We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the staff was so Friendly and we Definately will return!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Floridian Resort
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
“the staff was so Friendly and we Definately will return!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Great view, great room, great staff!! We had an amazing time! Herb rocks the front desk, Teresa is always doing activities with the kiddos and Steve is the best bartender in town! I would HIGHLY recommend it. We had beach, pool, basketball, gas grills, putt-putt and more right at our easy access. Thanks again Royal Floridian for making our family vacation a memorable time!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karaengle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    149
    75
    32
    29
See reviews for
172
163
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

This timeshare resort is very nice (a converted hotel from what I've read) however, the rooms can be a little dated. The rooms are spacious for being a converted hotel, but are small compared to other dedicated timeshare buildings. The sofa bed in our room was a typical sofa bed, thin mattress, but that was expected. I've never stayed at a hotel or timeshare with a luxury sofa bed. The kind bed was very comfortable. The rooms were clean, but the floors were sandy, but that's expected being a beach front resort.

The outdoor pool was warm and decent size, as was the outdoor hot tub. The indoor pool is smaller and the hot tub was far from hot (same temp water as the pool!) Be aware that in the event of a thunderstorm (common in summer in FL) the indoor pool is closed as well since the pump house is outdoors.

There is a very basic mini-golf course for the kids to enjoy as well as shuffleboard and many other activities, even a Sunday family (kids) movie night outdoors on a inflatable screen.

Unlike most of the timeshares I've stayed at, the kitchens in these (the main, large building, not the new 'South' building) are tiny. They are the wall of the dining/living room and the stove is a tiny stove. The oven is barely big enough to cook anything in. The dishwasher is also immediately under the sink and thin, losing a lot of space for dirty dishes. The utensils were also old and the knives were dull and some of the steak knives would separate from the handles.

The parking garage in the main building can become a mini-pool in itself in the event of heavy rain. Three of the nights, there was a few inches of water in the garage, on the eastern half, with almost 4-5" in the NE corner! One of the timeshare owners stated it's been that way for over 10 years, and no effort has been made to provide/improve drainage. You may have to hike through ankle to calf deep water to get to your car for a few hours after a heavy rain.

They also provided wrist bands for use pool side, but this wasn't enforced. Also, the room key access to the beach gate was broken. Even after informing the front desk, it still wasn't working two days later, leaving people stuck on the beach (in some cases, having to jump the fence to open the gate.) I opened the gate for a handicapped resident who couldn't get in and would have a difficult time walking the 1/4 mile+ to the public beach ramp and then the 1/4+ mile back to the front entrance.

Also, in the evening, they CHAIN ALL the gates closed, even to the beach and EVEN the gates at the first floor patios, which I'm not sure how that's not a violation of fire dept. regulations as it would force people to hop a fence if their front room doors were blocked by fire. Good luck to any handicapped people that would need to get out in an emergency! They never checked people coming in the front door and you could get access to the hotel via the unsecured garage (add in never checking the wrist bands!) and I don't understand all the chaining of the gates if they are lax about security in other regards!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VampyreGTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talladega, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

My family and I traveled from North Alabama to Ormond Beach. Our scheduled check in date was for June 16th-19th with expected check-out on Sunday morning. We received a timeshare offer which granted us four days and three nights free over a year ago. Of course with my family traveling so far we requested to pay for an additional night and gave the front desk receptionist our credit card information. We were informed on Saturday morning that we had to leave because the front desk clerk FAILED to enter our reservations for an extra night and the hotel was booked for Saturday and Sunday. I had my six year old son and ten year old daughter. Unfortunately we spent an entire day in search of another hotel. We called the hotel later that night only to be informed that the last room had been booked approximately 1hour ago. I will never stay there again or recommend this hotel to anyone. Thanks for ruining our family vacation and our first year marriage anniversary!!!!!!

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mjohn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Loved the resort....the pool...the inside pool.....the Tiki bar (with great prices for drinks)....and especially loved the room overlooking the beach. What was the only awful thing was the couch/hide-a-bed. Impossible to sleep on.....all springs, no padding and very thin, (and our room was in the new tower building with new furniture). So a roll-away bed was ordered for a $10 fee and that mattress was awful too. That mattress was placed on top of the hide-away bed giving a double level of comfort which was only somewhat OK.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love_vacations11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

I don't know if everyone who stayed in the same arrangement as the "two-bedroom" we had, but it was truly strange. It was two units - the smaller of the two was a bedroom with a king size bed, bath, and a small refrigerator and micro. It did have a balcony that overlooked the ocean, which was really nice. But it was basically just a "motel room". The other unit was a one-bedroom. The bedroom was small (double bed), dark, with a small bathroom attached. The living area was probably the smallest at any resort I've ever stayed at. The kitchen was absolutely tiny, with a 3/4(?) size stove (old) and hardly any counterspace. There were NO drawers. The silverware was in a cupboard, of which there were only a few. The dishwasher was under the sink!! Since I like to save some money by cooking in the unit, this unit made it extremely difficult. The "Pluses" of the resort: The only plus for the unit with the living area was the balcony that overlooked the ocean. The outside pool and surrounding area is beautiful. The pool was kept at a temperature I could enjoy. The pool sits on the ocean side of the resort, so you can enjoy the ocean and not have to sit on the sand unless you desire to. Then it's just a few steps away. Although I did not participate, they seem to have a lot of activities for guests. Another plus was the underground parking. So, if you don't care about your living area, this resort could be a "yes". However, if you do, it's definitely a "no"!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ABHonestreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spring hill,florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

We had one of our best vacations ever at the Royal Floridian. We stayed in a top floor effeciency.Our view was fantastic. The beach and ocean were super to watch at sun rise. The managment did a great job of making everything beautiful. Everything was clean and well kept. The bed was comfortable and not nasty like the review in March. I think that person stayed at a Motel 6 and not this great resort. Everything is close by including restaurants and shops. If you wanted to park your car you could go to a different place to eat everyday you could. Most parking is under the resort and close together but we found spaces everyday with no trouble.This is a timeshare resort not a hotel so do not expect sheets to be changed everyday and new towels. If you want a hotel go to one. If you want a beautiful resort right on the Atlantic ocean the ROYAL FLORIDIAN is a great place to go. We are making plans to go back later this year since it is now a favorite of my wife and myself. Beautiful pool and spa and a put-put course and basketball for young and young at heart. A great staff too. Internet service is not great but they know the problems and say it will be fixed We loved our vacation!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank islandjim3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

My husband and I, along with another couple very much enjoyed the Royal Floridian. Our Suite 506 was very nice. We had the pleasure of enjoying the master bedroom and waking to the sunrise across the beautiful ocean every morning. The balcony across the front of the unit was really nice. The kitchen was well-equipped. The amenities were great, a very nice pool, mini-put and we used the shuffle board area every day! The BBQs were a great asset as well. Our bed was a little uncomfortable and the bedding could have been updated, but other than that, absolutely no complaints! Would for sure consider returning to the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nike36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
1.1 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#5 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#12 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#19 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.3 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#21 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Floridian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Floridian Resort

Property: Royal Floridian Resort
Address: 51 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Floridian Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience all that the Royal Floridian Resort has to offer. Our award winning property is located on the white sandy shores of beautiful Ormond Beach Florida and has recently undergone a multimillion dollar renovation including the addition of the newly constructed Royal Floridian South. The property's ideal location and array of amenities make the Royal Floridian Resort the perfect place to stay while vacationing in the Daytona Beach area. The resort's 168 spacious guest rooms, featuring oceanfront and ocean view rooms offer ideal lodging accommodations. All rooms in our north building are equipped with at minimum a microwave & mini-fridge, color cable television, DVD player, alarm clock, and large private balcony. Laundry facilities are also located on site. All units in the newly opened Royal Floridian South include private balconies, full kitchens, LCD televisions, granite countertops, soft marble showers, along with in room washer dryer combos. Whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure you'll feel right at home. Our tropically landscaped pool area includes a heated oceanfront pool, kid’s pool, and playground area. Also included are a hot tub, tiki bar, miniature golf course, basketball court, and shuffleboard courts. Seasonally the resort offers activities for both children and adults such as pool-side games, ice cream socials, and wine and cheese events. Indoor facilities include a heated pool, hot tub, exercise room, gaming area, and pool table. Royal Floridian Resort is located just minutes from the Daytona Beach International Airport (DBA) and Daytona International Speedway. The Ocean Center Complex, Destination Daytona, and Ponce Inlet Lighthouse are all within miles of the resort. Walt Disney World Parks, Cape Canaveral, and Sea World are all located about an hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Floridian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Floridian Hotel Ormond Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing