We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, a little "Beachy"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cove on Ormond Beach
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Elma, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Okay, a little "Beachy"”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We are Marriott Vacation Club owners and booked an extra week we had for this property through Interval. We stayed in the South tower. If you want your own washer/dryer, make sure you request the South Tower and not the North. Check in was fairly easy. I was not happy with the resort fee of $7.99 thrown at me upon checking in. When I booked, there was no mention of this fee. I guess it covers WiFI and the use of chairs and towels on the beach. Still, it was a surprise and I don't like surprises. After checking in, we were directed to the concierge desk to pick up our parking pass. Of course they could have given us this pass at the registration desk, but it was obvious what was to happen next. While picking up the parking pass we were asked to go to a presentation to introduce us to Diamond Resorts, the new owners of this facility. After a few "No thank you's" we were allowed to go and start our vacation. The room was a bit small compared to the Marriott's. Floors were gritty, because of the sand, patio very small and some utensils were missing. It was comfortable, but in need of some work. Bring your own toiletries, because all you will get in the room is two small bars of soap. Each time you wish to use beach towels you must sign them out at the front desk in the North tower. I might stay there again, but would probably try a different property first.

Room Tip: If you desire a washer and dryer in your room, book the South Tower instead of the North Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Cove on Ormond Beach, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your review. As we are committed to creating an experience that exceeds guest satisfaction, we are concerned that you may have not been made aware of our resort fee. We would like to note that we make every effort to ensure that our 3rd party rental and exchange partners advise our guests of this at the time of booking. We also include this information on our website. We consider this expense to be a minimal cost covering Wi-Fi, local calls, in-room safe, parking for one personal vehicle (no RV or trailer), beach towels, beach amenities, weekday papers (available in the lobby), business center, daily coffee/tea (available in the North Tower lounge), and barbecue facilities that guests may find useful. Nevertheless, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. As we are primarily a Vacation Ownership property, the offering to attend our vacation ownership sales presentation is a part of the check in process. While many of our guests are interested to find out more about our products (and the free gifts that are included for attending); unless you are staying on a promotional trip, you are not required to attend this presentation unless you want to. Lastly, our property offers a midweek cleaning and toiletry replenishment for longer stays however, our front desk team would be happy to provide additional personal care items if needed. We are glad to read that you had an overall enjoyable visit and we hope to have another opportunity to see you back soon! Till then we wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    178
    88
    32
    25
See reviews for
258
150
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shamong, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I have to say that as always reading many of the reviews we were not sure what to expect. We traveled with our son, daughter-in-law and 19 month old granddaughter on a timeshare exchange. We were upgraded without a problem to the 7th floor in the South Tower, which had 2 balcony's and a wonderful ocean view. There is not a restaurant or bar on premises, therefore the low rating though truly not a negative.....
No, mother nature did not always participate, though the resort was very nice. Local restaurants are terrific and Publix to the Ormond Beach and Daytona way is great. If the kids like McDonald's or Burger King, close as well. We could walk to Starbucks or Dunkin Donuts if that coffee fix was needed.
The indoor pool was not quite what we expected (small and loud) and not as clean as a Hilton or Marriott indoor pool (sorry, travel a great deal for work and our next destination was Orlando Embassy Suites). The resort is clean, safe and even my husband and son had fun on the water slide!!!.
Great to walk to Daytona area, Ormond Beach over the beach, great parks and a short drive to wonderful St. Augustine. We would definitely return again.

Room Tip: South Tower, higher level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax , NS! Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We exchanged our time share for a week at this resort. We had a one bedroom unit in the North Tower. Clean and adequately equipped. Comfortable bed and pillows. The balcony overlooked the ocean. The outdoor pool was not heated so quite cool at this time of year. The closest grocery store was a bit of a drive, approx 2-3 miles but easy to get to. The staff were pleasant and always spoke when you encountered them. When checking out there was initially only one person one the desk with quite a few people trying to check out as it was a Saturday so this process took a little longer than it should have.

Room Tip: I think all units overlook the beach but if they don't make sure to ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Cove on Ormond Beach, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We apologise if the check-in process was a little longer than you would have expected and hopefully this has not marred the rest of your stay. We hope to see you coming back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, CT
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My rating is based in part on what I expected for what I paid. My wife and I had an Interval special offer for an extremely generous rate for a 2 BR that we took with friends. We were in the south tower, which I gather might not be quite as nice as the north tower, but it was perfectly fine. While the sitting area might not be quite as large as in some other time shares, it was by no means inadequate, and the kitchen, bedroom and bath facilities were very good. We had a partial ocean view. I haven't been in the area before, and this was no in prime season, so I'd guess in season is different, but RT. A1A on which the Cove is located was quiet at all hours. Very little vehicle traffic on the beach. There is an IHOP across the street and a very good restaurant called the Starwood almost directly across the street as well. Other restaurants in Ormond Beach are a very short drive and all the Daytona Beach facilities are within 10-15 minutes.

The only real downside for us was the outdoor pool. While it is a very nice area, it really is only for wading at 3 feet, so you can't really swim in the pool. While the weather was fairly warm for early Dec,. the ocean was cold, so having a more adult friendly pool would have been nice. The deck furniture is also fairly worn and should be updated. For those who care about such things, there isn't an outdoor pool or snack bar. Overall, it was nice experience and we would return. The staff was very friendly and once we told the time share staff that we weren't interested in more time share, nobody bothered us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Papa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Cove is essential a timeshare on the beach. We used it for a two day visit to the Daytona Rod Show, Thanksgiving weekend.
The facilities are nice and perfect for extend stays and families. It does NOT have the amenities you normally would expect in a hotel -- restaurant, ice machines etc. Luckily there was an I Hop across the highway.

The resort was virtually empty and they gave us the room by the elevator back off the beach on a low floor. Since this was our first visit, being potential buyers and the resort being virtually empty, you would think that we would have been given a better room.

Check-in was interesting. The front desk mandated that you provide the license plate number of your vehicle. We then were directed to the Time Share sales desk to get our parking pass (which was pre-printed), and an attempted sales pitch. We finally were able to get to our room.
The resort is fine for extended stays and family friendly--not for over night guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Lucky enough to have a two bedroom unit in the north tower with a balcony that faced the ocean - view was amazing. During high tide there is very little beach but as the tide goes out there is a vast beach area. Would be a great area for children to play as the beach is very flat. Be aware that cars are allowed to drive on the beach and don't expect to find a beach full of shells - I saw very few.

The hotel and our unit was very clean. The staff was friendly and attentive. Indoor pool is open 9 AM to 9 PM. Outdoor pool area and waterslide should be fun for children if the weather cooperates.

Disappointed to have to pay an additional fee of $63 upon arrival since this was in Interval International exchange.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildlime92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Cove on Ormond Beach, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We are happy to read that you had an pleasurable stay here at The Cove on Ormond Beach. It is vital to us to ensure that our guests can enjoy they stays in a hospitable atmosphere and we are pleased that you consider our team members helpful and friendly and also that you enjoyed our central location and comfortable accommodation. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I have been a member of Interval International for many years. I typically am on the road 15 or more weeks a year utilizing the Getaway process. This resort is very nice, it has a friendly, professional staff, on the whole I like it. I have stayed here in the past. However this year, upon check-in yesterday, I was informed that I would have to pay an additional $9 per day fee. Sadly I have already purchased two weeks this winter. I now have to eat an additional $126 for my two weeks. It is sad because I really like it here, but they have lost a customer. I contacted Interval and was told that any resort has the right to charge you more, at their whim, and that it had said so in the box I had checked (that no one reads) when reserving the place. My plan is to now call each resort ahead of reserving to check for hidden charges. I would like to add that I have stayed at hundreds of resorts over the years and this is the first time that I have ever had to pay an additional fee above and beyond the original charge. I don't really understand it, but it makes me angry and sad because I really like this place, but I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank 444Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ormond Beach
0.9 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 27 in Ormond Beach
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 27 in Ormond Beach
1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 27 in Ormond Beach
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 27 in Ormond Beach
212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#12 of 27 in Ormond Beach
69 reviews
1.7 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove on Ormond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove on Ormond Beach

Property: The Cove on Ormond Beach
Address: 145 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-6620
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cove on Ormond Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxed approach to life on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean at The Cove On Ormond Beach. Absorb the warmth of the Florida sun watching a spectacular sunrise from your private balcony. Stroll down the beach with no set schedule and no particular place to go. Enjoy the excitement of Daytona Beach, just moments away. Relax to the sounds of the ocean at night in the beachfront hot tub. Explore shops and sights sure to please your inquisitive nature. Refresh your senses with your feet in the surf and your mind in the clouds.Directly on the beach of the Atlantic Ocean, this 112-condo resort features newly renovated one- and two-bedroom condo villas featuring a living room, a dining area, a full kitchen and a private balcony with an ocean view. Exciting extras include larger floor plans, upgraded furnishings, plasma TVs and in-condo washer and dryer. Settle back and enjoy the splendor of a Florida beach vacation, complete with sun, surf and small town charm. Recharge at the oceanfront activity deck,hot tub, barbecue and picnic area and direct access to the resort's over 150 feet of sandy beach. Swim laps in the indoor pool or relax in the guest lounges. Experience the best of land and sea - golfing, shelling, deep sea fishing, horseback riding, theatre shows, river rides, gambling cruises and Daytona International Speedway. Discover the mysteries of St. Augustine's Fort Matanzas on a leisurely day trip. Make the most of your vacation time with our concierge services, including local tours and excursions, area attractions, golf course tee times, shopping information, and dining reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cove on Ormond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove On Ormond Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Cove On Ormond Beach
Cove On Hotel Ormond Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing