We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was wary----”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cove on Ormond Beach
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Zephyrhills, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
166 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“I was wary----”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We are Diamond Resort owners and after reading the reviews on this place, I was quite wary of what we were going to find. I knew the Diamond had recently purchased it, but it wasn't yet "branded", so obviously I did not expect full Diamond status. However, reading about the untrained and uninterested personnel and dirty rooms, we actually thought about cancelling, We are glad we didn't. The beach is beautiful, quiet and uncrowded ( a nice change from Daytona). We stayed in the North Tower (were given a complimentary upgrade). You can tell from the outside that the South Tower has not been renovated as well as the North, but we did not see the inside of the rooms, so can't comment on that. The personnel were all great. From the reception staff (particularly Aiyana and her assistant Samantha) to the housekeeping, pool and beach attendants, everyone was more than accommodating, Our microwave did not work and it was promptly repaired with a note left as to what was done and who did the repair. While the resort is old and a bit smaller than most condo rentals, our room was very clean and well stocked. The pool is very nice (especially for kids). It would be nice to have a bar/grill on site as there are no restaurants within easy walking distance. All in all, we were please with the resort and would return. I just hope that Diamond Resorts is not buying up too much too fast. Would like to see upgrades coming a little faster at some of the newly purchases properties.

Room Tip: North tower rooms appear to be a better choice and I would request a high floor on the south side (b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    176
    87
    31
    25
See reviews for
254
150
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I must say the cove is a great little resort with a few problems that need to be addressed. We are owners with diamond so we pay our dues every year and expect a certain level of hospitality.

1. The rooms are very nice and very good size views are excellent.
2. The staff is very accommodating and nice
3. The pools and slide are a excellent win for small kids
4. The rooms we very clean

NOW HERE IS WHERE I AM VERY UPSET AND DISAPPOINTED


The room had a major issue with palmetto bugs. If you do not live in fl these are roaches the size of a half dollar from the time we checked in we found dead ones under the sink bed. Kitchen and many other places they were dying so they are spraying but they have an issue here that needs to be addressed. We did notify the front desk and they sprayed and offered to clean our room free of charge. Witch was very nice and did have the room sprayed again. But all threw the week we had issues with dead roaches and live ones. They did offer to send is to another room but when you check in to a time share your kinda stuck with groceries and such... Personally I pay allot in dues each year to not have to deal with that issue my house in fl does not have the nor should my time share.



If management would like to call me I was in 703a south tower during the week 8/16-8/23.....

I ALSO WISH THAT THE RESORT WAS MORE PREPARED WHEN THEIR ACTIVITIES DIRECTOR TAKES OFF...

VERY VERY POORLY PLANNED. YOU NEED TO TRAIN SOME ONE ELSE TO DUE SOME GAMES AND STUFF WITH THE KIDS.... THE EXPERIENCE SHOULD BE THE SAME FOR ALL GUESTS OR OWNERS EVERY WEEK OF THE YEAR OR NOTIFY OWNERS THAT IS NOT BEING OFFERED.....


WHO EVER MANAGES THIS PROPERTY PLEASE CONTACT ME.... DIAMOND IS A MULTI BILLION DOLLAR COMPANY ISSUES LIKE THESE ARE UNACCEPTABLE. WE AS OWNERS PAY A TREMENDOUS AMOUNT OF MONEY IN OUR ANNUAL DUES.... YOU NEED TO TRAIN THE STAFF TO COVE POSITIONS WHEN YOUR ACTIVES DIRECTOR GOES ON VACATION OR TRANSFER ON FROM ONE OF THR OTHER LOCAL RESORTS.


IN WHOLE THE RESORT IS NICE BUGS IN A ROOM WERE UN ACCEPTABLE

Room Tip: 703a amazing view but major roach problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Liv2travel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Recently we stayed at The Cove. We found it enjoyable and fun. The room was great even though we did not have an ocean view. Clean,and nicely decorated it deserved a Wow! We would stay here again. The price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Not first floor..ask for room close to ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alliegirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here for a week at the end of July. 2 adults, 3 teenagers, 1 kid (10). Not a bad place, just what we needed overall, but did have some issues. Our unit was 2 bedrooms and on the 4th floor in the south tower. No direct ocean view, but still a better view than the first or maybe even second floors would have. The chairs on the balcony are uncomfortable, though. Because we were in the south tower, we had a washer/dryer in the unit which is very handy with so many people. If you are not familiar with timeshare condos, they do not provide daily maid service with fresh towels. If you want to exchange towels, you have to take them to the front desk or ask for a mid-week exchange. We just washed ours. No big deal for us, as we are used to this policy.

The beds were very comfortable, even the sofa bed, which we used even though we brought an air mattress. The other furniture is typical of a beach resort condo, not all the comfortable but functional. The appliances all worked just fine, but the ice maker in the fridge was slow and made the tiniest little ice cubes. We bought a bag of ice at the beginning of the week. Our biggest complaint with the kitchen was that the refrigerator was missing a shelf, so it was a big open space for all of your cold items. For a week we could live with it.

The "master" bathroom does not have a door leading to the bedroom, and the shower had a glass door. No privacy for shower time unless you lock the bedroom door. The toilet for the master is in a tiny little closet. Again, we can live with it for a week. The tub in the master is a huge jetted thing, felt so good after a day of walking in Disney World. And surprise, the little tub in the 2nd bedroom was jetted also. That was kind of nice.

The TVs were all updated flat screens, but the wiring was kind of weird. The main tv in the living area kept going off and my husband would have to jiggle the wires to get it to connect to the cable. Also, there was a delay in switching channels. My girls were disappointed there was ABC Family channel with the cable, but hey, we are on vacation. We did have free internet the whole time we were there and were able to connect with multiple devices.

We loved the pool area, with it's water park type amenities. I was afraid my kids would be too old to enjoy it, but it was the opposite. We must have floated around that lazy river 2 million times in a week The guys all loved the slide, too. On one day the resort was giving out free hot dogs and chips to the guest at the pool. You do have to wear your guest "wrist bands" at the pool and to use the complimentary beach chairs and umbrellas, but again, not a big deal.

Okay, now for the not-so-good. On check-in, the staff was not very friendly and we did have to go through the "welcome meeting" spiel. We didn't go, as we didn't qualify for the gift card, but no one called us or pressured us after check-in. The pool/beach towels are small, but we brought plenty of our own.

The absolute worst thing was that one night a manager and security person knocked on our door at midnight (yes, midnight) and was asking if we smelled smoke and said there were complaints from guests below us of smoke. We smelled nothing. The next morning when I called to complain about this late night visit, the manager (same one from night before) was sort-of apologetic but also somewhat accusatory, as if we were smoking in our unit. We were not. It left me not feeling so good about management. Funny thing, after that my husband was approached TWICE by people wanting to know where to buy some pot. Ummm....not a clue, dude.

Overall, our stay was great and I would return. The resort could use a bit of sprucing up and updating, but it is far from the worst place we have stayed. My parents are Diamond Resorts members and we booked through them. We prefer New Smyrna Beach and it's more small time atmosphere, but I would still recommend The Cove to families who just want to hang out by the pool and beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room 3rd floor and above, otherwise you may be looking at the cars in the parking lot inst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmatda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This resort is one to stay away from!!!. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. HOWEVER the resort is old. You can hear everything from your neighbors and I mean "everything". I heard that diamond resort bought this place recently and is about to do an overhaul. Stay clear until they do. As a guest at the resort you only get a few towels and you have to bring your own towels to the front desk to exchange for new ones every day. Speaking of unsanitary and inconvenient for being on vacation. Also there is maid service but at extra cost so your room stays dirty until you leave. Parking spaces are hard to find especially during peak times. You must empty your own trash to recepticles outside your room at the end of the hall way. No pool for adults, just a slide pool for the kids. The north and south towers are OLD. I am so disappointed in this place, hope I can help you not make the same mistake. Buyers beware... wait until Diamond does a major overhaul before you try this out.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank theresa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at The Cove on Ormond Beach, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We appreciate your comments concerning your stay with us and are always looking at ways to improve upon the level of service we provide. Being that we are a vacation ownership resort, we do charge a nominal fee for your room to be serviced and offer complimentary towel exchanges at our front desk. Complimentary parking is one space per room, as disclosed on the confirmation. This might require a vehicle to be parked at our off site location across from the resort. You are correct that we are making several improvements to our property which will enhance our guests’ stays, and we truly hope you will return to see these enhancements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a wonderful family vacation at The Cove. The pool is great for families with younger children. Our one bedroom condo was spacious and fully equipped, including a washer and dryer. The staff was helpful and frendly. My only cons were the late check in (4pm) /early check out (10am) and no restaurant or bar.

Overall, we had a great vacation. I was surprised reading some of the negative rwviews because we had a very good experience! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milesmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here for the pool, splash park. The outdoor pool area and slide was great! It was a good size yet not too big so you could keep track of your kids. The inside pool however looked dirty I thought. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. No pool bar...wish they had one for the parents.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen0100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ormond Beach
0.2 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.9 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.7 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#23 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#11 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove on Ormond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove on Ormond Beach

Property: The Cove on Ormond Beach
Address: 145 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-6620
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cove on Ormond Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxed approach to life on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean at The Cove On Ormond Beach. Absorb the warmth of the Florida sun watching a spectacular sunrise from your private balcony. Stroll down the beach with no set schedule and no particular place to go. Enjoy the excitement of Daytona Beach, just moments away. Relax to the sounds of the ocean at night in the beachfront hot tub. Explore shops and sights sure to please your inquisitive nature. Refresh your senses with your feet in the surf and your mind in the clouds.Directly on the beach of the Atlantic Ocean, this 112-condo resort features newly renovated one- and two-bedroom condo villas featuring a living room, a dining area, a full kitchen and a private balcony with an ocean view. Exciting extras include larger floor plans, upgraded furnishings, plasma TVs and in-condo washer and dryer. Settle back and enjoy the splendor of a Florida beach vacation, complete with sun, surf and small town charm. Recharge at the oceanfront activity deck,hot tub, barbecue and picnic area and direct access to the resort's over 150 feet of sandy beach. Swim laps in the indoor pool or relax in the guest lounges. Experience the best of land and sea - golfing, shelling, deep sea fishing, horseback riding, theatre shows, river rides, gambling cruises and Daytona International Speedway. Discover the mysteries of St. Augustine's Fort Matanzas on a leisurely day trip. Make the most of your vacation time with our concierge services, including local tours and excursions, area attractions, golf course tee times, shopping information, and dining reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cove on Ormond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove On Ormond Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Cove On Ormond Beach
Cove On Hotel Ormond Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing