We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and not as described”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cove on Ormond Beach
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Watseka, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty and not as described”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Booked through Kayak and stayed June 2, 2012 thru June 7, 2012. Stayed in South Tower which has only 1 elevator, so wait time was long. If you needed something from the main office you had to walk across parking lot (if it is raining, you have to walk in the rain). Room was dirty and we complained----manager offered to send up cleaning crew, but we said "NO" room should have been cleaned before we got there. Manager said they outsourced the cleaning and that could be the problem. The pool area was not as great as advertised and people were hoarding chairs and such, even though they weren't suppose to. Small children in pool without special swim wear----------one child deficated on the deck next to the pool!!!!!. Sorry, we will never book into this place again. (Will say there were 2 ladies at front desk who were very nice to us)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theodore L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    178
    88
    33
    25
See reviews for
258
151
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Meaford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The resort had a good slide for the kids and proximity to the beach. My wife did not like looking for her kids through the traffic on the beach. The view from the room was fabulous but we experienced cockroaches!...Not a good thing when the unit is listed as a Silver on Interval. The fact that they stored garbage outside our unit was not impressive. Think of another way that guests can dispose of trash. Management did spray our room after our complaints but our perception of the room was already made. Sorry....we can't have bugs when on our vacation.

Most of the staff, most noteably Leon were always friendly and helpful however the nighttime staff at front desk (unfortunately didn't get her name; should of!!!) was curt and rude.

R. Stevens
Meaford, Ontario

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJS984031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We live in Ormond Beach but this is our families go to place to stay when in town. My siblings have kids and the location on the beach combined with a great kid friendly pool area...and...shopping, bars, restaurants close by makes this a must consider.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a great choice but it all depends on the property and what is available at the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OrmondBeachFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We just returned from a week stay. The room was very clean and the staff very friendly. It is strictly child oriented & great for families. The one huge downside was that there wasn't a pool for the adults to swim. Both the outside and inside pools are at the deepest point 3 feet 6 inches and more often 3 feet 2 inches. This was very disappointing after spending time on the beach and barely being able to go into pool. People still put towels on their chairs early in the morning to reserve chairs all day without being there. I would not recommend this place for adults without children who wish to swim in a pool. Although we had reserved the room 10 months in advance we did not get a room in the south tower...again disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartersville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Our family enjoyed our stay at The Cove from July 11-July 14. We visited Ormond Beach after a four night trip to Walt Disney World. When we arrived at the hotel at 2:30 pm, the staff had our condo ready. It was a two-bedroom, two-bathroom unit with a ocean front view. Some people have complained about having a side view of the beach (which is what most rooms have). When you book, make sure you book an ocean front unit if that is what you want. Our room had a ocean front balcony off the living room and a balcony off one of our bedrooms. It was fabulous!
The pool is amazing; it has a zero entry entrance, and the deepest part is around 3.5 feet. All of our children (ages 2, 6, and 11) loved the pool. It was hard to get them to leave it each day. The lazy river was fun, and the slide was great.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front if that is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShavonneTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I searched for hotels in the Daytona Area that would be great for a family. This seemed to be perfect one because of the pool's slide. This hotel was on the nicer/quieter end of the beach in my opinion. However none of the rooms has a true ocean view. You have to lean over the balcony to see the ocean while looking at the parking lot. The room was spacious and clean. This hotel has all the amenties we forget to ask. However I would not stay again because if I'm on the beach, I personally want an ocean view room. In the pictures of the hotel it shows double beds. I was told none of the rooms has double beds or a true ocean view. There is one king bed with pull-out sofa bed. I contacted management regarding the false advertisement in pictures. They apologized, but they are still on the site. There is no room service for this hotel. Just FYI...I was told by locals the best time to visit is in Aug for the summer months. They says it rains off and on in June and July

Room Tip: None of the rooms are a true ocean view. If you had to choose, don't choose the first two floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janechild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ozark, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I highly recommend this wonderful place to stay on Ormond Beach. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We were able to enjoy the beach which was a short walk from our room. The pool was amazing, the slide was one of our favorites and there were activities to do all the pool. The price was great too. I highly recommend this fun resort for families!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelismjfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ormond Beach
0.9 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
1,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 28 in Ormond Beach
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 28 in Ormond Beach
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#11 of 28 in Ormond Beach
69 reviews
1.7 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove on Ormond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove on Ormond Beach

Property: The Cove on Ormond Beach
Address: 145 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-6620
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cove on Ormond Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxed approach to life on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean at The Cove On Ormond Beach. Absorb the warmth of the Florida sun watching a spectacular sunrise from your private balcony. Stroll down the beach with no set schedule and no particular place to go. Enjoy the excitement of Daytona Beach, just moments away. Relax to the sounds of the ocean at night in the beachfront hot tub. Explore shops and sights sure to please your inquisitive nature. Refresh your senses with your feet in the surf and your mind in the clouds.Directly on the beach of the Atlantic Ocean, this 112-condo resort features newly renovated one- and two-bedroom condo villas featuring a living room, a dining area, a full kitchen and a private balcony with an ocean view. Exciting extras include larger floor plans, upgraded furnishings, plasma TVs and in-condo washer and dryer. Settle back and enjoy the splendor of a Florida beach vacation, complete with sun, surf and small town charm. Recharge at the oceanfront activity deck,hot tub, barbecue and picnic area and direct access to the resort's over 150 feet of sandy beach. Swim laps in the indoor pool or relax in the guest lounges. Experience the best of land and sea - golfing, shelling, deep sea fishing, horseback riding, theatre shows, river rides, gambling cruises and Daytona International Speedway. Discover the mysteries of St. Augustine's Fort Matanzas on a leisurely day trip. Make the most of your vacation time with our concierge services, including local tours and excursions, area attractions, golf course tee times, shopping information, and dining reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cove on Ormond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove On Ormond Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Cove On Ormond Beach
Cove On Hotel Ormond Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing