We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cove on Ormond Beach
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The whole reason we stayed here was the pool was great for kids. We get here and nothing is working. The motor is broken on the buckets and the slide is closed!!!! The water is freezing and even the heated pool is to cold. The pool that everyone is using is the little hot tub. In the north tower the balconies are awful!!! We will not stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary1669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Cove on Ormond Beach, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We truly apologize if our recent maintenance issues caused you and your family any inconvenience. Our water slide has been re-opened as of today. The motor you are referring to has been ordered, and we are awaiting the vendor’s shipment of this. The heater on the pool has been repaired; however, we went ahead and ordered a new heater, which should be in by this Friday, in hopes of eliminating this problem from reoccurring in the future.
We are unsure of what you are referring to regarding our balconies. This being said, we strongly encourage all guests to bring up any concerns they have while still on property, which allows our team to address the issue as promptly and effectively as possible. Rest assured the experience you had is certainly unusual, and we hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back for a much more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    176
    87
    31
    25
See reviews for
254
150
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Upon arriving we were disappointed to learn we had gotten a first floor room. The room had more of a parking lot view rather than an ocean view. You could see the ocean but only barely by peeking between cars, trucks and low palm trees. Fortunately the staff worked the next day to move around another party to free up a room on the 6th floor. What a difference! Gorgeous view and no prying eyes from the parking lot. The property is very well kept, nice excercise room, pools and beach access. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The room (two bedroom) was very large and quiet, with a nice kitchen and living area. Bedrooms were large and comfortable as well. Overall a great property.

Room Tip: Get upper floor rooms, tremendously better views, at least third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dandlwelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We spent 3 nights at The Cove and were very impressed. Our room, sorry unit, was clean, spacious, very well equipped and absolutely immaculate. It looked as though it had just been re-decorated, the paintwork was sparkling and the fridge and cooker looked brand new. The staff were friendly and helpful and seemed genuinely interested in helping us and giving us information about the resort - we had the timeshare spiel when we checked in but once they realised we were from England and unlikely to be able to afford it they left us alone. The beach was great, lovely and clean and how nice to have towels and sunbeds provided. The area was good, Ihop for breakfast. Stonewalls or Lulus for dinner, and lots of action and shopping in Daytona Beach. We would definitely stay at The Cove again on our way to Florida Keys.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Cove on Ormond Beach, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback on our resort. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our room accommodations and amenities, our team members, and our prime location. Our goal is to provide extraordinary customer service as we know vacation time is very valuable. We want all of our guests to be comfortable and excited with their choice to stay at The Cove on Ormond Beach. Thank you again and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent 2 weeks at The Cove in January. It was exactly what we needed for an extended stay.
The staff were very pleasant, and thankfully, didn't push us to buy into the timeshares.
The unit had everything we needed.

two things they need to improve (and I know they know)
1. the wireless. it is pitiful. I had better speed on my smartphone over 4G. Also had better speed when a friend gave us the code for the Plantation next door. Wireless is important not just for netflix and hulu, but my husband and I needed to work. It happens, even on vacation.

2. the fitness center is a joke.

Room Tip: read the descriptions carefully; they're fairly accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColoradoHema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Postville, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed the last week of January. Although the weather wasn't great, we had a beautiful view of the ocean from our 2-bedroom unit on the 5th floor. I would request a room on the south side if you are in the north tower so you have sun on your patio. Loved the area - very quiet that time of year and my husband loved the golfing. No washer/dryer in the north tower but are included in the south tower. I don't think we would have had to attend a timeshare presentation since we weren't on a promotional tour, but we were pressured into it. And it's not at this property - have to go down to the Regency, as the Cove is now part of Diamond International Resorts. Had to drive down there twice as we were given the wrong time the first time. Were given a $75 gift card for our trouble but still wasted a morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marengo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL! For numerous reasons. The rooms are very small. In the main bedroom, there is barely enough room to walk around the bed. Both bedrooms have huge TV's that take up a lot of space on the dressers. The second bathroom, the toilet is so close to the counter, that when you sit on the toilet, you HAVE to rest your arm on the counter. Nowhere in the bathrooms to hang a towel, or robe. Some small hooks on the walls would be nice!. The "outdoor pool" is not a pool! It is a 3 foot fun area for children. Not heated....We were on the 3rd floor in the North building, and the entire time it seemed to have a terrible smell! The second bathroom, shower pressure was terrible. Had to rinse my hair under the faucet because the water pressure from the shower was terrible.!....There is not a lot of parking here, and the employees park in the front row! Shouldn't the front row be for GUESTS!!!.....The pressure about buying a time share from the staff is annoying! We never did get our "welcome packet" because we wouldn't go to listen to their talk about time shares.....Make sure you read the FINE PRINT before booking your stay, they charge an extra $10.00 per day for the use of things such as beach towels, in room safe, WIFI, etc. And last but not least, the #1 reason I wouldn't stay here, is they have about 15 couches sitting in the parking lot, taking up 4 parking spaces, partially covered with a tarp. It rained our first 2 days here, and on the third day when the sun came out, they took the tarps off, and clearly were trying to "dry out" the couches/cushions. It is obvious that they have every intention of re-covering these couches and still using them. That is disguisting to think of these couches sitting outside for who knows how long and then using them. Bottom line DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TKD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a nice clean place only issue is that check out is at 10.00am and they deactivate your key at 9.30 am. If you are using a groupon or living social print out the coupon as they will try and charge you for resort fees and taxes which are already included in your groupon/living social payment. This is a time share resort so once checked in you have to go to another counter to get your parking pass and they will try and sell you on the amenities only available to timeshare members.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlisonBlack65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ormond Beach
0.2 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.9 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.7 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#23 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#11 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove on Ormond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove on Ormond Beach

Property: The Cove on Ormond Beach
Address: 145 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-6620
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cove on Ormond Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxed approach to life on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean at The Cove On Ormond Beach. Absorb the warmth of the Florida sun watching a spectacular sunrise from your private balcony. Stroll down the beach with no set schedule and no particular place to go. Enjoy the excitement of Daytona Beach, just moments away. Relax to the sounds of the ocean at night in the beachfront hot tub. Explore shops and sights sure to please your inquisitive nature. Refresh your senses with your feet in the surf and your mind in the clouds.Directly on the beach of the Atlantic Ocean, this 112-condo resort features newly renovated one- and two-bedroom condo villas featuring a living room, a dining area, a full kitchen and a private balcony with an ocean view. Exciting extras include larger floor plans, upgraded furnishings, plasma TVs and in-condo washer and dryer. Settle back and enjoy the splendor of a Florida beach vacation, complete with sun, surf and small town charm. Recharge at the oceanfront activity deck,hot tub, barbecue and picnic area and direct access to the resort's over 150 feet of sandy beach. Swim laps in the indoor pool or relax in the guest lounges. Experience the best of land and sea - golfing, shelling, deep sea fishing, horseback riding, theatre shows, river rides, gambling cruises and Daytona International Speedway. Discover the mysteries of St. Augustine's Fort Matanzas on a leisurely day trip. Make the most of your vacation time with our concierge services, including local tours and excursions, area attractions, golf course tee times, shopping information, and dining reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cove on Ormond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove On Ormond Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Cove On Ormond Beach
Cove On Hotel Ormond Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing