We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeshare get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Floridian Resort
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Timeshare get away”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I spent 6 or 7 days there September of 2012. The place was awesome. I went through Spinaker resorts. You had to sit through the 3 hour sales presentation but it was really worth it. I paid 300 dollars but was given a check for 50 dollars and 3 50 dollar restaurant certificates.I had to pay airfare but the place is great. Right in the beach,Large pool, Tiki bar. I had a rental car but never used it.Everything was walking distance. A great time without all the craziness of Daytona.Will be back for sure, even if I have to pay the real price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    155
    75
    36
    30
See reviews for
184
169
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the older North building and had a one bedroom unit in the fifth floor with an awesome ocean view. The room was a bit dated but in good condition. The hotel has a mini-golf course of 9 holes, two shuffle board grounds and a basketball hoop in it's grounds and they are all free to use. They also have a small "Tiki-Bar" in the pool area which serves cheap drinks and some food. You can also bring your own drinks and food at the pool area which is nice.

The beach is right in front of the hotel and you can access it straight from the pool area. The beach allows cars on it and you will se a lot of cars parked on the beach during the day. The beach is the best activity in the area. There are a few good restaurants nearby, but no nightlife. For that ou have to go to Daytona Beach, which is about 4-5 miles (7-8km) south.

Overall we had an excellent stay and will recommend this place to everyone. Just remember to ask an ocean view room from one of the higher floors. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHHPEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

There are two parts to the Royal Floridian--the older building and the new South building. The suites in the South building are 2 bedroom timeshares, nicely done, but some do not face the beach. Every single unit in the older building faces the ocean, full front. these units are refurbished nicely. The staff is very professional and there are lots of activities for children and adults all day long. The hot tub is miniscule, but the pool is slightly heated and really nice. The beach has car access so you have to be careful, but it is clean and wide and long. We stayed on an Interval International getaway and have another week planned this year too. The price is really right for what you get. Be prepared for the sales pitch though!

Room Tip: Beach front, not beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed there for two nights, in the South building. The rooms were clean, and upon request they were pretty attentive to our needs. The front desk employees were very cordial and helped us with bandages after an injury on the beach. The indoor pool was pretty small and not much room in the pool area, the water was warm and the jacuzzi tub was nice but looked a bit aged. The outdoor pool was larger and there is mini golf and shuffleboard. The pool bar is small for the number of people at the pool, it could have been larger and more festive by the pool area. The access directly to the beach was convenient. I will say I just don't get why you would allow cars on the beach, which they do here. I go to the beach to escape the traffic, and the car fumes! All the amenities are in the north building but there is an activity area in the South building too. If you want tea, you should bring some because all they provide is 1 package of regular coffee, 2 powder creamers and a couple of packets of sugar.
Be prepared to load the dishwasher yourself, pile up all the towels, and take out all the garbage before you leave.

Room Tip: Rooms in the south building are newer but farther from amenities, rooms on the side have angular vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EquestrianTraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomall,Pa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We recently stayed in the South Building on an Interval exchange. We had a one bedroom corner unit which faced the ocean and had great views. The room was very spacious and the kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals. The hotel is right on the ocean and there is a lot to do right at the resort. We played shuffleboard by the pool. The South rooms are newer and in my opinion, nicer. If you are getting a 1 bedroom in the South Building, make sure to ask for a corner unit, which will face the ocean. Pretty big pool deck area with an outside bar. Nice restaurants near by like The Stonewood and also Riptides. The overall staff at the Royal Floridian were very friendly. The one downside to our stay was the "Spinnaker"presentation. We were told that it was a presentation of the 30th Anniversary of the Spinnaker properties and they want people to exchange into the Spinnaker properties and that it was not about buying a timeshare. We really didn't want to waste any "sun" time with a timeshare hard sell presentation. During the presentation, the Spinnaker rep turned it into a timeshare sell and we quickly informed him that we weren't interested and which point he became very obnoxious and down right rude. Needless to say it ended very quickly. Other than that, the property is very nice and in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a marketing ploy to get us to buy a timeshare. The hotel is huge and we enjoyed the 2Bedroom unit (very small kitchen unit with no storage). Great views, comfortable beds, pool heated for evening swims, but there was only one hot tub to accommodate all the people in the hotel.

We attended the timeshare presentation with an open mind. We had paid a reduced room fee to be able to stay there, so it was NOT free. Our sales rep was overly enthusiastic, but when it came time to decline to buy, things became awkward as he continued to ask us why not. He sent a manager in who cut the price in half, but we stuck with our decision. Not comfortable at all when they basically accused us of dishonesty.

The hotel is really nice, but wouldn't advise staying here if you have to go through the 2 hour sales pitch which is required.

I

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sgphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petoskey, MI
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We are timeshare owners through another company, so we are used to staying at these types of resorts. The 2 bedroom unit we had was nice and clean, it had also been updated. Our couple of complaints are not huge. The bedrooms are very small, like no dresser small. We usually have a decent size room with a dresser and closet space, not here. The kitchen area, dining area and living room are all one room. It is a nice large area, BUT, it echoes terribly. If we wanted to really watch tv, we all had to talk quietly or go in the bedrooms to hear it. The pool is fine, and there is a hot tub and lots of chairs, we always found enough for us. The beach is really nice also. Staying here, you are close to Daytona Beach and an hour and a half from Orlando. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and grocery stores as well.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank sanchia39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
514 reviews
1.1 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#11 of 28 in Ormond Beach
69 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona/Ormond Beach
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 28 in Ormond Beach
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Floridian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Floridian Resort

Property: Royal Floridian Resort
Address: 51 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Floridian Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience all that the Royal Floridian Resort has to offer. Our award winning property is located on the white sandy shores of beautiful Ormond Beach Florida and has recently undergone a multimillion dollar renovation including the addition of the newly constructed Royal Floridian South. The property's ideal location and array of amenities make the Royal Floridian Resort the perfect place to stay while vacationing in the Daytona Beach area. The resort's 168 spacious guest rooms, featuring oceanfront and ocean view rooms offer ideal lodging accommodations. All rooms in our north building are equipped with at minimum a microwave & mini-fridge, color cable television, DVD player, alarm clock, and large private balcony. Laundry facilities are also located on site. All units in the newly opened Royal Floridian South include private balconies, full kitchens, LCD televisions, granite countertops, soft marble showers, along with in room washer dryer combos. Whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure you'll feel right at home. Our tropically landscaped pool area includes a heated oceanfront pool, kid’s pool, and playground area. Also included are a hot tub, tiki bar, miniature golf course, basketball court, and shuffleboard courts. Seasonally the resort offers activities for both children and adults such as pool-side games, ice cream socials, and wine and cheese events. Indoor facilities include a heated pool, hot tub, exercise room, gaming area, and pool table. Royal Floridian Resort is located just minutes from the Daytona Beach International Airport (DBA) and Daytona International Speedway. The Ocean Center Complex, Destination Daytona, and Ponce Inlet Lighthouse are all within miles of the resort. Walt Disney World Parks, Cape Canaveral, and Sea World are all located about an hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Floridian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Floridian Hotel Ormond Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing