We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Just returned from a week at Casa Del Mar and have no complaints. The staff was friendly and courteous and the rooms and grounds were tremendous. The ocean front locale and on site activities kept my 4 sons busy all week. The underground parking was a plus as well as the proximity to the fabulous Putt-Putt accross the street. The rooms were ok, if not totally spectacular, but acceptable in my mind, knowing this is a refurbished hotel property that needed the upgrade. My lone issue for the week was the hot tub. It could have been bigger and the water level was not where it should have been, but that did not stop people from using it, as it was occupied most of the time.
We used the kitchen area almost every night and found it adequate for our party of six.
We had a wonderful family vacation and would recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhenson2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2009

My husband and I went with our teenage daughter and her friend and we spend a relaxing time. It was cold so we stayed in most of the time we were there. When we arrived the room they set for us was in need of inspection to say the least. The manager was off duty but was able to arrange a cleaner room within 30 mins. The attendant was very helpful. The room they put us in was an upgraded room with larger living area. The girls enjoyed the hot tubs outside almost every night. It was nice, we might go back in another month other than Jan. The room was oceanfront and we could not enjoy it because it was so cool. The rooms are a little dated but cute.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

We only stayed 2 nights at this resort but after we left, we wished we had stayed longer. Our room was newly renovated and very nice. I liked that the lifeguard tower was on site. We did not have the chance to really do what all they had to offer but for a resort that's on the beach, I would recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jstilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

Casa del Mar was wonderful. Right on the beach and with a huge pool, hot tub and children' s pool, shuffleboard and fitness room. If we could have afforded the Blue green timeshare, we would have bought it just to go to Casa del Mar once a year, every year. Every staff member was kind, friendly, anxious to please, efficient and professional. The resort was clean, odor-less, well-kept and impressive. The Activities Person worked very hard to make available a variety of fun activities for all ages. His only problem was getting enough people to sign up. Though it was Spring Break, and the place was said to be full, we had no problem with crowds. My Grandson loved the activities man and did not want to leave the playroom. I am afraid, we kept the man overtime just entertaining and playing.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissouriGogoGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

We just got back from a glorious week. The accomodations are ok, clean and comfortable. The beds could use an upgrade, ask for a suite facing the pool since they face the ocean as well. The rooms on the street side are noisy with the sliding door open but fine when closed. The staff was friendly and very helpful and the underground parking was very convenient. Even during Spring Break the pool was not over crowded. The beach was excellent and sandy no rocks and smooth. Come in through the 3rd Datona/Ormond Beach exit and you will see the upscale of Ormond Beach as opposed to Daytona which is a little run down. There is great mini golf and ice ceam just across the street. Would go back in a min.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bklyntommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

this may be a resort, but for what, bugs and rats? also stale odors in room. the manager moved us to a room on the 4th floors after our many complaints about the roach room and it was better, but just ok......wow thought it was one of our options for travel ownership to the beach....YUK! Manager promised to give our points back for the first 2 nights and NEVER HAS! BEWARE!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BADRESORTREVIEWER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2009

This facility is part of Bluegreen Vacations, but as such falls short. We've stayed in 10 places owned by Bluegreen or affiliated with it, and Casa Del Mar is not in the top 5. The balconies are 'private' in that you don't have to share them with anyone, but as the rooms are close together, so are the balconies, and you can see into the room next door if you stand in front of the balcony. The walls are thin and sometimes sounds from the neighbors or the hall sound like they're in the same room with you. The kitchen is amazingly small, with no useful counter space. On the plus side, the water pressure is great, plenty of hot water, all the appliances work very well, and the heat/ac works great. The room we were in looked newly decorated with a cross of FL/Caribbean flair and new carpet. The staff is wonderful, the laundry facilities are free (tho they don't supply detergent or softener). The pool and hot tub look nice, but it was too cold to swim. Looking out over the ocean, tho, is terrific, and the sound of the waves very soothing. Bluegreen has been working on updating the place for at least 4 years now, and it's much better than it used to be.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank songbirdtova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#7 of 29 in Ormond Beach
530 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#8 of 29 in Ormond Beach
1,174 reviews
0.0 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 29 in Ormond Beach
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 29 in Ormond Beach
228 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona/Ormond Beach
1.1 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 29 in Ormond Beach
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection

Address: 621 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-7715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Ormond Beach
Price Range: £80 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Casa Del Mar Ormond Beach
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing