. Your feedback lets us know that we are accomplishing our goal to share happiness with our guests and provide outstanding accommodations and service. We do hope to see you back on your next visit to the Ormond Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Leon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I booked this room through Choice hotels and was pleasantly surprised that they are partnered with Bluegreen. My parents are Bluegreen owners and this property certainly lived up to my expectations. We had a King Efficiency room with an oceanfront view. It was truly great and everything in the hotel was convenient. They even had underground parking so our car wasn't out in the salt air. We'll definitely return!

Room Tip: Definitely request Ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Hello Shannon091212,

Thank you for staying with us at Casa del Mar and sharing your experience. We are thrilled that you had a great stay and we lived up to your expectations. We hope you will stay with us again for a little getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ormond Beach
1.0 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#8 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#11 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.1 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#23 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection

Property: Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection
Address: 621 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-7715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Casa Del Mar Ormond Beach
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing