We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Time.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Aldbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Crown Aldbourne
Ranked #1 of 1 Aldbourne B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Class Time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

A group of 8 of us booked in with Alan the landlord whilst we were visiting Avebury for the Sunday night. 3 Doubles & Twin double. We felt immediatly at home in the Crown, with old world style decor throughout & whilst still being modern & all set in Choclate box village. Alan showed us to our rooms & could'nt of been more helpfull as were his staff. The bedrooms were large & the decor was of the same high standard as the rest of the Inn & a joy to be in. Everywhere was clean, tidy & as an additional bonus in the enclosed courtyard nestled in about the brollys & tables was an open wood arbour. Good choice of real Ales & all kept well. We had a range of starters & main courses ( roast diner to vegitarian) Good food. Full English in the morning was good. Would definatly return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    18
    9
    2
    7
See reviews for
5
16
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

I found this little beauty while looking for somewhere to stop off between Wales and London along the M4 corridor. After a warm welcome myself and my 2 colleagues were shown to our rooms, and on returning to the bar, found the quiz night about to start. We joined in and came emphatically last! We were looked after fabulously by the bar staff and enjoyed some of the best steak we have ever eaten, washed down by some great real ale. Breakfast was cooked fresh to our liking and we were bid a warm farewell. I think the best tribute I can pay to this lovely little place is that I will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Crown Aldbourne, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
thank you your a dimond

regards from alan and his staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We spent a pleasant leisurely weekend at The Crown - the pub itself has a cosy feel but not cramped and the landlord Alan made us feel very welcome. It was a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the locals were very friendly. We had a lovely sized room with a separate bathroom, lovely plush towels and a nice hot shower and there was plenty of storage in the room and tea and coffee facilities. We ate in the restaurant and were served good home cooking with proper size portions, nothing seemed too much trouble. We would be more than happy to go to The Crown again and recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Room 6 is the largest of the rooms but all the rooms were of the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiejacks19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I booked from France as I had to attend a family lunch on the third weekend of July.

The room was comfortable and as described. I had a great night's sleep. The en suite bathroom with loo and shower was spotlessly clean and functional and the bathroom size was adequate.

The new owner, Alan Walters, was a genial host who made me welcome and comfortable.

The Crown has free WiFi.

I will certainly stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toulousian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

This is a typical village pub, full of atmosphere and character and run by a very genial host, who clearly knows his beers.
The food offers a good choice and the accommodation is exactly that of a country pub. Warm comfortable and welcoming.
A great place to stay at reasonable cost in the heart of Berkshire countryside.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yoshik53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

I recently booked an overnight stay at the Crown on 15/04/2011, due to attending an event at Aldbourne the next day. The stay was an excellent one. The rooms, meals, and service were very enjoyable.The prices were very reasonable, and (again) the food was excellent.
The manager was a very congenial and sociable host.What more do you need!

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBLUMENSTOCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

My friends and i stayed here over christmas period and what a frightning experiance this was , the Hotel Bar and Restaurant is like a wild west scene with some of the most drunken foul mouthed people i have ever witnessed such to the fact we were terrified to leave our bedrooms . when we complained about the loud music and shouting to the owner the next morning he looked amused at the fact we had no sleep and were terifed of his clientel in the establishment , we asked the barmaid to request our money back to be told that they were new owners and had no intrest in the people only to make money .
DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR A STAY AWAY FROM THE CROWN HOTEL unless you can drink twentey pinks of beer have a foul mouth and have a full set of tatoos and a old track suite and thats just the ladies .

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jinbo112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown2011, Owner at The Crown Aldbourne, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
we are new owner from the 8th of march 2011 we are sorry for what happen in the passed but we are currently re decoration the hotel from top to bottom. We have already created a new atmostphier in the bar and restrant and hope all how eat , drink and stay here will have a pleasant time and will come again. As the new owner I am happy to talk to any cliant at any time peaple come 1st
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldbourne
6.3 mi away
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
#3 of 4 in Hungerford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#2 of 4 in Hungerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
7.0 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Parklands Hotel
Parklands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ogbourne Saint George
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
5.3 mi away
Chiseldon House
Chiseldon House
#14 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Aldbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Aldbourne

Property: The Crown Aldbourne
Address: 2 The Square, Aldbourne SN8 2DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Aldbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aldbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Aldbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Marlborough Downs, the Crown is a gracious old country inn, offering warm hospitality, real ales, fine food and wines, and 4 charming en suite double rooms. This is an ideal pastoral base to explore England’s treasures: 6 miles from M4 motorway Junction 15, Hungerford 7m, Marlborough 8m, Swindon 10m with high-speed train to London (55 min), Newbury 19m, Stonehenge 33m, Lacock 33m, Cirencester 24m, Oxford 41m, Bath 45m, Blenheim 50m, Windsor 52m, Stratford 62mAll room have been redecorated but still with style of of a country inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your The Crown Aldbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Aldbourne Hotel Marlborough
The Crown Aldbourne Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing