We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cove for two Nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cove on Ormond Beach
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Cove for two Nights”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Cove is essential a timeshare on the beach. We used it for a two day visit to the Daytona Rod Show, Thanksgiving weekend.
The facilities are nice and perfect for extend stays and families. It does NOT have the amenities you normally would expect in a hotel -- restaurant, ice machines etc. Luckily there was an I Hop across the highway.

The resort was virtually empty and they gave us the room by the elevator back off the beach on a low floor. Since this was our first visit, being potential buyers and the resort being virtually empty, you would think that we would have been given a better room.

Check-in was interesting. The front desk mandated that you provide the license plate number of your vehicle. We then were directed to the Time Share sales desk to get our parking pass (which was pre-printed), and an attempted sales pitch. We finally were able to get to our room.
The resort is fine for extended stays and family friendly--not for over night guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    179
    88
    33
    25
See reviews for
260
152
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Lucky enough to have a two bedroom unit in the north tower with a balcony that faced the ocean - view was amazing. During high tide there is very little beach but as the tide goes out there is a vast beach area. Would be a great area for children to play as the beach is very flat. Be aware that cars are allowed to drive on the beach and don't expect to find a beach full of shells - I saw very few.

The hotel and our unit was very clean. The staff was friendly and attentive. Indoor pool is open 9 AM to 9 PM. Outdoor pool area and waterslide should be fun for children if the weather cooperates.

Disappointed to have to pay an additional fee of $63 upon arrival since this was in Interval International exchange.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildlime92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Cove on Ormond Beach, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We are happy to read that you had an pleasurable stay here at The Cove on Ormond Beach. It is vital to us to ensure that our guests can enjoy they stays in a hospitable atmosphere and we are pleased that you consider our team members helpful and friendly and also that you enjoyed our central location and comfortable accommodation. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I have been a member of Interval International for many years. I typically am on the road 15 or more weeks a year utilizing the Getaway process. This resort is very nice, it has a friendly, professional staff, on the whole I like it. I have stayed here in the past. However this year, upon check-in yesterday, I was informed that I would have to pay an additional $9 per day fee. Sadly I have already purchased two weeks this winter. I now have to eat an additional $126 for my two weeks. It is sad because I really like it here, but they have lost a customer. I contacted Interval and was told that any resort has the right to charge you more, at their whim, and that it had said so in the box I had checked (that no one reads) when reserving the place. My plan is to now call each resort ahead of reserving to check for hidden charges. I would like to add that I have stayed at hundreds of resorts over the years and this is the first time that I have ever had to pay an additional fee above and beyond the original charge. I don't really understand it, but it makes me angry and sad because I really like this place, but I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank 444Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Love, Love Loved our stay here. Impeccable, clean 2 bedroom South Tower 3rd floor. Beds were very comfortable - best night sleep with the sliding door open - could hear the ocean. From the moment of check-in to check-out superb. The staff was exceptional from the front desk, to housekeeping to maintenance. The staff went above and beyond caring - an example, our door was left slightly ajar while my daughter stepped out for a moment. Maintenance stopped by to see if everything was okay - very much appreciated. The gentleman putting out the chairs on the beach in the morning said a very cheerful 'good morning'. Everyone seems to truly like working here. The housekeeping staff offered on several occasions to take group photos when they saw us taking pictures -- they always said good morning and were very cheerful. This is what makes a 'getaway' feel more like 'home'. The location is directly on the beach - several miles north of they busy Daytona Beach strip. Very quiet here, but still with plenty to do - the beach is absolutely perfect - clean, quiet. Lovely pool area with plenty of chairs & hot tub. The young kiddos will love the pool with slide. Ihop open 24hours across the street, Dunkin Donuts within walking distance. We cooked most everyday in the unit and everything we needed was available (pots, pans, glass cookware, utensils). We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Cove on Ormond Beach, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for choosing The Cove on Ormond Beach for your recent getaway stay, we will definitely share your appreciation with the team. It is very encouraging to receive detailed positive feedback such as yours. If your future travel plans bring you back here, we will be delighted to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Today ends our timeshare exchange week in the South Tower, 4th floor, ocean front 2 bedroom villa. We were surprised and happy beyond words to be placed in this unit. Thank you so much to Angie for a superb anniversary week. We have stayed with friends in the North Tower and had a wonderful 2 bedroom spotless condo at that time also in 2009. Our villa this week was spotless and everything was in perfect working order except after 2 days we realized our door was not locking when we left, One call to the front desk and someone was there within 5 minutes to fix the problem. One disappointment was that we did not receive a list of activities when we arrived and when I called to inquire about bingo, it had already been held...I love bingo..so disappointment. Parking at times can be frustrating, but we always seemed to manage..South tower only provides 2 handicap spaces and we were only lucky once to grab one. I knew the outside pool was only 3 feet deep, but was disappointed to learn the indoor pool is the same. So, I couldn't get my swim exercise in. It would be nice to have a deeper outside pool where aquarobics could be offered. A nice touch is the complimentary lounges and umbrellas for the beach. our unit had a king bed in the master and 2 double beds in the 2nd bedroom..Each bedroom had a full bath with the master having a separate shower and a beautiful huge 2 person jacuzzi. The morning sunrises were absolutely beautiful. There was a large balcony accessible by the master bedroom and the living area and a 2nd balcony off the 2nd bedroom. The washer/dryer were stackables and worked great. Although our home resort does provide daily housekeeping/towel exchange at no cost, we are well aware that most of the timeshares do not so this was not a bother to us, especially with your own washer/dryer. Everyone we encountered and I mean everyone working at this resort is the most pleasant I have ever encountered. They always greeted you with smiles and ALWAYS said hello. What a pleasure...kudos to all the workers there. The bath soaps provided are very tiny, so it's better to bring your own. No other bathroom amenities are provided. Paper towels were provided with an extra roll under the sink. Also about 4 tablets for the dishwasher. A small starter package of coffee is also provided but not enough for a full pot. Also provided were two pot holders, a dish towel and dish cloth. Plenty of towels are provided under the bathroom sinks. A packet of laundry soap is provided for one load of wash..Beds were very comfortable and pillows were plentiful. Full kitchen fully equipped with everything you need. We had a wonderful week and we agreed this was one of the best exchanges from Interval. We would most definitely return to this resort and would recommend to anyone. A few steps out your door and you are on the beach. The one thing to be aware of is you share the beaches in this area with cars. That is the one thing I don't like. IHop directly across street and in an area of every kind of restaurant you can imagine. Grocery stores also within a very short distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

I had a one bedroom condo in the south tower (Phase II). The unit was very clean with nice furniture and fresh paint. There was no cleaning provided during the week. Towels could be exchanged. The unit had washer and dryer. Beach towels (skimpy) had to be checked out and returned each day. The pool was good for kids. The hotel provided beach loungers and umbrellas at no charge. The balcony had a view but there was a lot of noise from the road. The units on the lower floors were blocked by trees or other buildings. The beach was very nice. October is a good time as long as you avoid Biketoberfest.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DaydreaminginDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weirton
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Exchanged this condo with my timeshare & it was rated a silver (select property). HAH! The only thing good about it was it was directly on the beach & the chairs/umbrellas were free. We had to be in the oldest of the 3 buildings...no inside laundry, no hooks to hang towels on in the baths, bedroom furniture was oversized & it was very cramped, sofa was worn & cushions were flat, not even a notepad & pen to jot down addresses.........the galley kitchen was so narrow, we couldn't open the fridge all the way. Plus, there was no dishrack for hand washing dishes. Also noticed later that there was a little mold on the tub faucet. Staff was nice enuf but I know we'll never stay here again. We would have asked for a room change, but they were full.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer building if you can. It HAS to be better than what we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackandgoldfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
1,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 28 in Ormond Beach
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 28 in Ormond Beach
220 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona/Ormond Beach
0.7 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#11 of 28 in Ormond Beach
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove on Ormond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove on Ormond Beach

Property: The Cove on Ormond Beach
Address: 145 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-6620
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cove on Ormond Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxed approach to life on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean at The Cove On Ormond Beach. Absorb the warmth of the Florida sun watching a spectacular sunrise from your private balcony. Stroll down the beach with no set schedule and no particular place to go. Enjoy the excitement of Daytona Beach, just moments away. Relax to the sounds of the ocean at night in the beachfront hot tub. Explore shops and sights sure to please your inquisitive nature. Refresh your senses with your feet in the surf and your mind in the clouds.Directly on the beach of the Atlantic Ocean, this 112-condo resort features newly renovated one- and two-bedroom condo villas featuring a living room, a dining area, a full kitchen and a private balcony with an ocean view. Exciting extras include larger floor plans, upgraded furnishings, plasma TVs and in-condo washer and dryer. Settle back and enjoy the splendor of a Florida beach vacation, complete with sun, surf and small town charm. Recharge at the oceanfront activity deck,hot tub, barbecue and picnic area and direct access to the resort's over 150 feet of sandy beach. Swim laps in the indoor pool or relax in the guest lounges. Experience the best of land and sea - golfing, shelling, deep sea fishing, horseback riding, theatre shows, river rides, gambling cruises and Daytona International Speedway. Discover the mysteries of St. Augustine's Fort Matanzas on a leisurely day trip. Make the most of your vacation time with our concierge services, including local tours and excursions, area attractions, golf course tee times, shopping information, and dining reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cove on Ormond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove On Ormond Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Cove On Ormond Beach
Cove On Hotel Ormond Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing