We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honey moon Disapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Discrace for bluegreen to call this resort theirs! The rooms need to be fixed badly. The bed was like laying on the floor! FHad to go to the chiropractor the week after and spend unecessary money due to this hotel! Bad experience!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemoonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2009

This place is right on the beach you can't get any closer than this hotel. it is nice not plush but very clean some of the rooms are on the small side but you come here to enjoy the beach and you wll be able to do that with ease if you stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpi-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

First of all let me say my spouse and I were highly disappointed! Bluegreen should be ashamed to even claim this so called place of a "resort." This place is soooo out dated!!!! The tile is from the 80sand the kitchen is smaller than the balcony. The toilets look like they ripped them out of a public bathroom and stuck them on the wall...how distasteful!! To top it off there were little ants crawling all over the 1inch counter space. The pictures online were a total lie!!! Also the rooms smelled raunchy! They did not have proper fitting sheets on our bed so we went out and got our own and had to buy bug spray!!! Don't ever stay here even if it is your last resort!!! What a dirty, horrible place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ClearBeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

so let me start out by saying, i have stayed in many delightful bluegreen resorts and loved them all! this one however, was a huge disgrace to the bluegreen company. bluegreen should be ashamed of themselves for even having this place as one of they're resorts. i am appauled. before we even went on the trip we viewed the online slideshow of the place...these pictures are a big lie!!! everything looks up to par in these photos but when we arrived the place looked run down and old. even my youngest child was disappointed at first sight of this place. her exact words when we first arrived were, "this place looks cheap mommy!" and i agreed but i thought maybe things would be better on the inside. boy was i wrong!!! when we first walked into our room the first thing i noticed was a distinct musty smell. then i noticed how outdated and dirty everything was. there was a disgusting shower that i could not bear to bathe in, everytime i showered i wanted to cry because it was so filthy and small. there was a dark brown stain on the floor of the shower and mildew on the tile as if no one had ever cleaned it. also was an infestation of ants all over the kitchen and eating area. gross! we also were told we would have an oceanfront room, instead we had a view of the family dollar across the street. so disappointing. we had to go out on the very end corner of the balcony and stretch our necks to see the ocean.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndersonSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

After reading some of the negative reviews I was a bit apprehensive about our stay but from the moment we arrived I was pleasantly suprised. We arrived about an hour early and our room was ready. It was clean, facing the ocean, and more than adequate for 2 people. We stayed in a oceanfront studio, and it would be cramped if more than 2 adults were staying even though the couch pulls out into a bed. The ocean view was fantastic, even though the balcony was a bit small. Pool and pool area was always clean and never crowded. There were always chairs available around the pool, and the location on the beach was perfect. We didn't use the grills, but several people did and seemed to enjoy them. The only complaint I have is that the poolside bar/snack bar closed at 8:00pm even though the pool was open until 10:00 pm and it would have been nice to get a couple of drinks after dinner. Also, the menu at the snack bar, while good was not varied enough. Just pizza, hot dogs, nachos, popcorn, and ice cream. It would have been nice to get a sandwich, or even a hamburger and fries or other appetizers. The closest restuarant within walking distance was Charlie Horse and it was excellent, but at least a half mile walk. The free laundry room was also a plus. There were always washers/dryers available. Overall, this was a very relaxing vacation and I will come back to this place again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texastravel052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We were reading prior reviews before we arrived and were unsure what to expect with reviews all over the place. We were pleasently suprised. Check in was quick and staff were very courteous all week. The room was just fine although I agree that they are a little dated. We were told that refurbishment would be taking place in the next year. We did not partake of many of the amenities but the pool was fabulous. We traded in from elsewhere and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Just returned from a week at Casa Del Mar and have no complaints. The staff was friendly and courteous and the rooms and grounds were tremendous. The ocean front locale and on site activities kept my 4 sons busy all week. The underground parking was a plus as well as the proximity to the fabulous Putt-Putt accross the street. The rooms were ok, if not totally spectacular, but acceptable in my mind, knowing this is a refurbished hotel property that needed the upgrade. My lone issue for the week was the hot tub. It could have been bigger and the water level was not where it should have been, but that did not stop people from using it, as it was occupied most of the time.
We used the kitchen area almost every night and found it adequate for our party of six.
We had a wonderful family vacation and would recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhenson2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#7 of 29 in Ormond Beach
525 reviews
0.0 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 29 in Ormond Beach
338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#9 of 29 in Ormond Beach
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#11 of 29 in Ormond Beach
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 29 in Ormond Beach
225 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 29 in Ormond Beach
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection

Address: 621 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-7715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Ormond Beach
Price Range: £83 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Casa Del Mar Ormond Beach
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing